Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > Windows Operating Systems

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th April 2012, 2:28 PM   #1
scorcher93 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 75
Default Installation issues on SSD

I'm trying to install Windows 7 on an Asus a53t on an SSD that I've chucked in there (120GB OCZ) and the installation goes fine, but when it gets to the "Checking video performance" part and everything onwards, it is incredibly slow and unresponsive. The HDD light stays on solid.

I've tried changing from AHCI to IDE which just stops the machine from booting.

Any ideas?
scorcher93 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 26th April 2012, 3:04 PM   #2
espresso
Member
 
espresso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne, AUS
Posts: 282
Default

is it a new SSD? as in this is the first time you've used it?
__________________
Successful trades with bluedan, TomT, chi, lui_gough, GOD, JuzIE, SwordSaint, kathshan, andrew84tran, Acesi7, converge, ncsa
espresso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2012, 3:33 PM   #3
scorcher93 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by espresso View Post
is it a new SSD? as in this is the first time you've used it?
Nope, I took it out of my older laptop (which I retired to my mothers deadly grip), formatted during Windows 7 installation (installer was able to see it fine)

However I wouldn't say it has a copious amount of hours on the clock.

Another strange thing is I used my Hirens USB with mini XP and booted, and it couldn't see my SSD. However if I used some partition app on Hirens to view partitions, it COULD see it and i tried formatting and retrying through that, to no avail.
scorcher93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 5:11 PM   #4
scorcher93 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 75
Default

No one? This is absolutely shitting me.
scorcher93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 6:12 PM   #5
oclockforlyfe
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: perth
Posts: 350
Default

You have to boot the computer in the mode(AHCI or IDE) that Windows was installed. If you change the mode after installation, then Windows won't load.

If your machine has sata connectors, which it would, then if you change to IDE, the SSD(or even a HDD) will not be detected, and the machine won't boot.

Set it back to AHCI and try to install W7 again. This time, even if it is slow, stick with it. The installation might be slow, but once W7 is installed, it will probably load as normal. Format the SSD to NTFS filesystem.
__________________
Successful trades with:
jamesvdm, AMLagonda, yotka, Mr Picolenie
oclockforlyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 2:06 PM   #6
scorcher93 Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 75
Default

Cheers man.

I eventually got it up and running. Ran a file eraser program over the drive and reinstalled Windows. Worked a treat, it's now faster than ever. Cheers guys.
scorcher93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 5:50 PM   #7
glenpinn
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobart
Posts: 4,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oclockforlyfe View Post
Set it back to AHCI and try to install W7 again. This time, even if it is slow, stick with it. The installation might be slow, but once W7 is installed, it will probably load as normal. Format the SSD to NTFS filesystem.
i installed win 7 on my intel 520 last friday and sata mode was on AHCI and when i got to the desktop, there was the "safely remove" icon in the taskbar showing both my SSD and my Dvd burner, then i shut down, hooked up my 1.5 and 2tb hard drives with my files on them, and they too showed up in that icon.

i dont want any of my drives appearing in that "safe to remove" so i changed the AHCI to IDE and of coarse, windows failed to start, so i just did a fresh install in IDE mode, and that icon was not there when i got to the desktop.

i usually always set my sata drives to IDE because of this problem, except my dell studio 1735, which, for some reason doesnt list any on board drives in there, except for external usb drives i hook up to it.

my win 7 took about 5 minutes to install on the SSD and during installation for the first time onto a new, unallocated hdd, when you get to the bit to select the drive to install on, you cant format the drive in the drives "advanced" section because it is not requird, and the format button is grey'd out, you just install win 7 and off it goes.

the only time the "format" option is available is when the hdd or partition already has an existing OS on it, so u can delete it, or format it.
glenpinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!