Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > PC Audio

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th April 2012, 8:29 PM   #31
crag_v
Member
 
crag_v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 3095
Posts: 1,772
Default

You could always try Windows Update for drivers (which in general isn't ideal, but maybe worth a shot). Right-click on the audio device and select 'Update Driver' and let it check Windows Update...

Other thing to do would be to right click on your audio hardware, select Uninstall, then disable your antivirus and reinstall the driver from your downloaded ASUS installer. Could be related to that maybe.

--
Before doing the above, have you tried plugging the speakers into another port on the soundcard? Again, it should then launch the auto-detect program and ask you what you've just plugged in. If that works, unplug them and plug them back into the speaker port again - possibly after a reboot.
__________________
Need data recovery? 5+ yr OCAU sponsor Data Retriever can help! (Also, I want your old drive!)
Main rig: i7-3770, P8Z77-V, 8GB DDR3 2133, ATi7970, 2TB SSHD, 2TB WD FYYS, 2x 2TB HGST US, Win7x64

Last edited by crag_v; 26th April 2012 at 8:31 PM.
crag_v is online now   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 26th April 2012, 8:36 PM   #32
luke o
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 3,321
Default

From your picture the High Definition Digital audio is enabled and set as the default, this means windows is outputting sound via the SPDIF or Optical Output on your motherboard (probably the square plug you never use). No sound will come out of the analog plugs until that's fixed.


Click to view full size!


You want the normal speakers to be enabled as per my pic.
__________________
i7 920@3.8ghz/thermright 120 ultra extreme/6GB Ram/770GTX/Dell 24" TFTx2
OCAU Camera Club Member
Nikon D7100, Nikon 35mm/50mm/85mm F1.8,Sigma 10-20mm, Nikon 80-200mm F2.8, Nikon 17-35mm F2.8 (plus the kit 18-55 and 55-200mm VR)
luke o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 8:44 PM   #33
Jashdown Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
Default

Did all of them and still nothing :S This is so frustrating.

I read somewhere that you have to change a setting in Realtek Audio Manager, but I don't have that :S
__________________
Q6600 - Asus P5QL-EM - G.Skill DDR2 800 - WD Caviar blue 500gb - Gigabyte 6870OC - OCZ ZT750W
Jashdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 8:46 PM   #34
Jashdown Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke o View Post
From your picture the High Definition Digital audio is enabled and set as the default, this means windows is outputting sound via the SPDIF or Optical Output on your motherboard (probably the square plug you never use). No sound will come out of the analog plugs until that's fixed.

pix

You want the normal speakers to be enabled as per my pic.
I've tried, but it's not registering my speaker at all. It's just saying they aren't plugged in.
__________________
Q6600 - Asus P5QL-EM - G.Skill DDR2 800 - WD Caviar blue 500gb - Gigabyte 6870OC - OCZ ZT750W
Jashdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 9:07 PM   #35
Jashdown Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
Default

So finally found the audio manager, hiding away in the files. I have sound, but it's not working properly still. The front right and left speakers work, but the centre one doesn't and the sub doesn't work when configuring them.

I selected the "disable front audio jacks" option, but then all of a sudden the front ports light up on the screen (the speakers are connected to the rear jacks), and when I disconnect the cables, it still doesn't recognise it. But whatever, it's working enough for now, thanks for the help everyone!
__________________
Q6600 - Asus P5QL-EM - G.Skill DDR2 800 - WD Caviar blue 500gb - Gigabyte 6870OC - OCZ ZT750W
Jashdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 10:09 PM   #36
lithos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jashdown View Post
So finally found the audio manager, hiding away in the files. I have sound, but it's not working properly still. The front right and left speakers work, but the centre one doesn't and the sub doesn't work when configuring them.
Try highlighting the Realtek device in the Playback tab and hitting configure, then setting it to however many speakers you have hooked up.

*sigh* This is why "streamlining" (ie, "dumbing down") shit can be bad. When it fucks up, you'll have no fucking idea why. Thanks, UAA!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GooSE View Post
Congratulations, OP, you've discovered stereotypes and hyperbole. These two things have been used for centuries by imbeciles and morons.
lithos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 11:14 PM   #37
Jashdown Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lithos View Post
Try highlighting the Realtek device in the Playback tab and hitting configure, then setting it to however many speakers you have hooked up.

*sigh* This is why "streamlining" (ie, "dumbing down") shit can be bad. When it fucks up, you'll have no fucking idea why. Thanks, UAA!
Gave it a go but no luck. I'll put up with the two speakers until I upgrade CPU, haha. Don't use them for much except music every now and then. Just wanted them to work so I could hook my headset up to it for games.
__________________
Q6600 - Asus P5QL-EM - G.Skill DDR2 800 - WD Caviar blue 500gb - Gigabyte 6870OC - OCZ ZT750W
Jashdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2012, 1:23 AM   #38
lithos
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6,103
Default

Oh, and by the way:

Welcome to Win 7 and its new audio architecture...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GooSE View Post
Congratulations, OP, you've discovered stereotypes and hyperbole. These two things have been used for centuries by imbeciles and morons.
lithos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 10:08 AM   #39
luke o
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: WA
Posts: 3,321
Default

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/ follow the link for
High Definition Audio Codecs (Software) and get the drivers for your operating system.
__________________
i7 920@3.8ghz/thermright 120 ultra extreme/6GB Ram/770GTX/Dell 24" TFTx2
OCAU Camera Club Member
Nikon D7100, Nikon 35mm/50mm/85mm F1.8,Sigma 10-20mm, Nikon 80-200mm F2.8, Nikon 17-35mm F2.8 (plus the kit 18-55 and 55-200mm VR)
luke o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!