Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Other Toys/Hobbies

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd May 2012, 3:01 PM   #2596
0M39A_1337
Member
 
0M39A_1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hobart, TAS
Posts: 2,372
Default

something like proline badlands or knuckles should suit you well. not sure if you can get them premounted though.

these might be alright too: http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ggy-Tire-Red-2

gluing tires isnt so bad, its getting them off to reuse the rims that annoys me.

pop them in a sealed bucket with some acetone in the bottom with the wheels/tires not actually in the acetone (so the fumes do the work) and leave them for a week or so usually does the job for me. far less work than boiling/baking.

shame they dont make trenchers for 1/8 buggy, they are a great all terrain. they just last and last.
__________________
30+ Successful Trades
PROUD HOMEBREWER
"Give a man a beer, he'll waste an hour. Teach a man to brew, he'll waste a lifetime."
0M39A_1337 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd May 2012, 4:14 PM   #2597
RAtSAcK
Member
 
RAtSAcK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bundaberg, QLD
Posts: 2,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagyaR View Post
Can anyone recommend some decent offroad tyres for a 1/8 Kyosho Inferno VE buggy? I've now learnt my lesson in not taking the car on bmx tracks, that quartz gravel is a killer... I don't want to spend too much on a set of 4 but maybe a glued rim/tyre pack might be easier, I can't be bothered gluing, such a pain in the arse.
Badlands rip-offs on Ebay sound exactly what you're after. I know a few people that have used them and haven't heard anything bad about them.
LINK!
__________________
My PC: AMD X6 1090T ~ 8GB DDR3 ~ GTX550Ti ~ 128GB SSD + 1TB ~ 25.5" LCD ~ Microlab Solo6C + Audio-Technica M50S
Lounge: 50" LG Plasma ~ Jamo S426 + JBL 12" ~ WDTV, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii ~ N4100Evo w/4x 2TB in RAID5
Portable: Acer Aspire One ~ Samsung Galaxy Tab2 7" ~ Motorola Moto G ~ PSP
RAtSAcK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 9:21 PM   #2598
MagyaR
Member
 
MagyaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melb
Posts: 5,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0M39A_1337 View Post
something like proline badlands or knuckles should suit you well. not sure if you can get them premounted though.

these might be alright too: http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ggy-Tire-Red-2

gluing tires isnt so bad, its getting them off to reuse the rims that annoys me.

pop them in a sealed bucket with some acetone in the bottom with the wheels/tires not actually in the acetone (so the fumes do the work) and leave them for a week or so usually does the job for me. far less work than boiling/baking.

shame they dont make trenchers for 1/8 buggy, they are a great all terrain. they just last and last.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAtSAcK View Post
Badlands rip-offs on Ebay sound exactly what you're after. I know a few people that have used them and haven't heard anything bad about them.
LINK!
I have those bad lands tyres! they do last! but I have a few spots where they have come apart, so maybe applying the glue there after a clean still might not stick. What glue do you guys use?
MagyaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2012, 10:11 PM   #2599
0M39A_1337
Member
 
0M39A_1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hobart, TAS
Posts: 2,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagyaR View Post
I have those bad lands tyres! they do last! but I have a few spots where they have come apart, so maybe applying the glue there after a clean still might not stick. What glue do you guys use?
any medium ca glue.
__________________
30+ Successful Trades
PROUD HOMEBREWER
"Give a man a beer, he'll waste an hour. Teach a man to brew, he'll waste a lifetime."
0M39A_1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2012, 10:18 PM   #2600
RAtSAcK
Member
 
RAtSAcK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bundaberg, QLD
Posts: 2,323
Default

I use Zap-A-Gap glue. Awesome stuff.
__________________
My PC: AMD X6 1090T ~ 8GB DDR3 ~ GTX550Ti ~ 128GB SSD + 1TB ~ 25.5" LCD ~ Microlab Solo6C + Audio-Technica M50S
Lounge: 50" LG Plasma ~ Jamo S426 + JBL 12" ~ WDTV, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii ~ N4100Evo w/4x 2TB in RAID5
Portable: Acer Aspire One ~ Samsung Galaxy Tab2 7" ~ Motorola Moto G ~ PSP
RAtSAcK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 4:50 PM   #2601
Reaper
Member
 
Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 9,629
Default

Thought I'd get around to sharing what a high level drift chassis looks like.

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l1...C/DSC00045.jpg

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l1...C/DSC00044.jpg

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l1...C/DSC00043.jpg

It started out as my tb03, which I hopped up quite a lot during the inital build. I then found out that you just can't really work a gt and a drift car, one or the other, so I went drift. I got some super driftechs and went for it.

I got heap of other hop ups here and there, I then found out they made a tb03-d, so I got the parts to turn it into one of those, which mainly was new suspension ends which narrowed the vehicle.

I also got some spacer sets and replaced all of the plastic spacers on the car with aluminium ones, which as it turns out, is what you do with the new tb03-r, but anyway, one day I see this drift chassis, far superior to the 3 racing bog standard layout carbon chassis, so I bought the eagle racing V2 setup. Freaking cheap as, it was like $90 or so shipped.

This chassis turned it into a front motor mounted, truely drift specific chassis. This was made before the tb03-vds came out, so that's why I don't have one of those. But I dig the extended steering and the fiber upper deck. And finally, I then upgraded the shocks, C hubs, front knuckles and rear carriers to aluminium too. Plus I got the counter steering kit that only works with this chassis too. Right now is riding on Raikou dxpe wheels.

And yes, I'm still not finished yet, couple more things I want.

So what did I do with all the left over parts? Why, I'm building another tb03 for touring. The only major thing I really needed was the tb03 parts C bag. Got that and a few other bits here and there, I'm now just waiting on a rear 1xd suspension mount, new shell and a servo+esc to come. I already have a 4 pole 5400kv motor ready to go.
__________________
Code:
      ------       -------------------
     /  __  \	  |This space for rent|
_____|__||__|_____ ---||---------||---
Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 5:16 PM   #2602
matto20v
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 219
Default

Your wiring looks a bit messy. Might want to start a project to clean that up by having wires the correct length, and without joiners (and heat shrink) along the wire.
__________________
[laptop: Ibm R52 P-M 1.7ghz 512mb 40gb 15"TFT DVDRW 802.11g]
[workstation: Dual core 2.6ghz 2gb 500gb DVDRW 17"TFT 10/100/1000]
[home theatre: Playstation 3 with Panasonic 42" Plasma]
[server: P4 2.4ghz 2.5Tb 10/100/1000 fedora15]
matto20v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 6:38 PM   #2603
RAtSAcK
Member
 
RAtSAcK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bundaberg, QLD
Posts: 2,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper View Post
Thought I'd get around to sharing what a high level drift chassis looks like.
Eh. Looks like my TT01.
__________________
My PC: AMD X6 1090T ~ 8GB DDR3 ~ GTX550Ti ~ 128GB SSD + 1TB ~ 25.5" LCD ~ Microlab Solo6C + Audio-Technica M50S
Lounge: 50" LG Plasma ~ Jamo S426 + JBL 12" ~ WDTV, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii ~ N4100Evo w/4x 2TB in RAID5
Portable: Acer Aspire One ~ Samsung Galaxy Tab2 7" ~ Motorola Moto G ~ PSP
RAtSAcK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 7:29 PM   #2604
Reaper
Member
 
Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 9,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matto20v View Post
Your wiring looks a bit messy. Might want to start a project to clean that up by having wires the correct length, and without joiners (and heat shrink) along the wire.
Yea, the motor ones are on my to do list. The wire from the esc could be shorter. I'm keeping the bullets though as it means an easier motor swap. But that's actually a little food for though, as the sensored motors do tend to have tabs, so that would mean soldering anyway. So I might actually get rid of the bullets on the esc wires and go back to a direct connect.


For the battery, I'm keeping the short ec5 adapter so it's easier to swap battery types between bullet and direct wired. The current battery setup has the bullets at the front, so when it's plugged in, it's shorter and flatter. It itself is fine. Usually I'd have the bullets at the rear of the vehicle, but the top deck interfers a little, plus it's not in danger of frontal high speed impacts.

The other wire there (the bunch of red/white/black) and the servo wire, actually goes to a light box on the shell. So while it may look messy there, it's actually not. I've just tucked it in there while taking the pics. I've got the main length all strapped together flat and neat.

The best bit was being able to strap the cap to the upper deck. That was such a bugger, I could never find a good place for the thing until now. That top deck is great.

BTW: This is where to buy the chassis:

http://broadtechonlineshop.com/eagle...aspx?id=3851V2

That site is great. They have a huge range of stuff that is a fantastic alternative to ebay. Plus I choose ems shipping and it arrives within a week.
__________________
Code:
      ------       -------------------
     /  __  \	  |This space for rent|
_____|__||__|_____ ---||---------||---

Last edited by Reaper; 5th May 2012 at 7:35 PM.
Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 8:34 PM   #2605
lupin
Member
 
lupin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clifton Springs
Posts: 1,060
Default

Nice to see someone else spending money on hop ups.

Are you setting it up for counter steer now that its a dedicated drifter.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4800 ASUS P8Z68, Gigabyte 5870 x 2, TJ10 ESA
lupin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 11:40 PM   #2606
SenorGrande
Member
 
SenorGrande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6,813
Default

I know cars are pretty popular here but today I added this baby to my fleet:

Its a ParkZone Ultra-Micro F4U Corsair. It joins the ranks my on mini J3 cub, spitfire, C182, F9F-2 Panther and a couple o gliders. Flew it today and was really impressed with how docile it is. I don't like fast flyers all that much (mainly because I am still fairly new to the hobby), even my cub (only got a 690mm wingspan) is a bit too quick for my field since the motor and battery upgrade I did. The Corsair by comparison was so slow and predictable I could put it into a left or right bank and just circle around and around with a bit of back stick. Luckily there was no wind this evening, I don't think it would handle all that well in any kind of breeze as it only weighs ~41g:


Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!
SenorGrande is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 7:46 AM   #2607
0M39A_1337
Member
 
0M39A_1337's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hobart, TAS
Posts: 2,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reaper View Post
Thought I'd get around to sharing what a high level drift chassis looks like.

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l1...C/DSC00045.jpg

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l1...C/DSC00044.jpg

http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l1...C/DSC00043.jpg

It started out as my tb03, which I hopped up quite a lot during the inital build. I then found out that you just can't really work a gt and a drift car, one or the other, so I went drift. I got some super driftechs and went for it.

I got heap of other hop ups here and there, I then found out they made a tb03-d, so I got the parts to turn it into one of those, which mainly was new suspension ends which narrowed the vehicle.

I also got some spacer sets and replaced all of the plastic spacers on the car with aluminium ones, which as it turns out, is what you do with the new tb03-r, but anyway, one day I see this drift chassis, far superior to the 3 racing bog standard layout carbon chassis, so I bought the eagle racing V2 setup. Freaking cheap as, it was like $90 or so shipped.

This chassis turned it into a front motor mounted, truely drift specific chassis. This was made before the tb03-vds came out, so that's why I don't have one of those. But I dig the extended steering and the fiber upper deck. And finally, I then upgraded the shocks, C hubs, front knuckles and rear carriers to aluminium too. Plus I got the counter steering kit that only works with this chassis too. Right now is riding on Raikou dxpe wheels.

And yes, I'm still not finished yet, couple more things I want.

So what did I do with all the left over parts? Why, I'm building another tb03 for touring. The only major thing I really needed was the tb03 parts C bag. Got that and a few other bits here and there, I'm now just waiting on a rear 1xd suspension mount, new shell and a servo+esc to come. I already have a 4 pole 5400kv motor ready to go.
looks alright. mate has a street jam ota-r31, now thats a nice dedicated drifter.

how do you have the diffs set up? front one way?
__________________
30+ Successful Trades
PROUD HOMEBREWER
"Give a man a beer, he'll waste an hour. Teach a man to brew, he'll waste a lifetime."
0M39A_1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 1:26 PM   #2608
Reaper
Member
 
Reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 9,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lupin View Post
Nice to see someone else spending money on hop ups.

Are you setting it up for counter steer now that its a dedicated drifter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0M39A_1337 View Post
looks alright. mate has a street jam ota-r31, now thats a nice dedicated drifter.

how do you have the diffs set up? front one way?
Thanks guys. I hoped someone here would appreciate it.

Countersteer, yep, I got the eagle racing CS gears in it. You need this chassis to run them as they replace the front drive shaft end, which in this chassis, when you transplant the tb03 running gear over, you reverse the main drive line which then puts the front drive end into the rear gearbox. Also the CS ring gears (there's a +1 and +2 in the set, I'm using the +2 which gives the higher CS ratio), need to be on a ball diff. I found a method that works perfectly for locking the ball diff so it acts exactly the same as a spool. And it's 100% reversable.

And yep, Tamiya front one way. So effectively It's a spool in the rear, one way in front.

The only thing now is more driving practice. I've been through many different setup combos in the vehicle, (mostly suspension related), I finally got it how I want it to drive
__________________
Code:
      ------       -------------------
     /  __  \	  |This space for rent|
_____|__||__|_____ ---||---------||---
Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 7:50 PM   #2609
MagyaR
Member
 
MagyaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melb
Posts: 5,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAtSAcK View Post
I use Zap-A-Gap glue. Awesome stuff.
From Bunnings?
MagyaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 12:24 PM   #2610
lupin
Member
 
lupin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Clifton Springs
Posts: 1,060
Default

Had my drifter out on track and took a little short vid.

More to come at a later date.

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4800 ASUS P8Z68, Gigabyte 5870 x 2, TJ10 ESA
lupin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
owners, rc

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!