Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Newbie Lounge

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th January 2012, 6:31 PM   #1
kargar Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Default Help with overclocking a I5 2500K

Hey I recently built a new system and want to overclock my I5 2500K to 4.5Ghz which I hear is easily doable but im new to overclocking and need some help getting started. I have tried looking up how to guides but its a heap of new info and any help would be greatly appreciated. system specs are as follows

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Intel Core i5 2500K Processor LGA1155 3.3GHz CPU
Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3R Z68 4DDR3 RAID GLAN PCIE16 SATA3 USB3 ATX HDMI
Crucial RealSSD C400 128G SATA3 M4 Series
Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3

Would anyone be able to link me a guide or mind lending a hand with this at all please?.
kargar is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 14th January 2012, 7:43 PM   #2
Ninja_Harbinger
Member
 
Ninja_Harbinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: A warp pipe near you
Posts: 999
Default

a quick google never hurts... but anyways, heres one: LINK!!!!

ps, you can even click the little emoticon :P
__________________
Main Rig - AMD 8320 W/ Hyper 212+| ASRock 970 Extreme 4 | 8GB DDR3 | Gigabyte 7950 WF 3GB 1150/1300 | 1TB/1TB/500GB/128GB Samsung 830 SSD/DVD-RW | Antec HCG-750 | NZXT Phantom 410 | Win8 Pro x64
Google nexus 4
If I helped, thank me with Litecoin: LRgxPUAYBQU2CdMEyycNPcsBow2CM3PA8W Dogecoin: D5VzbVPinwU3Z98sTRFgfHkKfhGXdQje8o Bitcoin: 1NH7BhKKGSand2wxBvZb7eBzQNyDQC41uM
Ninja_Harbinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2012, 7:55 PM   #3
radeon_freak
Member
 
radeon_freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,379
Default

Clock ratio - 45x
BCLK/DMI/PEG - Disabled
Extreme Memory Profile - Disabled
Mem Multi - 16.00
Internal Graphics Clock - Auto

Advanced CPU
PWM Freq - Auto
CPU Over Current Prot - Auto
Internal CPU PLL Over - Auto
Real Time Ratio - Enabled
CPU Cores Enabled - ALL
C1E - Enabled
C3/C6 - Disabled
CPU Thermal Monitor - Enabled
EIST - Disabled
Bi Direct - Auto

Volts
Multi Step Load Line - Level 4
Vcore - 1.33
QPI/VTT - 1.050
System Agent - 0.920
Graphics - 1.060
CPU PLL - 1.800
DRAM - 1.50
Rest Auto settings.

You might need higher or lower vcore depending on your chip.

Theres also a few great guides on the net. Goole is your best friend.

Remember to stress test and watch your temps. Goodluck!
__________________
trades/sales: Hung Mung01, arnica, goodguy82, pshnfry, Pic, XTREME OC'ER, lui_gough, alexanderino, phil_is_mrx, Noonoo, lionman, snoozeys, callen_1, iCrunk, craigoss, CHemical, V1C7012, mtot, Miggod, protecon, Chop92per, Copie, stedyedy, Pipster, Peteodeath, Blue_muppet, dingdong555, baby_ute, fredhoon, WuzzA21, ElBeasto, lostdude, endo, disa1377,TwistedTripper, SoniQx, MorgzMods, gigabyte123, lostdude, vinnie, iNoob, colinskies, Wombycat, jamieyn, Linkin, aln, Little Man, linsi + many more
radeon_freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2012, 8:01 PM   #4
Ninja_Harbinger
Member
 
Ninja_Harbinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: A warp pipe near you
Posts: 999
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radeon_freak View Post
SNIPPP!!!

C1E - Enabled

SNIPPP!!!
don't you have to disable that? I certainly did with my sig rig, although it is AMD but you're supposed to disable all C States while overclocking, am I right?
__________________
Main Rig - AMD 8320 W/ Hyper 212+| ASRock 970 Extreme 4 | 8GB DDR3 | Gigabyte 7950 WF 3GB 1150/1300 | 1TB/1TB/500GB/128GB Samsung 830 SSD/DVD-RW | Antec HCG-750 | NZXT Phantom 410 | Win8 Pro x64
Google nexus 4
If I helped, thank me with Litecoin: LRgxPUAYBQU2CdMEyycNPcsBow2CM3PA8W Dogecoin: D5VzbVPinwU3Z98sTRFgfHkKfhGXdQje8o Bitcoin: 1NH7BhKKGSand2wxBvZb7eBzQNyDQC41uM
Ninja_Harbinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2012, 8:05 PM   #5
radeon_freak
Member
 
radeon_freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,379
Default

Never had any issues here. Fine to leave C1 enabled, maybe your thinking of EIST?
__________________
trades/sales: Hung Mung01, arnica, goodguy82, pshnfry, Pic, XTREME OC'ER, lui_gough, alexanderino, phil_is_mrx, Noonoo, lionman, snoozeys, callen_1, iCrunk, craigoss, CHemical, V1C7012, mtot, Miggod, protecon, Chop92per, Copie, stedyedy, Pipster, Peteodeath, Blue_muppet, dingdong555, baby_ute, fredhoon, WuzzA21, ElBeasto, lostdude, endo, disa1377,TwistedTripper, SoniQx, MorgzMods, gigabyte123, lostdude, vinnie, iNoob, colinskies, Wombycat, jamieyn, Linkin, aln, Little Man, linsi + many more
radeon_freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2012, 8:12 PM   #6
Ninja_Harbinger
Member
 
Ninja_Harbinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: A warp pipe near you
Posts: 999
Default

ohh yeah, speed step, thats it.... thanks for the info
__________________
Main Rig - AMD 8320 W/ Hyper 212+| ASRock 970 Extreme 4 | 8GB DDR3 | Gigabyte 7950 WF 3GB 1150/1300 | 1TB/1TB/500GB/128GB Samsung 830 SSD/DVD-RW | Antec HCG-750 | NZXT Phantom 410 | Win8 Pro x64
Google nexus 4
If I helped, thank me with Litecoin: LRgxPUAYBQU2CdMEyycNPcsBow2CM3PA8W Dogecoin: D5VzbVPinwU3Z98sTRFgfHkKfhGXdQje8o Bitcoin: 1NH7BhKKGSand2wxBvZb7eBzQNyDQC41uM
Ninja_Harbinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2012, 8:36 PM   #7
kargar Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Default

Hey thx I tried looking on Google but I could only find sites who gave me numbers but didn't really explain about what I was doing and what to look for. I did the overclock and was wondering what is the maximum temp I want to be looking out for. I did a torture test with prime95 and highest temp I saw was 65c for 1 of the cores but mostly they are sitting around 58-61c this was after about 11min of testing.
kargar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2012, 8:44 PM   #8
Madengineer
(Taking a Break)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kargar View Post
Hey thx I tried looking on Google but I could only find sites who gave me numbers but didn't really explain about what I was doing and what to look for. I did the overclock and was wondering what is the maximum temp I want to be looking out for. I did a torture test with prime95 and highest temp I saw was 65c for 1 of the cores but mostly they are sitting around 58-61c this was after about 11min of testing.
At what Clock? thats a pretty good max temp if your already running on 4.5ghz
Madengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2012, 9:11 PM   #9
radeon_freak
Member
 
radeon_freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,379
Default

Anything 65c and below is fine. 70c> is to hot.

Stress test for a while and if it passes a few hours, start to lower your vcore until it fails. You're CPU might not need that much vcore for 4.5. Once it fails, bump it back up a notch or two then test again for stability and to be in the safe side.
__________________
trades/sales: Hung Mung01, arnica, goodguy82, pshnfry, Pic, XTREME OC'ER, lui_gough, alexanderino, phil_is_mrx, Noonoo, lionman, snoozeys, callen_1, iCrunk, craigoss, CHemical, V1C7012, mtot, Miggod, protecon, Chop92per, Copie, stedyedy, Pipster, Peteodeath, Blue_muppet, dingdong555, baby_ute, fredhoon, WuzzA21, ElBeasto, lostdude, endo, disa1377,TwistedTripper, SoniQx, MorgzMods, gigabyte123, lostdude, vinnie, iNoob, colinskies, Wombycat, jamieyn, Linkin, aln, Little Man, linsi + many more

Last edited by radeon_freak; 14th January 2012 at 9:15 PM.
radeon_freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!