Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > General Software

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd May 2012, 5:45 PM   #1
Blue_muppet Thread Starter
Member
 
Blue_muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kew East, 3102
Posts: 484
Default Cubby - LogMeIn's competing 'Dropbox' product

Hi All,

I've done a few searches here on OCAU and it seems there isn't any info about this product just yet - probably fair enough seeing as it's still in closed beta stages. Product website is here, to request an invite go here. My invite took a week or two to come through.

I am an avid DropBox user already, but this product goes a little bit further and offers the ability to sync files across your personal computers without necessarily storing it in the cloud. The Cubby P2P protocol knows if your machines are LAN'ed or separated by the Internet. Currently it's supported on Windows & OSX (unfortunately, as tr3nton points out below, there's no Linux support at the moment).

Here's the 'Getting Started' pdf you get when your Cubby folder is activated.

Note points number 8 and 9:
Quote:
8. Make your stuff the same on each of your PCs or Macs.
That’s called syncing. Here’s what you do.
- Install Cubby on another PC or Mac.
- Open Cubby on the new computer and click 'add to this computer' to start syncing.
Your stuff stays the same on both computers.

9. Take advantage of unlimited peer-to-peer syncing.
There’s no storage limit when syncing between two of your own computers. Limits only apply to cubbies synced to the cloud.
Has anybody else used Cubby yet?
__________________
PC i7 950\ASRock X58 Extreme\6GB Corsair DDR3\GTX 480\X-Fi
HTPC ASRock ION3D\OCZ 60GB SSD\2GB DDR2\Ubuntu 10.10\XBMC\IOGEAR GKM561R
Many successful trades!

Last edited by Blue_muppet; 4th May 2012 at 8:20 AM.
Blue_muppet is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd May 2012, 6:13 PM   #2
Primüs
Member
 
Primüs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW
Posts: 2,871
Default

A much better concept, if you ask me. I'll definitely be looking into it for different uses.
__________________
I has blog!
Primüs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 6:39 PM   #3
Pirki
Member
 
Pirki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 867
Default

very interesting thanks for sharing
Pirki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2012, 8:43 AM   #4
tr3nton
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,245
Default

https://www.cubby.com/faq

Quote:
What are Cubby system requirements?
<snip>
Linux
Linux is not supported.


Still, they may expand. Sounds interesting enough. Sounds similar to U1 - where you select the folders to sync on each device. Point 9 quoted above does sound unique from current offerings, though.
__________________
Microsoft gives you windows, linux gives you the whole house
tr3nton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 6:49 PM   #5
Taceo Corpus
Member
 
Taceo Corpus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Osaka, Japan
Posts: 3,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tr3nton View Post
Point 9 quoted above does sound unique from current offerings, though.
Windows Live Mesh.
__________________
Travel & Photo Blog: http://www.dfcowell.net RSS
Taceo Corpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 7:00 PM   #6
Rezin
Member
 
Rezin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 8,392
Default

Note: when you get the 'Welcome to Cubby!' e-mail, you gotta download the PC client (most likely the same with the Mac client) linked to in that e-mail, and install it to setup a password. Simply installing the Android client from Google Play doesn't give any prompts to setup a password... it assumes you already have one.

Caught me out for a few days, as I downloaded the Android app and joined the beta through that, and assumed another e-mail was coming which would contain the password.
Rezin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2012, 5:09 PM   #7
maev
Member
 
maev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mid-North Coast, NSW
Posts: 1,416
Default

Wow, that's really cool it identifies the network types and syncs without the cloud. There's been a few times I've wanted a feature like that in a program!
__________________
W225 Laptop | i5 2540M 3GHz - 8GB RAM - 128GB Vertex 3 SSD - GeForce GT 630M
Game n Work PC | AMD FX-6300 @ 5.0Ghz - Kraken X60+2xNoctua - Asus Sabertooth 990FX - 8GB 1600 DDR3 - 3GB 7950 - HX750 Corsair PSU
maev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2012, 2:50 PM   #8
Dimtar
Member
 
Dimtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glen Innes
Posts: 1,198
Default

I have one spare invite if anyone wants one, very cool program also. I just threw 50GB at it so lets see how it goes.
__________________
2600K|8GB|MAXIMUS GENE-Z|GTX570 SOC|2TB|CORSAIR SSD120GB + 60GB SRT|AX850|DEFINE MINI|LOGITECH G510|LOGITECH G500|ASTRO A40
iPhone 5S 64GB|iPad Air 128GB|50TB unRaid Server
OCAU Trades
Dimtar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2012, 8:51 PM   #9
ThunderbirdMoz
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wynnum
Posts: 990
Default

May I have the invite please if you still have it. I can be contacted by PM. Thanks
__________________
Core i5-750 @ 2.6GHz | Corsair 800d (air cooled)| Gigabyte P55A-UD4P | 16Gb RAM | Sapphire 7950 | 256SSD + 1 + 1 + 3Tb HDDs | Model M + G9x | Yammy 673 | Dell 2407 (LOL) | Billion 7800N | Samsung GS3 | Ipod Touch 32Gb Black | HP Touch Pad 32Gb androidfied | Ipad 1 16Gb Black
ThunderbirdMoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2012, 9:16 PM   #10
PabloEscobar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,494
Default

Quote:
9. Take advantage of unlimited peer-to-peer syncing.
Does this mean my stuff is publicially seeded into a group of a cubby users, and then each computer can download a copy.

Isn't this the same as just renaming your My Documents "Paris Hilton.zip" and pointing Kazaa at it ?
PabloEscobar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2012, 10:00 PM   #11
Dimtar
Member
 
Dimtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glen Innes
Posts: 1,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderbirdMoz View Post
May I have the invite please if you still have it. I can be contacted by PM. Thanks
PM me your email address, I can send you an invite tomorrow.
__________________
2600K|8GB|MAXIMUS GENE-Z|GTX570 SOC|2TB|CORSAIR SSD120GB + 60GB SRT|AX850|DEFINE MINI|LOGITECH G510|LOGITECH G500|ASTRO A40
iPhone 5S 64GB|iPad Air 128GB|50TB unRaid Server
OCAU Trades
Dimtar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2012, 10:12 PM   #12
Dimtar
Member
 
Dimtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glen Innes
Posts: 1,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabloEscobar View Post
Does this mean my stuff is publicially seeded into a group of a cubby users, and then each computer can download a copy.

Isn't this the same as just renaming your My Documents "Paris Hilton.zip" and pointing Kazaa at it ?
As far as I can tell this doesn't work, to do free syncing you need to be using the same account. Sharing a folder with a friend requires that folder to be synced to the cloud.
__________________
2600K|8GB|MAXIMUS GENE-Z|GTX570 SOC|2TB|CORSAIR SSD120GB + 60GB SRT|AX850|DEFINE MINI|LOGITECH G510|LOGITECH G500|ASTRO A40
iPhone 5S 64GB|iPad Air 128GB|50TB unRaid Server
OCAU Trades
Dimtar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2012, 7:32 PM   #13
Elfanger
Member
 
Elfanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 773
Default

Can the function to share on lan only and not store anything on the cloud be used via vpn to computers not physically at the home lan network?

Thanks.
__________________
{Total Trade Value: $7284.10 -Total Trades: 51}
Elfanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2012, 7:36 PM   #14
Dimtar
Member
 
Dimtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glen Innes
Posts: 1,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elfanger View Post
Can the function to share on lan only and not store anything on the cloud be used via vpn to computers not physically at the home lan network?

Thanks.
It's not LAN only, it can detect a LAN to make transfers faster. I have three machines synced and one is not physically here.
__________________
2600K|8GB|MAXIMUS GENE-Z|GTX570 SOC|2TB|CORSAIR SSD120GB + 60GB SRT|AX850|DEFINE MINI|LOGITECH G510|LOGITECH G500|ASTRO A40
iPhone 5S 64GB|iPad Air 128GB|50TB unRaid Server
OCAU Trades
Dimtar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2012, 5:40 PM   #15
kogi
Member
 
kogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 2031
Posts: 4,227
Default

Have 5 invites if anyone needs
All gone

Last edited by kogi; 14th July 2012 at 9:32 AM.
kogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!