Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th April 2012, 12:21 PM   #1
cellular Thread Starter
Member
 
cellular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 392
Default PC lockup on streaming video, now with sparkly green dots

Last week I had a random lockup (1st time) where I was watching youtube and the pc freezes and weird discolouration/dots pop up all over the shop. Have to hard reboot but all ok so shrugged it off.

Now the GF tells me it happened to her last night and this morning I got it again....
Sound like the video card on it's way out?


edit: Should note that I've been playing The Witcher 2 with no problems this whole time, seems to be to do with streaming through the browser
__________________
i5 2500K, GTX 560Ti, Z68X-UD3R-B3, 8GB G.Skill 1600Mhz
cellular is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 26th April 2012, 12:53 AM   #2
cellular Thread Starter
Member
 
cellular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 392
Default

So no-one's had a similar experience to this before?
I've built my own and fam's rigs for years but never had an issue like this so would appreciate any advice.
__________________
i5 2500K, GTX 560Ti, Z68X-UD3R-B3, 8GB G.Skill 1600Mhz
cellular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 4:42 AM   #3
Frog
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 86
Default

Youtube for me was displaying green static, but an upgrade to latest drivers fixed that (gtx580).
If I play video on youtube, the first one plays Ok - but subsequent video's download so slow- they are unwatchable - regardless of video size

Last edited by Frog; 26th April 2012 at 4:43 AM. Reason: spelling
Frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 8:20 PM   #4
D_W_Y
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 276
Default

just because a game is working fine doesnt mean applications will have zero problems. I'd try swapping out the gpu and leaving it for a day or so see if it happens.
D_W_Y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 8:28 PM   #5
cellular Thread Starter
Member
 
cellular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 392
Default

Thanks for the replies
I have the latest drivers (at least they stopped the 'driver not responding' crashes I was getting, common with the 560 Ti apparently) but I just find it weird that such a GPU heavy game like W2 won't have any issues but simple video streaming does?

Don't have a spare GPU (got a 9700pro in the cupboard hah) so guess if it keeps happening I'll just take it back - only 6 months into the 1 year warranty
__________________
i5 2500K, GTX 560Ti, Z68X-UD3R-B3, 8GB G.Skill 1600Mhz
cellular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 8:55 PM   #6
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,789
Default

Get some baseline data so more informed input can be supplied. It sounds like a Video Card dying but.......very coarse observation.

What is this PC you are referring to (please list the parts)?

What are the baseline temps of these parts?

The info you have provided so far allows for wild guesses at best.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 9:07 PM   #7
outbackozzie
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kalgoorlie
Posts: 572
Default

I had a similar problem once, and it ended up being the main memory. I'd be running a memtest recovery cd.
outbackozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 9:31 PM   #8
cellular Thread Starter
Member
 
cellular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bold Eagle View Post
Get some baseline data so more informed input can be supplied. It sounds like a Video Card dying but.......very coarse observation.

What is this PC you are referring to (please list the parts)?

What are the baseline temps of these parts?

The info you have provided so far allows for wild guesses at best.
ummm my specs are in my sig mate, unless there's more info I can give? No overclocks or anything, running as stock
As for temps;
cpu is ~ 33 idle, 55-60 load
gpu is ~ 30 idle, 60-65 load

Quote:
Originally Posted by outbackozzie View Post
I had a similar problem once, and it ended up being the main memory. I'd be running a memtest recovery cd.
hmmm forgive my ignorance but a quick google tells me about memtes86 which sounds like a bootable cd that tests memory? Does it basically give a diagnosis of the memory's current state?
__________________
i5 2500K, GTX 560Ti, Z68X-UD3R-B3, 8GB G.Skill 1600Mhz
cellular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2012, 7:33 AM   #9
Frog
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 86
Default

Yes memtest is a bootable cd you have to create
Also ms make a memory tester
http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp#top
Frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 11:04 PM   #10
cellular Thread Starter
Member
 
cellular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 392
Default

So it's still happenning on and off, decided I'll take it back to Netplus for a replacement (1 year warranty and only 8 months old). Spoke to guy on the phone about it and he said no worries bring the card in and they'll have to have a look and send it off if faulty.

My problem is he said it will take a MINIMUM of 4-5 weeks, no replacement card in meantime or anything..... wtf does this sound right to ppl here?
__________________
i5 2500K, GTX 560Ti, Z68X-UD3R-B3, 8GB G.Skill 1600Mhz
cellular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2012, 11:34 AM   #11
cellular Thread Starter
Member
 
cellular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 392
Default

k so guessing from the no replies to the above that I'm an idiot and that's a normal practice used buy pc shops

Happened again last night but got a screeny for y'all this time (locked up solid and had to hard reset)


any thought?
__________________
i5 2500K, GTX 560Ti, Z68X-UD3R-B3, 8GB G.Skill 1600Mhz
cellular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2012, 12:46 PM   #12
mike-s
Member
 
mike-s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,845
Default

as others have suggested, memtest86 is the go, I searched around for video memory test options and the only things i can find are these two.

If you have multiple memory sticks, have you considered paring it back down to run one at a time to see if you can isolate the problem?
__________________
Successfull trades: RakOon, drfbro, mR_CaESaR, Spyfox
If I've got crap for sale on ebay you like, click here.
Old hardware giveaway thread here.
Sony Vaio Club Member #21
mike-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2012, 12:50 PM   #13
Psychotria
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 443
Default

That screenshot is very familiar to me because I saw it many times only 3 or 4 weeks ago -- EXACT issue. Was running ASUS 560TI in SLI (factory clocked at 900MHz). Decided it might be the SLI so tried each card separately; i.e. not in SLI. Same problem. I tried underclocking and I think that made a difference but by that stage I'd bought a GTX580... never did work out the problem with the ASUS card(s) :-(
Psychotria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2012, 4:33 PM   #14
cellular Thread Starter
Member
 
cellular's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike-s View Post
as others have suggested, memtest86 is the go, I searched around for video memory test options and the only things i can find are these two.

If you have multiple memory sticks, have you considered paring it back down to run one at a time to see if you can isolate the problem?
I'll give that a try this evening thanks mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychotria View Post
That screenshot is very familiar to me because I saw it many times only 3 or 4 weeks ago -- EXACT issue. Was running ASUS 560TI in SLI (factory clocked at 900MHz). Decided it might be the SLI so tried each card separately; i.e. not in SLI. Same problem. I tried underclocking and I think that made a difference but by that stage I'd bought a GTX580... never did work out the problem with the ASUS card(s) :-(
hmmm interesting, so what did you do with the old 560Ti's? RMA'd?
__________________
i5 2500K, GTX 560Ti, Z68X-UD3R-B3, 8GB G.Skill 1600Mhz
cellular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2012, 5:08 PM   #15
Psychotria
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cellular View Post
hmmm interesting, so what did you do with the old 560Ti's? RMA'd?
Actually, I still have them
Psychotria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!