Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Electronics & Electrics

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th May 2012, 7:08 AM   #61
bradleyk
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 222
Default

the trim pots have 25 turns,there should be a hard stop at each end
__________________
susessful trades reaperoflife ,V1C7012 , nrzln ,sanjay ,Kenny3011 ,Heatpipe ,hankahanaka ,smackus ,Oblivion-330 ,Kow ,shonofear , reflextion ,Big Daddy ,achimw ,j00cy ,ECHO ,sirelliottm, willisss *2,autumn21, BevanMx5, brendohall, gnasher666, , cmdwedges, 1shot1kill, rowen, Xeon666, reflextion, friedsweasel, krimnl *2, gbtaufae, wast3gat3, adktz, edr34, xsphera, CD, damike, Mjollnir, jowjeh, ScrumpyJim, kambo_rambo, ~kraven, Oppressa
bradleyk is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 12th May 2012, 7:19 AM   #62
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyk View Post
i have had some luck with my gas, im not too sure, i just use what ever solder i have lying around, i'd say i'm not very good tho do you know how small it is?

look at page 15
http://www.allegromicro.com/en/Produ.../1391/1391.pdf

board:
using the easy one, as my version of eagle doesn't have the small one.
pix

that is 60x16mm


On the PCB drawing what is the box on the far left with a backwards Q1 on it?
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 7:20 AM   #63
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyk View Post
the trim pots have 25 turns,there should be a hard stop at each end
Thats what i thought but it never stops???
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 7:23 AM   #64
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Looking at them i think they make a slight click once their at the end.
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 7:34 AM   #65
bradleyk
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb2012 View Post
On the PCB drawing what is the box on the far left with a backwards Q1 on it?

that is a mosfet

do you have a multi meter?
__________________
susessful trades reaperoflife ,V1C7012 , nrzln ,sanjay ,Kenny3011 ,Heatpipe ,hankahanaka ,smackus ,Oblivion-330 ,Kow ,shonofear , reflextion ,Big Daddy ,achimw ,j00cy ,ECHO ,sirelliottm, willisss *2,autumn21, BevanMx5, brendohall, gnasher666, , cmdwedges, 1shot1kill, rowen, Xeon666, reflextion, friedsweasel, krimnl *2, gbtaufae, wast3gat3, adktz, edr34, xsphera, CD, damike, Mjollnir, jowjeh, ScrumpyJim, kambo_rambo, ~kraven, Oppressa

Last edited by bradleyk; 12th May 2012 at 7:43 AM.
bradleyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 7:45 AM   #66
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

yeh somewhere i will dig it out. where should i measure?
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 7:50 AM   #67
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

So do i need the mosfet as it isn't in my circuit. A mosfet is just a transistor right?
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 8:12 AM   #68
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Between pin 1 and ground there is 1.8V but between pin 7 and ground it is 0V. at the LED it is 1.5V but no light???

The batteries are ok at 3V
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 8:18 AM   #69
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

Hall effect sensor is at between output and ground is 1.5V put a magnet up close goes to 0V turn the magnet round goes to 3V.

Just looking at the specs of this hall effect sensor and it says operating voltage is 4.5V to 6V

I only have 3V input maybe this could be the problem?
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 8:21 AM   #70
bradleyk
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb2012 View Post
So do i need the mosfet as it isn't in my circuit. A mosfet is just a transistor right?
the mosfet is for later, for the solinoide, it is similar to a transistor

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb2012 View Post
Between pin 1 and ground there is 1.8V but between pin 7 and ground it is 0V. at the LED it is 1.5V but no light???

The batteries are ok at 3V
pin 1 and 7 should never been on at the same time, 1.5 is a bit low, remove the resistance. from the led.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidb2012 View Post
Hall effect sensor is at between output and ground is 1.5V put a magnet up close goes to 0V turn the magnet round goes to 3V.

Just looking at the specs of this hall effect sensor and it says operating voltage is 4.5V to 6V

I only have 3V input maybe this could be the problem?
the hall effect seems to be working fine, as the output is changing, also measure the voltage on the led, try to make it go to 0, by adjusting the pots.

with no magnet, the the voltage at pin 3 should be at less voltage at pin 2 and pin 6 should be higher then pin5
__________________
susessful trades reaperoflife ,V1C7012 , nrzln ,sanjay ,Kenny3011 ,Heatpipe ,hankahanaka ,smackus ,Oblivion-330 ,Kow ,shonofear , reflextion ,Big Daddy ,achimw ,j00cy ,ECHO ,sirelliottm, willisss *2,autumn21, BevanMx5, brendohall, gnasher666, , cmdwedges, 1shot1kill, rowen, Xeon666, reflextion, friedsweasel, krimnl *2, gbtaufae, wast3gat3, adktz, edr34, xsphera, CD, damike, Mjollnir, jowjeh, ScrumpyJim, kambo_rambo, ~kraven, Oppressa

Last edited by bradleyk; 12th May 2012 at 8:42 AM.
bradleyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 8:44 AM   #71
Odje
Member
 
Odje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyk View Post
the mosfet is for later, for the solinoide, it is similar to a transistor
The T in MOSFET stands for transistor, so it is a transistor.
__________________
FOR SALE: unRAID Server Pro Registration Key $75

There are only 2 reasons why you should run,
1. If you are being chased or
2. If you are on fire
Odje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 9:06 AM   #72
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

ok well some good news. Technically the circuit works. across the LED i have got to 0V then when i introduce a magnet either pole it jumps to 1.5V, when the magnet is removed it goes back to 0V SUCCESS however the LED still doesnt light and i have replaced the last resistor with wire.

One pole of the magnet works at 2.5cm away and one pole works at 9cm away.

Iv just checked the LED doesn't light up with 1.5V direct it needs at least 3V so we do have a working circuit. Now do you think we maybe need more power? If we have to then i suppose we will have to fit it in. Maybe 4AA's or 3AA's what do you think. Also how do we get the distance further as eventually the hall effect sensor will be behind 2mm of PVC.

Oh i tried with that small sensor and it was practically impossible
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 9:08 AM   #73
RussellK
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odje View Post
The T in MOSFET stands for transistor, so it is a transistor.
And I hope you'll be gifting it with a flyback diode before connecting it to a solenoid...
RussellK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 9:14 AM   #74
davidb2012 Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 53
Default

pins 2, 3, 5 and 6 are all 1.5V with and without magnet
davidb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2012, 9:25 AM   #75
bradleyk
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Canberra
Posts: 222
Default

i have to get to work ,i can make a pic when i get back about 3 ish
__________________
susessful trades reaperoflife ,V1C7012 , nrzln ,sanjay ,Kenny3011 ,Heatpipe ,hankahanaka ,smackus ,Oblivion-330 ,Kow ,shonofear , reflextion ,Big Daddy ,achimw ,j00cy ,ECHO ,sirelliottm, willisss *2,autumn21, BevanMx5, brendohall, gnasher666, , cmdwedges, 1shot1kill, rowen, Xeon666, reflextion, friedsweasel, krimnl *2, gbtaufae, wast3gat3, adktz, edr34, xsphera, CD, damike, Mjollnir, jowjeh, ScrumpyJim, kambo_rambo, ~kraven, Oppressa
bradleyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
board, circuit, electronics

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!