Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > General Software

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st September 2012, 7:40 PM   #1
mtma Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,605
Default SEO or am I infected?

On the following search:

http://www.google.com.au/search?clie...hannel=suggest

The first four links appear to be genuine, then thereafter there are some links that seem to be .edu.au and .gov.au and et. cetera.

Those following sites link to some other site whose URL is completely different to what google says on its green text URL.

Is someone exploiting google's URL masking? Or is it just me?

If I copy the green text URL straight to the address bar I find that the URL is just bust and doesn't go anywhere.
mtma is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 1st September 2012, 7:55 PM   #2
slavewone
Member
 
slavewone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sydney2076 Status:VGrumpy
Posts: 1,543
Default

Without a screen print, i think i get something similar to what you get.
__________________
Sometimes i lose track of threads, so send me an email!!
Fight me and loooose Free ฿ for watching youtube I can generate you a 1-7 digit vanity ฿ address. My vote for free bitcoin fractions
slavewone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2012, 9:01 AM   #3
wicky
Member
 
wicky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ?
Posts: 46
Default

Yeah I get the same thing, looks like URL cloaking.

AFAIK Google's algorithm usually gives .edu and .gov TLDs an advantage in page ranking due to being more reputable sources. Someones taking advantage of that by hacking the sites and redirecting users through to theirs.
__________________
.
wicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2012, 10:36 AM   #4
mtma Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,605
Default

Alright, good, though bad for google and the site owners
mtma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!