Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd May 2012, 8:09 AM   #1
THE D Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 709
Default So my Corsair PSU is sparking!

Yesterday evening the Corsair HX650 PSU in one of the PCs in the house started making a crackling noise , the PC did not crash but it was shut down right away (note that I was on a different PC at the time in another room).

Any attempt to turn the system back on has meet with 1 long beep and 3 short, no display (sometimes it does not beep) and sometimes a crackling sound and burning smell from the PSU.

The system is an ASUS P5B with a E4300 CPU, two DDR2 DIMMs and a GTX260.

Last edited by THE D; 2nd May 2012 at 8:15 AM.
THE D is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd May 2012, 8:14 AM   #2
Psychotria
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 444
Default

Geez Doesn't sound good

I actually quite like the smell of ozone though. Umm, not that this helps with your problem; sorry
Psychotria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 8:17 AM   #3
Jim G
Member
 
Jim G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 944
Default

At this point I'd be taking the PSU out and RMA'ing it if it were in warranty or separately testing/binning it otherwise - I wouldn't try turning it on while it was connected to any components you valued just in case it blew something.
__________________
Newcastle-based commercial + portrait photographer. Tech photos for here.

Trades and Heatware
Jim G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 8:47 AM   #4
THE D Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim G View Post
At this point I'd be taking the PSU out and RMA'ing it if it were in warranty or separately testing/binning it otherwise - I wouldn't try turning it on while it was connected to any components you valued just in case it blew something.
Yeah, I was not the person that turned it back on the first time and because it did not make the crackling for the first few times it was turned back on I tried to get it to boot up.

I do know that it did not blow the GFX card (the one thing I owned in that PC).
THE D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 8:54 AM   #5
Yamunsa
Member
 
Yamunsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cairns
Posts: 1,654
Default

rma time... don't plug it in to anything else ever.
Yamunsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 8:59 AM   #6
THE D Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamunsa View Post
rma time... don't plug it in to anything else ever.
Wasn't really planing to.

Just that someone else heard the first sound and shut it down then I pulled a few things out to have a lot and then he put it back together without asking me.
THE D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 9:04 AM   #7
Yamunsa
Member
 
Yamunsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cairns
Posts: 1,654
Default

confused what the question was then lol. you've posted in the Troubleshooting Help section. did you need assistance to start the rma?
Yamunsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 10:05 AM   #8
peteed1985
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 512
Default

Umm tbh that sounds an aweful lot like when a roach walked into my PSU >_>
__________________
i5 2500k
GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD4-B3
7950 2GB
G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz 8GB kit
OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, 3 Sata HDD's
peteed1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 11:27 AM   #9
THE D Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamunsa View Post
confused what the question was then lol. you've posted in the Troubleshooting Help section. did you need assistance to start the rma?
Umm, More like does anyone know what the beeps mean (can not fine the POST codes) and is it likely that the system is still good (bar the PSU) if nothing looks to have popped or burnt on the motherboard.
THE D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 6:09 PM   #10
THE D Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 709
Default

Well I replaced the PSU and it seems the POS took out the RAM or RAM slots
THE D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!