Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > OCAU Community > Team OCAU - Distributed Computing

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd April 2013, 10:50 AM   #1
ernie Thread Starter
Member
 
ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 11,734
Default Litecoin mining LTC/FTC/DGC/ETC (Do not offer items for sale in this thread)

It's been suggested that Litecoin mining deserves it's own thread so as to not to derail the bitcoin mining thread.

UPDATE: this thread is also for people using other Litecoin derivatives based on the scrypt algorithm eg. Feathercoin

-LTC Litecoin - second only to BTC , faster than BTC, Smaller efficiency gap between GPUs and CPUs , ASIC-hostile
-NVC NovaCoin - scrypt hashing[like LTC] , proof of stake [like PPC] , controversial start
-FTC Feathercoin- LTC clone with 4x more coins.

-DGC Digitalcoin- 20sec block rate, active. super fast version of LTC.
-MNC Mincoin similar to BBQ, but very bad launch giving 10% of all coins to insiders.
-CNC CHNcoin- similar to BBQ, announced on chinese forum first, very big hashrate.
-BTB BitBar- scarce version of NovaCoin. low starting diff like FTC and CNC, but quick adjustment.


Comparison of Litecoin mining pools


Useful mining programs:

You can download cgminer from here:- http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/
You can download reaper here:- http://wiki.solidcoin.info/wiki/Reaper
You can download cpuminer from here:- https://github.com/pooler/cpuminer/downloads




/EDIT Since the OP the number of scrypt based alt-coins has exploded!

No point listing them anymore.

Here are some links for info on the popular alt-coins:

Bitcointalk - List of Alt Coins.
Coinchoose - profitability ratings.
Coinwarz - profitability ratings and mining calculators.
Coinmarketcap - market capitalization of many crypto coins.
__________________
I ping, therefore I am.

Last edited by ernie; 28th January 2014 at 10:36 AM.
ernie is online now   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 3rd April 2013, 10:59 AM   #2
kangathekat
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,600
Default

I just ran cgminer with --scrypt option. When I get wake up later ill add my cfg here for my 7970.
kangathekat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 11:23 AM   #3
dakiller
(Oscillating & Impeding)
 
dakiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SE Melb
Posts: 6,548
Default

Consolidated Litecoin Mining Guide for 5xxx, 6xxx, and 7xxx GPUs

Litecoin Mining hardware comparison tables

Comparison of Litecoin mining pools

https://btc-e.com/ - Litecoin, Bitcoin, Namecoin, Novacoin, USD, EURO's and Russian Rubles exchange
dakiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 6:08 PM   #4
EuroSlave
Member
 
EuroSlave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 3 Drinks Ahead
Posts: 793
Default

Better to mine on ATI or Nvidia?
EuroSlave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 6:11 PM   #5
slavewone
Member
 
slavewone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sydney2076 Status:VGrumpy
Posts: 1,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EuroSlave View Post
Better to mine on ATI or Nvidia?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dakiller View Post
It's still better suited to ATI Stream
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]Sometimes i lose track of threads, so send me an email!!
Fight me and loooose
slavewone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 7:44 PM   #6
Pollywaffle
Member
 
Pollywaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 671
Default

While I'm syncing my Litecoin wallet with the server, I'm still trying to decide what Litecoin pool to join. Does anyone have suggestions? I was thinking maybe Ozcoin, but there's some fees. Alternatively, I was thinking give-me-ltc.
I'm very new to this and my inexperience is making it difficult in choosing a pool.
__________________
Gaming rig: Intel i5 3570K @4.2ghz / Crossfired Sapphire 7950's / Asus P8Z77 WS / 16gb Corsair 2000mhz / 1000w SilverStone Strider Plus / Samsung S27A950D monitor / Cooler Master V8 heatsink / Cooler Master Scout 2 tower
Pollywaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 8:37 PM   #7
ernie Thread Starter
Member
 
ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 11,734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pollywaffle View Post
While I'm syncing my Litecoin wallet with the server, I'm still trying to decide what Litecoin pool to join. Does anyone have suggestions? I was thinking maybe Ozcoin, but there's some fees. Alternatively, I was thinking give-me-ltc.
I'm very new to this and my inexperience is making it difficult in choosing a pool.

I joined https://lc.ozcoin.net seems cheap enough, only doing it as an experiment.


- Ernie.
__________________
I ping, therefore I am.
ernie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 8:43 PM   #8
Pollywaffle
Member
 
Pollywaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 671
Default

Cheers, I think that's who I'm going to go with also. I'll see how I go anyway.
__________________
Gaming rig: Intel i5 3570K @4.2ghz / Crossfired Sapphire 7950's / Asus P8Z77 WS / 16gb Corsair 2000mhz / 1000w SilverStone Strider Plus / Samsung S27A950D monitor / Cooler Master V8 heatsink / Cooler Master Scout 2 tower
Pollywaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 9:30 PM   #9
EuroSlave
Member
 
EuroSlave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: 3 Drinks Ahead
Posts: 793
Default

Anyway to get a quick starter guide on this?

If i download the client does it automatically create a wallet on a harddrive/usb that I elect?

I never got into bitcoin
I'd rather keep funds local.

Does it work the same way as bitcoin
EuroSlave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 9:45 PM   #10
Pollywaffle
Member
 
Pollywaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 671
Default

Cannot seem to get past this =/

"Miner failed to start. Make sure you have the Minerd executables and Libraries in the same directory as Litecoin-QT"
__________________
Gaming rig: Intel i5 3570K @4.2ghz / Crossfired Sapphire 7950's / Asus P8Z77 WS / 16gb Corsair 2000mhz / 1000w SilverStone Strider Plus / Samsung S27A950D monitor / Cooler Master V8 heatsink / Cooler Master Scout 2 tower
Pollywaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 9:49 PM   #11
Lasmi
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Local
Posts: 3,885
Default

http://give-me-ltc.com/ has the least number of stales.

Read their FAQ on mining and use the reaper program with mining_proxy and if you still have questions ask away.

Yes EuroSlave the litecoin client will create a wallet when you first run it.

For trading below is my referral link for Vircurex.

https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=447-7029
Lasmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 10:02 PM   #12
mortal
Member
 
mortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,372
Default

Do you have to be synced in order to start mining?

I've followed:

http://cryptojunky.com/blog/2013/03/...tecoin-mining/

Set it as 5870 defaults even though its a 5970 - getting around 660 khash/s, computer is getting smashed more than bitcoin mining...unusable.

Anyway to get this mining with an nvidia card? Seems to crash with GUIMiner-scrypt.

Last edited by mortal; 3rd April 2013 at 10:10 PM.
mortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 10:07 PM   #13
Lasmi
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Local
Posts: 3,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mortal View Post
Do you have to be synced in order to start mining?
Yes for solo mining as the work comes from your litecoin client, no for pooled mining. Drop the intensity if it's too much. That's very decent hash rate though and I think I'm going to switch from reaper..
Lasmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 10:08 PM   #14
SLATYE
SLATYE, not SLAYTE
 
SLATYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 26,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pollywaffle View Post
Cannot seem to get past this =/

"Miner failed to start. Make sure you have the Minerd executables and Libraries in the same directory as Litecoin-QT"
Download the executables here, and then you may need to add an exception to the antivirus to stop it continually deleting them (it gets picked up as a trojan by many AV programs).

I'm getting a whole 6.75kHash/s on the CPU alone (three threads running so I've got a spare core). No noticeable impact on performance for general web browsing.
__________________
Main system: Phenom II X4 920 | 8GB (4x 2GB) DDR2-800 | Gigabyte M57SLI-S4 v2.0 | Leadtek Geforce 9600GSO 384MB | Enermax Modu82+ 525W | 1TB Hitachi HDD | 3.5" + 5.25" FDD
Laptop: Compal EL80 | C2D T7200 | 320GB Fujistu HDD | 2GB DDR2-667 | GF Go 7600

Last edited by SLATYE; 3rd April 2013 at 10:11 PM.
SLATYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2013, 10:11 PM   #15
mortal
Member
 
mortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lasmi View Post
Yes for solo mining as the work comes from your litecoin client, no for pooled mining. Drop the intensity if it's too much. That's very decent hash rate though and I think I'm going to switch from reaper..
Does reaper do nvidia?
mortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!