Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st January 2012, 8:18 AM   #16
Linkin
Member
 
Linkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney 2017
Posts: 5,308
Default

Looks to me as if your upload attenuation is quite high. Mine is about 30db downstream like yours, but my upload att. is only 14.7db. Yours is 45.5db. Not much you can do without getting your wiring looked at.
__________________
Trades = $7903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strange1 View Post
Hodor won't die. He wins and ends up on the throne, giving birth to the tradition of dimwits being in the position of power!
Linkin is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 1st January 2012, 7:51 PM   #17
supernom Thread Starter
Member
 
supernom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lyndhurst, Melb
Posts: 2,074
Default

Normal, everything plugged in




Everything unplugged except router (no filter), I also disabled wireless on the router.




Not much difference
supernom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2012, 9:25 AM   #18
Linkin
Member
 
Linkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney 2017
Posts: 5,308
Default

I'm pretty sure it's something with your line now, 45db upstream is not normal. If you're going to ring tesltra or whoever your ISP is, you going to need to try another modem. You've done well to go for isolation tests first.
__________________
Trades = $7903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strange1 View Post
Hodor won't die. He wins and ends up on the throne, giving birth to the tradition of dimwits being in the position of power!
Linkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2012, 1:47 PM   #19
caspian
Member
 
caspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,787
Default

I'd say that either the port or the modem has had the finger. lack of upstream CRC errors doesn't suggest noise, and the output power levels are normal. most likely the port has gone deaf and is dropping the lower end of the frequency spectrum, which is why the attenuation is so high/bitrate so low with no errors.

OP has apparently been a bad boy though, I can't even see the post he got canned for so I presume it's been deleted.
__________________
The stupid, it burns.
caspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2012, 1:35 PM   #20
supernom Thread Starter
Member
 
supernom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lyndhurst, Melb
Posts: 2,074
Default

Lol I just have a 24 hour break.

I went onto adsl2exchanges and put in our ph number and address. Here is what it told me.

Line of Sight: 4473 m
Estimated Cable: 5144 m
Estimated Attenuation: 72
Estimated Maximum Speed: 1500

5 km cable.
Could this be the causes of the problems ??
supernom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2012, 1:41 PM   #21
Linkin
Member
 
Linkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney 2017
Posts: 5,308
Default

Could be. But you still haven't given us the ADSL stats from your modem. I doubt there's much that can be done with that line length though.

FYI adsl2exchanges isn't 100% accurate. At my old place it said max speed of about 8000, we got more than that, and even more when the line was replaced. At our new place, it says we should get a maximum of 11000, but again we get more than that. 15600-16000kpbs.
__________________
Trades = $7903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strange1 View Post
Hodor won't die. He wins and ends up on the throne, giving birth to the tradition of dimwits being in the position of power!
Linkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2012, 1:43 PM   #22
rockofclay
Member
 
rockofclay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Melbourne, 3056
Posts: 1,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supernom View Post
Does this help any?
DSL Connection

Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 3:03:23
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 434 / 12.815
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [GB/GB]: 2,10 / 3,99
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,2 / 19,1
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 45,5 / 31,0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,4 / 6,8
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / BDCM
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 26 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 3 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 417 / 5
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 183 / 2.863.978
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 15 / 146
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 8 / 2.344
Are you sure someone isn't torrenting with dodgy settings on the network? Your uptime is three hours and you've already uploaded 2.1 gig.

That doesn't even seem possible!
rockofclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2012, 4:24 PM   #23
Linkin
Member
 
Linkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney 2017
Posts: 5,308
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockofclay View Post
Are you sure someone isn't torrenting with dodgy settings on the network? Your uptime is three hours and you've already uploaded 2.1 gig.

That doesn't even seem possible!
Oh, somehow missed that he posted stats!

As above. Lock down your network to you and your lan connection only for a while. Also report a fault with your ISP, no line should have 45db upstream. In fact, no line should have an upstream attenuation that is higher than the downstream one! For the record my down/up attenuation is 31.5db down and 14.7db up! Yours is way out.
__________________
Trades = $7903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strange1 View Post
Hodor won't die. He wins and ends up on the throne, giving birth to the tradition of dimwits being in the position of power!
Linkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 2:22 PM   #24
supernom Thread Starter
Member
 
supernom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lyndhurst, Melb
Posts: 2,074
Default

So yeah finally got around to getting onto telstra about this, and after a few days of back and forth calls they have said everything at there end looks fine, must be a problem at our end....

These stats are as of right now
Quote:
Uptime: 0 days, 4:01:01

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 434 / 12.486

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 961,56 / 3,99

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,2 / 19,2

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 45,1 / 31,0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 4,2 / 6,5

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / BDCM

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 25 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 3 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 463 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 204 / 283.445

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 17 / 912

HEC Errors (Up/Down): 12 / 33.618
Considering forking out for a brand new router right now

Currently running on a different router, an old one we used to use back in NZ. Get the same results on speedtest.net


Some stats from this router
Code:
 
Item	           Downstream	Upstream	Unit
SNR Margin	6	           6	            dB
Line Attenuation	34	           45	              dB
Data Rate	12246	           434	            kbps
So I don't even know if buying a new router would make any difference

Last edited by supernom; 26th April 2012 at 3:08 PM.
supernom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 5:08 PM   #25
supernom Thread Starter
Member
 
supernom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lyndhurst, Melb
Posts: 2,074
Default

In an attempt to resolve our issue of net dropping out when the phone rings, I picked up 2 new adsl filters and plugged them in, but it did not solve the problem.

Does anyone know what else it can be ? We asked telstra about it and they said it is the faulty filters, but nope.
supernom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!