Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Thread Tools
Old 18th April 2012, 8:09 AM   #16
ltd73's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,724

DAC aka 'twinax' aka CX1 (badly named - should not be called 'CX1') is just two transceivers and a cable fused together.

it can work NIC-to-NIC just the same way as cat5e/6/6A/[..] can work back-to-back.

the only catch is that the devil is in the details of how it technically works and a NIC or device must explicitly support DAC as an option because there is all sorts of analog stuff that needs to be setup correctly (preemphasis, gain, etc) and historically the first SFP+ based things got them oh-so-wrong.

but the Intel NIC you list should be fine.
ltd73 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 19th April 2012, 7:35 AM   #17
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,946

Originally Posted by Herballizard View Post
Question for the boys that get to play with bigger toys

I have been looking over both the Intel X520-DA2 and using


Or X520-T2 with regular old RJ45 copper

Mostly to directly connect my solaris express box to my xenserver anyone ever done it before. I wanted to run comstar on the se box and use it for vm storage.

I am trying to be a cheap arse and not have to use a bajillion dollar 10gbe switch. That is I want to keep the whole box and dice under about 1.2k if possible
To do it on the cheap check this thread http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...d.php?t=944153 (despite the title i ended up finding cheap 10gbe copper NICS)

I don't have a switch though so both boxes connect directly via the 10gig NICs then use separate NICs to access the rest of my LAN.
flain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2012, 9:54 PM   #18
rainwulf Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bris.qld.aus
Posts: 3,399

The whole idea was a crap shoot, so im selling the NC522 SFP+ nic and getting an intel 10gbe ethernet card sometime in the future.

For now im sticking with load balanced 4 gig.
(4 x 1gb intel nics teamed together)
rainwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 10:20 AM   #19
ltd73's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,724

why didn't it work?
seems like a devolution step to me...

where are you selling the NC522?
ltd73 is offline   Reply With Quote


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!