Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Video Cards & Monitors

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th August 2002, 9:39 PM   #1
Fodder Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Fodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sunny Melbourne
Posts: 10,638
Default Doom3 & DX8 features.

Warning, the following is an extremely n00b question.


How can Doom3 use DX8 features if it's an OpenGL game?
Fodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 9:44 PM   #2
HumbleBum
Member
 
HumbleBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 16,773
Default Re: Doom3 & DX8 features.

Quote:
Originally posted by Fodder
Warning, the following is an extremely n00b question.


How can Doom3 use DX8 features if it's an OpenGL game?
good question

/me waits for a informative answer
__________________
Another day in this carnival of souls, Another night settles in as quickly as it goes. The memories of shadows, ink on the page. And I can't seem to find my way home
HumbleBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 9:47 PM   #3
lucifer11287
RIP
 
lucifer11287's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,359
Default

I thought it was gonna use opengl 1.4. Wouldn't it be using dx 9 if it used directx? I'm gettin confused
__________________
IC7-G | Ti4600 | 2.8c | 1 GB DDR 400
lucifer11287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 9:50 PM   #4
ifrit375
Member
 
ifrit375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: melbourne
Posts: 453
Default

Does anyone know the answer here
__________________
Canon 5DMK II | Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L | 50mm f/1.2L | 70-200mm f/2.8L | Canon 430EX II
ifrit375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 9:51 PM   #5
Fodder Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Fodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sunny Melbourne
Posts: 10,638
Default

I just keep reading people on these forums warning people away from the GF4MX saying 'it's shit because Doom3 will use DX8'.

Now, does the OGL 1.4 spec also include the shaders that are present in DX8.1 parts?
Quote:
Originally posted by lucifer11287
Wouldn't it be using dx 9 if it used directx? I'm gettin confused
We've only just started to get alot of games that use DX8 shaders, so it'll be a long time til we get DX9 games.
Fodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 10:03 PM   #6
lucifer11287
RIP
 
lucifer11287's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,359
Default

I think that it uses opengl 1.4 I'm pretty sure that supports shaders. Thats what i heard neways.
__________________
IC7-G | Ti4600 | 2.8c | 1 GB DDR 400
lucifer11287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 10:36 PM   #7
Fodder Thread Starter
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Fodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sunny Melbourne
Posts: 10,638
Default

So, it's pretty much people who don't quite know what they're talking about regurgitating what they read somewhere else about Doom and DX8?

Am I right in assuming that the same shaders etc from the nfinitefx engine are present in both DX8 and OGL1.4?
Fodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2002, 11:04 PM   #8
sabretooth
Overdue for a new title
 
sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: QLD
Posts: 8,164
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fodder
So, it's pretty much people who don't quite know what they're talking about regurgitating what they read somewhere else about Doom and DX8?
Straight from the horse's mouth: http://www.bluesnews.com/cgi-bin/fin...20020211165445
sabretooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 7:54 PM   #9
LabMan
Member
 
LabMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 714
Default

If you can do it in DX you can do it in Opengl, basicly, and thanx to the link reaper you will see that you can do it in ogl1.3
LabMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2002, 10:03 PM   #10
CrimsonFury
Member
 
CrimsonFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rockingham, WA
Posts: 963
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fodder
So, it's pretty much people who don't quite know what they're talking about regurgitating what they read somewhere else about Doom and DX8?

Am I right in assuming that the same shaders etc from the nfinitefx engine are present in both DX8 and OGL1.4?
Pretty much, yes. The shaders in DX8 are also present in OGL1.4, but ppl generally associate them with DX8 (did DX8 come out before OGL1.4?)
CrimsonFury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2002, 1:32 AM   #11
buster hymen
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
How can Doom3 use DX8 features if it's an OpenGL game?
Direct music, Direct sound, etc.
Doesn't Quake3 come with directX?
buster hymen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2002, 5:16 PM   #12
PappaSmurf
Member
 
PappaSmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: sydney.nsw.australia
Posts: 3,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by buster hymen


Direct music, Direct sound, etc.
Doesn't Quake3 come with directX?
LOL, incase someone forgot to tell you, the GF4MX is a video card

[/dig]
PappaSmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2002, 8:50 PM   #13
buster hymen
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
LOL, incase someone forgot to tell you, the GF4MX is a video card
When did I say anything about a GF4MX, I was answering the orignal question. DirectX is more than just a graphics API(direct play, direct draw, etc.), and so Doom 3 will prolly use some of those other "features" of DX. DX for sound and OGL for graphics.

Quote:
So, it's pretty much people who don't quite know what they're talking about regurgitating what they read somewhere else about Doom and DX8?
They could mean DX8 equivilant vid card as not as many ppl follow the evolution of OGL compared to DX.
buster hymen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2002, 10:19 PM   #14
Kow
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Redlands, Bris QLD
Posts: 4,764
Default

... i got a gf4mx ... so doom III gunna be crap or something ?
Kow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2002, 11:34 PM   #15
CaBaL
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hampton, Vic
Posts: 127
Default

firstly, they might use OpenAL for sound as they do in UT2003.
DX isnt the only alternative for sound in games now.

and on video card, by the time Doom3 comes out, the gf4mx might be crap for everything. a whole new generation of cards will be around by then.
Doom3 should still work with the older cards without pixel shaders, etc., it will just look shit compared to all the people with Radeon 9700s and NV30 based cards

edit: for tired and muddled wordage
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz | Scythe Ninja 3 | MSI P67A-GD55 | 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 | 2 x 1.5TB Seagate SATA-II | MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 | Asus Xonar D2X | Antec Quattro 850W | Dell 3007WFP
CaBaL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!