Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Video Cards & Monitors

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th January 2011, 3:22 PM   #7036
TamTam79
Member
 
TamTam79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Port Macquarie
Posts: 295
Default

The errors and buggered cards seem to be because of memory going to shit, IMO.

I'm keen to flash to a modded 6950 bios, but no longer even thinking about pumping extra volts and changing RAM timings on it via a 6970 bios flash.
TamTam79 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 13th January 2011, 3:47 PM   #7037
VIP3R
Member
 
VIP3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mascot, Sydney
Posts: 1,189
Default

I wonder if the people having issues are using furmark to torture test their card.
VIP3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 3:52 PM   #7038
Exclusive
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VIP3R View Post
I wonder if the people having issues are using furmark to torture test their card.
True. I don't think Furmark is a good application to use. Any way, when I had my clocks at 940/1400. It ran fine on BFBC2 for 4 hours (yes, I did play 4hrs straight..), and Modern Warfare for an hour, no problems. But when it was 3 minutes into Furmark, it crashed. Don't know.
Exclusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 4:07 PM   #7039
fried_chicken
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 302
Default

maybe ICs heat related?

Temperature readout on MSI Afterburner only displays the lowest of the 3 temperature sensors.

I am running a Full Tower case with lots of space and several fans. Tested Kombuster with 100% fan speed 800/1250 clocks 1536 shaders +0 Power Control (modified 6950 bios) and temps were 58/68/72

More clock speed, volts, the poorer stock cooling on the 6950, lower fan and [therefore] perhaps temperature accelerated the decay?

EDIT: I am assuming that GPU-Z correctly monitors temperature and that there are 3 temperature sensors on the 6950

Last edited by fried_chicken; 13th January 2011 at 4:11 PM.
fried_chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 4:11 PM   #7040
fried_chicken
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 302
Default

double post
fried_chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 4:11 PM   #7041
Concept CBF
Member
 
Concept CBF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 2,244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fried_chicken View Post
maybe ICs heat related?

Temperature readout on MSI Afterburner only displays the lowest of the 3 temperature sensors.

I am running a Full Tower case with lots of space and several fans. Tested Kombuster with 100% fan speed 800/1250 clocks 1536 shaders +0 Power Control (modified 6950 bios) and temps were 58/68/72

More clock speed, volts, the poorer stock cooling on the 6950, lower fan and therefore perhaps temperature accelerated the decay?
They are designed for temps up to about 120 and would not degrade in a month of less i imagine even with heavy gaming use due to higher load.
__________________
i7920@4.2GHZ--6GB Kingston Hyperx-- Asus P6T-- Gigabyte 5850 + GTX260 Physx -- 3.5TBHDD-- Tj07 Watercooled
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellows2k View Post
never trade in unless they like getting raped. if thats their thing of course
Concept CBF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 4:23 PM   #7042
fried_chicken
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 302
Default

Just a thought.
I am only left thinking that the 6970 runs a different voltage for the RAM. Not really used to RAM being irrecoverable by changing the timings.

It is a curiosity. AMD unknowingly helped by implementing a dual bios.
fried_chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 5:41 PM   #7043
Exclusive
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fried_chicken View Post
EDIT: I am assuming that GPU-Z correctly monitors temperature and that there are 3 temperature sensors on the 6950
Yes, the 3 dies. Core, Memory & Shader
The shaders are the highest temp reading for me (#3).


Quote:
Originally Posted by fried_chicken View Post
Just a thought.
I am only left thinking that the 6970 runs a different voltage for the RAM.
It does?
Exclusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 6:28 PM   #7044
fried_chicken
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 302
Default

Well they shouldn't, but I am just speculating.
Just to reiterate; it used to be overclocking RAM would cause artifacts, but not be permanently damaged like what is being suggested.

Quote:
Each card comes with 2048 megabytes of GDDR5 memory in eight FBGA chips from Hynix Semiconductor. The Radeon HD 6950 carries H5GQ2H24MFR T2C chips which work at 1.5 volts voltage and 5000 MHz rated frequency. The Radeon HD 6970 is equipped with H5GQ2H24MFR R0C chips (1.5 volts, 6000 MHz).
fried_chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2011, 11:23 PM   #7045
aussie-revhead
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Western Sydney
Posts: 15,442
Default

So ... any more news on the 6990?

/cue crickets .....

__________________
Bench 1- Asus R4G - OFFLINE (no cpu or vid card)- Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 96Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Mitx Netbox -SG06 - Z87i-Pro - 4670K - G.SKILL 2666c11 - EVGA GTX670 FTW - cpu and gpu water cooled
Next bike- ... will be a ZX14 !!!
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 12:20 AM   #7046
terroristone
Member
 
terroristone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melb 3030
Posts: 1,369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussie-revhead View Post
So ... any more news on the 6990?

/cue crickets .....

i think everybody has forgotten about it.....
__________________
2011 Mac Mini - i7 - 8gb ram - intel 520 SSD + 750gb - dell 20-30-20 - stress free

Quote:
Originally Posted by knowskillz View Post
I'm supposed to save for a new house! fk it I'll just live in my computer case
Haswell 4670k@4.2 - Z87M-PLUS - TEAM 2666 - 7950
terroristone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 7:37 AM   #7047
AEKaBeer
Member
 
AEKaBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Essendon
Posts: 3,496
Default

Comes out in Feb, nothing to talk about until we see it in action.
__________________
FX-8350, 16GB RipJawX, ASUS 990FX SabreTooth R2, TR Silver Arrow, Sapphire+Gigabyte 2x HD7970 OC, U2410, FractalR4, 500GB EVO, 120GB Vertex3, 256GB Crucial M4, Seagate 3TB, Silverstone 850w
Metabox P157SM, i7-4700MQ, GTX 780M, 95% gamut screen, 32GB DDR3, 120GB Sandisk, 256GB Plextor m.sata, bluray burner
AEKaBeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 11:44 AM   #7048
Intensity
Member
 
Intensity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Launceston TAS 7290
Posts: 2,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussie-revhead View Post
So ... any more news on the 6990?

/cue crickets .....

http://www.fudzilla.com/graphics/ite...ds-in-february

Looks like mid February until its released.
Intensity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 3:09 PM   #7049
TOX
Member
 
TOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Xindian City, Taipei
Posts: 14,264
Default

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner...up210Beta6.zip

HD 6900 reference Voltage Adjustment
TOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2011, 4:34 PM   #7050
VIP3R
Member
 
VIP3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mascot, Sydney
Posts: 1,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOX View Post
http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner...up210Beta6.zip

HD 6900 reference Voltage Adjustment
Thanks for the heads up.



Might see what it takes to get 1ghz on the core.
VIP3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
6850, 6870, 6xxx, amd, ati, hd6000, leaks, radeon, rebrand, series

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!