Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > Other Operating Systems

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th November 2003, 5:08 PM   #1
ludeking Thread Starter
Member
 
ludeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,561
Default CD burning 4 newbies

I have searched widely on this topic and really want to setup buring CD's in Linux.

The devices I have are:
Lite-On 48x Burner
Sony 16x DVD drive.
Both ATAPI.

I've found that ATAPI burning isn't supported yet(can't wait for kernel 2.6!) and I need to add scsi emulation.
Found several instructions for this,
append to lilo, compile kernel with scsi emulation and remove ide-cd, append to fstab.

can someone please list a complete set of instructions?
Thanks.
p.s. I am running kernel 2.4.22 (upgrading kernel not an option yet - waiting for 2.6)
p.p.s. here is my output from lsmod:
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by    Not tainted
input                   3200   0 (autoclean)
radeon                102340  14
snd-pcm-oss            37252   1
snd-mixer-oss          11992   1 [snd-pcm-oss]
uhci                   24496   0 (unused)
ehci-hcd               16872   0 (unused)
usbcore                58400   1 [uhci ehci-hcd]
snd-via82xx            11712   2
snd-pcm                55904   0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-via82xx]
snd-timer              13252   0 [snd-pcm]
snd-ac97-codec         37240   0 [snd-via82xx]
snd-page-alloc          6004   0 [snd-via82xx snd-pcm]
snd-mpu401-uart         3136   0 [snd-via82xx]
snd-rawmidi            12512   0 [snd-mpu401-uart]
snd-seq-device          3920   0 [snd-rawmidi]
snd                    27460   0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-mixer-oss snd-via82xx snd-pcm snd-timer snd-ac97-codec snd-mpu401-uart snd-rawmidi snd-seq-device]
soundcore               3332   4 [snd]
8139too                15240   1
mii                     2304   0 [8139too]
crc32                   2880   0 [8139too]
ohci1394               24200   0 (unused)
ieee1394               42436   0 [ohci1394]
pcmcia_core            40032   0
ide-scsi                9424   0
agpgart                39576   3
is scsi already built in with the ide-scsi module?

p.p.p.s. I am using K3b.
__________________
"so i sat in my chair from 11pm till about 7am, scared shitless that some ghost chick was going to jump through my window and kill me. didn't happen though, so it's all good."
...
ludeking is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 7th November 2003, 5:24 PM   #2
Quadbox
Member
 
Quadbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane 4065
Posts: 5,180
Default

Give us the output of "cdrecord -scanbus" (must be as root)
Quadbox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 5:51 PM   #3
windsok
Member
 
windsok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: wollongong.nsw.au
Posts: 377
Default

you must define what device you want to use scsi emulation in lilo.conf

so figure out what device your burner is with the following:

Code:
dmesg | grep '^hd.:'

then add the following line into lilo.conf
Code:
append="hdb=ide-scsi"
(obviously you chance hdb to whatever your burner is)

then run the following to update lilo
Code:
lilo -v
after a reboot cdrecord -scanbus should look something like this:
Code:
root@windsok:/home/windsok# cdrecord -scanbus
Cdrecord 2.00.3 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2002 Jörg Schilling
Linux sg driver version: 3.1.25
Using libscg version 'schily-0.7'
scsibus0:
        0,0,0     0) 'PIONEER ' 'DVD-RW  DVR-105 ' '1.30' Removable CD-ROM
__________________
OCAU Camera Club Member #226
Succsessful Trades List: ezy, StratosFear, CustomPC, sen, FrankGrimes, rbear, joxer, Combiblock, rommy(2), Voodooman, Wizard, Doeth72, aaleks, bombastic, pingu, karthik, Bowl300, mugsee, CrYpTo, blue_bug, bluedreamer, TOX

Last edited by windsok; 7th November 2003 at 5:53 PM.
windsok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 6:12 PM   #4
ludeking Thread Starter
Member
 
ludeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,561
Default

cdrecord gives me this:
Code:
cdrecord -scanbus
Cdrecord 2.00.3 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2002 Jörg Schilling
cdrecord: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/dev/pg*'. Cannot open SCSI driver.
cdrecord: For possible targets try 'cdrecord -scanbus'. Make sure you are root.
cdrecord: For possible transport specifiers try 'cdrecord dev=help'.
ok. my cdrom is hdd.
so in lilo I add:
append="hdd=ide-scsi"

Can I just put that at the bottom of the file?
__________________
"so i sat in my chair from 11pm till about 7am, scared shitless that some ghost chick was going to jump through my window and kill me. didn't happen though, so it's all good."
...
ludeking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 6:15 PM   #5
windsok
Member
 
windsok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: wollongong.nsw.au
Posts: 377
Default

I think you can put it anywhere, but mine is at the start, eg:

# LILO configuration file
# generated by 'liloconfig'
#
# Start LILO global section
append="hdb=ide-scsi"
etc
__________________
OCAU Camera Club Member #226
Succsessful Trades List: ezy, StratosFear, CustomPC, sen, FrankGrimes, rbear, joxer, Combiblock, rommy(2), Voodooman, Wizard, Doeth72, aaleks, bombastic, pingu, karthik, Bowl300, mugsee, CrYpTo, blue_bug, bluedreamer, TOX
windsok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 6:24 PM   #6
ludeking Thread Starter
Member
 
ludeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,561
Default

Ok, added it to lilo and now cdrecord -scanbus reveals this:
Code:
cdrecord -scanbus
Cdrecord 2.00.3 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2002 Jörg Schilling
Linux sg driver version: 3.1.25
Using libscg version 'schily-0.7'
scsibus0:
        0,0,0     0) 'LITE-ON ' 'LTR-48246S      ' 'SS08' Removable CD-ROM
        0,1,0     1) *
        0,2,0     2) *
        0,3,0     3) *
        0,4,0     4) *
        0,5,0     5) *
        0,6,0     6) *
        0,7,0     7) *
Is that it?
__________________
"so i sat in my chair from 11pm till about 7am, scared shitless that some ghost chick was going to jump through my window and kill me. didn't happen though, so it's all good."
...
ludeking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 6:25 PM   #7
windsok
Member
 
windsok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: wollongong.nsw.au
Posts: 377
Default

yep, you should now be able to burn cds
__________________
OCAU Camera Club Member #226
Succsessful Trades List: ezy, StratosFear, CustomPC, sen, FrankGrimes, rbear, joxer, Combiblock, rommy(2), Voodooman, Wizard, Doeth72, aaleks, bombastic, pingu, karthik, Bowl300, mugsee, CrYpTo, blue_bug, bluedreamer, TOX
windsok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 6:27 PM   #8
ludeking Thread Starter
Member
 
ludeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,561
Default

Just noticed K3b detects my cd drive as a SCSI device now, but still give me an error msg saying it doesn't support buring with ATAPI and at least one of my burners should be SCSI emulated.......
__________________
"so i sat in my chair from 11pm till about 7am, scared shitless that some ghost chick was going to jump through my window and kill me. didn't happen though, so it's all good."
...
ludeking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 6:30 PM   #9
ludeking Thread Starter
Member
 
ludeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,561
Default

but it looks like it might be working anyway. I'll grab a cd and try to burn something later on. will report back
__________________
"so i sat in my chair from 11pm till about 7am, scared shitless that some ghost chick was going to jump through my window and kill me. didn't happen though, so it's all good."
...
ludeking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 6:52 PM   #10
ludeking Thread Starter
Member
 
ludeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,561
Default

SUCCESS!

Thanks everyone.
__________________
"so i sat in my chair from 11pm till about 7am, scared shitless that some ghost chick was going to jump through my window and kill me. didn't happen though, so it's all good."
...
ludeking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 4:36 PM   #11
SchRAMBO
Member
 
SchRAMBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,060
Default

I'm following the little guide posted by ludeking. I added the line
Code:
append="hdc=ide-scsi"
and ran the lilo command.

But cdrecord -scanbus just says
Code:
bash-2.05b# cdrecord -scanbus
Cdrecord 2.00.3 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2002 J�rg Schilling
cdrecord: No such file or directory. Cannot open '/dev/pg*'. Cannot open SCSI driver.
cdrecord: For possible targets try 'cdrecord -scanbus'. Make sure you are root.
cdrecord: For possible transport specifiers try 'cdrecord dev=help'.
any foggies?

using Slackware 9.1 and my burner is a Pioneer DVR-106D. Thanks.

oh. and will k3b only work under kde? cause its not wanting to run under Gnome 2.4
__________________
Linux Registered user #355379 - Click here to install Debian GNU/Linux
Gaming; >> PSN tehowl || Steam schrambo

Last edited by SchRAMBO; 25th March 2004 at 4:45 PM.
SchRAMBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 5:40 PM   #12
Bern
Off the rails
 
Bern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brighton, QLD
Posts: 5,049
Default

Did you reboot after you updated lilo?
The "append" line in lilo is where you put options that you want to pass to the kernel at boot - so after adding an "append" to lilo.conf you have to reboot (after running lilo) for the option to be passed.

As for k3b not working in gnome, it should - start it from a console and look for errors - you may be missing a kde dependency.

For those of you using KDE and scsi emulation with only one optical drive (the emulated one) you need to chmod 666 /dev/sg* to use konqueror for browsing audio cds.
__________________
Bern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 7:06 PM   #13
SchRAMBO
Member
 
SchRAMBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,060
Default

mmm odd. But at least its mounted now
I changed the append line to hdd (Pionner DVD-106S) and checked it with cdrecord -scanbus and it had worked. So I modified it back to hdd (Pioneer DVR-106D) and now its worked

just had another look at the k3b issue. when logged in as root it just spits out "command not found" when just a normal user it goes
Code:
k3b: error while loading shared libraries: libfam.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Time to learn all about libarys I think.
__________________
Linux Registered user #355379 - Click here to install Debian GNU/Linux
Gaming; >> PSN tehowl || Steam schrambo
SchRAMBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 7:15 PM   #14
Bern
Off the rails
 
Bern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brighton, QLD
Posts: 5,049
Default

http://danb.homelinux.org:81/read/bl...al/libfam.html

There should be a package for your distro somewhere if you don't do source.
__________________
Bern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2004, 7:33 PM   #15
SchRAMBO
Member
 
SchRAMBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,060
Default

ooo not good... the patch file link is broken.

also I just remembred, since my burner drive is now scsi emulated. what do I need to change in my fstab file for it to be mountable normally?
__________________
Linux Registered user #355379 - Click here to install Debian GNU/Linux
Gaming; >> PSN tehowl || Steam schrambo
SchRAMBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!