Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > General Software

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st August 2013, 3:07 PM   #16
theSeekerr
Member
 
theSeekerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,795
Default

I'm extremely confused - Tabbed browsing was one of the reasons that people starting switching to Firefox from IE, back in ~2006...

Are you seriously saying that you've somehow had that feature turned off, never used it in the last 7 years, and are confused about seeing it now?

Cos it's been that way (by default, I'll add!) for a really long time now.
__________________
Lucis+Umbra Blog - Photography by c.j. kerr
theSeekerr is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 21st August 2013, 4:55 PM   #17
glenpinn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobart
Posts: 4,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeekerr View Post
I'm extremely confused - Tabbed browsing was one of the reasons that people starting switching to Firefox from IE, back in ~2006...
Are you seriously saying that you've somehow had that feature turned off, never used it in the last 7 years, and are confused about seeing it now?
Cos it's been that way (by default, I'll add!) for a really long time now.
nothing to be confused about m8, yes tabs have always been present in firefox by default, i never said it wasnt, however me thinks that you have skipped over this thread and not read everything i have posted, including 2 posts where i offered 3 screenshots of version 23.0 and 3 of version 14.0 with the settings that i use.

in post 13 where i offered 3 screenshots of version 14.0, in the last one (options > tab) there is an option to "Always Show the Tab Bar" which is not listed now in version 23.0 onwards, and i stated that ever since i started using firefox many years ago i have always disabled that option, and all the others in the "Tab box" except the 3rd one.

i dont understand why all the "shock/horror" reaction from some people i mention this to, just because i dont like nor want tabbed browsing.

i also dont use my keyboard for shortcuts, and everyone reckons i am wierd for that as well, to me its a big PITA.

cheers

Last edited by glenpinn; 21st August 2013 at 5:00 PM. Reason: added text
glenpinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2013, 5:40 PM   #18
theSeekerr
Member
 
theSeekerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glenpinn View Post
in post 13 where i offered 3 screenshots of version 14.0, in the last one (options > tab) there is an option to "Always Show the Tab Bar" which is not listed now in version 23.0 onwards, and i stated that ever since i started using firefox many years ago i have always disabled that option, and all the others in the "Tab box" except the 3rd one.

i dont understand why all the "shock/horror" reaction from some people i mention this to, just because i dont like nor want tabbed browsing.
Oh, I can understand not liking tabbed browsing. That's a subjective thing.

(I mean, I can't imagine living without it, but that's as someone who has >80 tabs open across 3 windows at this moment. Having 80 windows would be unworkable, so...)

It's the comments about becoming "more like Internet Explorer" that I don't understand...IE has become more like Firefox, not the other way around.

Quote:
i also dont use my keyboard for shortcuts, and everyone reckons i am wierd for that as well, to me its a big PITA.
That does make you a little weird. Unless you don't type much, or don't touch-type, in which case it makes perfect sense (ie. keyboard shortcuts aren't convenient unless your hands are already on the keyboard)
__________________
Lucis+Umbra Blog - Photography by c.j. kerr
theSeekerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2013, 6:00 PM   #19
glenpinn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobart
Posts: 4,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeekerr View Post
It's the comments about becoming "more like Internet Explorer" that I don't understand...IE has become more like Firefox, not the other way around
i dont see how IE resembles firefox in any way, shape or form, to me it is poles apart in appearance from firefox, hence why i made the comment i did, maybe i just see it differently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeekerr View Post
That does make you a little weird. ha ha there you go Unless you don't type much, or don't touch-type, in which case it makes perfect sense (ie. keyboard shortcuts aren't convenient unless your hands are already on the keyboard)
i used to type both handed 40wpm many years ago (on typewriter and keyboard) but using keyboard shortcuts was just something i never ever took up, even when i was able to type properly.

15 years ago i lost my pointer finger on my left hand in a joiners shop accident, and that then changed everything for me with the way i type, now i am a 1 finger hen pecker (using middle finger of left hand) and i mouse with my right hand, and i have to do it this way because of osteo arthritis in my hands.

i do type a lot, but not the way most people might

also consider my age, i am going on 57 (hence the bit about the typwriter) so when i started out with computers i had already settled into a typing pattern on a typewriter and shortcuts were not used back then, plus its too late now to start changing my ways, but i can type 25wpm average using one finger.

Last edited by glenpinn; 21st August 2013 at 6:04 PM.
glenpinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2013, 6:28 PM   #20
theSeekerr
Member
 
theSeekerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glenpinn View Post
i dont see how IE resembles firefox in any way, shape or form, to me it is poles apart in appearance from firefox, hence why i made the comment i did, maybe i just see it differently.
Large images, so I'll link rather than embed:

Recent Firefox

Recent IE

Recent Chrome

We aren't exactly talking about a world of difference here. All 3 major browsers have simplified their interfaces into a small number of toolbar buttons, a menu button, URL/search boxes and a tab bar. The specific locations vary, but they all work basically the same way.
(And they'll look even more similar once Firefox inevitably follows the trend and unifies its URL and search bars)

Firefox is a little more customisable, interface-wise, than the other 2, but even that seems to be going away (as you've noticed)
__________________
Lucis+Umbra Blog - Photography by c.j. kerr

Last edited by theSeekerr; 21st August 2013 at 6:31 PM.
theSeekerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2013, 11:21 PM   #21
glenpinn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobart
Posts: 4,253
Default

ahh here we go, i installed that little addon to hide that Tab bar, but every now and then firefox (or a ghost in my pc) sneakily switches it off, or just randomly makes Tabs open up the top above the address bar again, then it just disables itself again after several minutes.

must be a glitch in the system, or rather firefox dont really want anyone to not have tab browsing.
glenpinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2013, 5:12 AM   #22
Aiken
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeekerr View Post
I'm extremely confused - Tabbed browsing was one of the reasons that people starting switching to Firefox from IE, back in ~2006...

Are you seriously saying that you've somehow had that feature turned off, never used it in the last 7 years, and are confused about seeing it now?

Cos it's been that way (by default, I'll add!) for a really long time now.
Before version 23 the tab bar was easy to turn off. Settings -> tabs then clear all the tick boxes. In version 23 the option to turn the tab bar off was removed. No confusion. Not every one wants tabs.

For what ever reason there are people that do not like tabs. Could be they are not interested in tabs and are happy with separate windows (which works for me with 10 desktops setup in kde) or want the extra vertical space on a small screen with the tab bar gone.

I am using hide tab bar with one tab to get the look back to what it was in version 22 and earlier.
__________________
Beware the grue.
Aiken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2013, 11:53 AM   #23
|BeFoRe|
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: G-Town, Vic
Posts: 135
Default

Just click View -> Toolbars -> Customize and then drag n drop the little + sign into the box, click Done and the tab bar will be removed.

Then change the Tools -> Options -> Tabs to how you want to handle tabs ie open links in new window etc



|BeFoRe| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2013, 1:55 PM   #24
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 3,287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by |BeFoRe| View Post
Just click View -> Toolbars -> Customize and then drag n drop the little + sign into the box, click Done and the tab bar will be removed.

Then change the Tools -> Options -> Tabs to how you want to handle tabs ie open links in new window etc

image

image
OP wants to remove tabs completeley, not just the + icon...
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell 2407WFP
Canon 5D Mark II | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2013, 4:56 PM   #25
|BeFoRe|
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: G-Town, Vic
Posts: 135
Default

That removes them completly, then once he changes the options settings it will open new links etc in a new window like before.
|BeFoRe| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2013, 5:44 PM   #26
Aiken
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by |BeFoRe| View Post
Just click View -> Toolbars -> Customize and then drag n drop the little + sign into the box, click Done and the tab bar will be removed.
Tried that and all it did is remove the + sign from the tab bar. What I have now is the tab bar with a single tab and no + sign. Tried with this copy of firefox and with a fresh profile.
__________________
Beware the grue.
Aiken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2013, 7:53 PM   #27
glenpinn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobart
Posts: 4,253
Default

the addon posted earlier does remove the Tab bar completely, but last night it was randomly re-appearing a few times for a few moments, and when i re-loaded firefox it was gone.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...-with-one-tab/

i just dont get why the devs of firefox had to remove the option to hide Tabs in the "Tools > options > Tab"

its like they are trying to force people to use tabbed browsing.
glenpinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2013, 3:27 PM   #28
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 3,287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glenpinn View Post
its like they are trying to force people to use tabbed browsing.
you say that like tabbed browsing is evil... maybe try out ie6 if you want that 'no tabs' experience again
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell 2407WFP
Canon 5D Mark II | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2013, 5:04 PM   #29
EvilGenius
Member
 
EvilGenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: _Rocky Status:_Folding!
Posts: 7,128
Default

A possible alternative for you glen might be the firefox extended support release. It's on FF17 at the moment. You get continued security updates, but no changes to features.

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo...tions/all.html


Should still have the option for turning off tabbed browsing and won't bug you to update to the next version.
__________________
i7-4820k @ stock | X79-Deluxe | 64GB GsKill Ares PC-14900 | NVS510 | Corsair HX-850 | CM690II
Once more unto the breach dear friends, once more
Cry fold for Team24, OCAU and all the world!
WTT - Quadro K2000m for Quadro 2000m
EvilGenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2013, 10:00 PM   #30
glenpinn Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hobart
Posts: 4,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renza View Post
you say that like tabbed browsing is evil... maybe try out ie6 if you want that 'no tabs' experience again
no im not saying nor implying tabbed browsing is evil, i know heaps of people that can live without tab browsing, but removing the "option" to disable or enable it i dont understand, and is why i said it appears to me that they want everyone to have tabbed browsing, otherwise why would they deliberately remove the tabbed browsing option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilGenius View Post
You get continued security updates, but no changes to features.

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo...tions/all.html

Should still have the option for turning off tabbed browsing and won't bug you to update to the next version.
thx m8, just downloaded it.

Edit: have installed 17.08, and it doesnt automatically update to a newer version when i click the "help > about" menu like all the other versions i had installed.

yesterday i booted up my netbook for the first time in 4 months and i went to the "help > about" menu and immediately it updated it from version 14.0 to version 23.01

Last edited by glenpinn; 27th August 2013 at 8:42 AM.
glenpinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!