Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > Apple Desktop Hardware/Software

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th May 2017, 8:08 PM   #1
skymist Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: S.E Suburbs, Melbourne
Posts: 1,029
Default Macbook Air - Faulty display port or thunderbolt port?

Hi guys,

I've been using my Macbook Air (Mid 2014) since new at work and home plugging it into external monitors to get more screen real estate.

In the past week this doesn't seem to be working, I've tried 3 seperate cables and 2 seperate monitors and none are working for me. Is there a way to test the mini display port inside the software at all?
skymist is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 18th May 2017, 3:18 AM   #2
Hater
Member
 
Hater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 998
Default

Not really, you could try resetting the PRAM to see if that does anything.

I had a similar issue with a 2010 MacBook Pro I had, ended up biting the bullet and letting a "genius" look at it. He plugged it into an iMac with a funny box on the back of it, and even though it was out of warranty, handed me a form authorising the replacement of the mainboard in my laptop...

At least it was zero cost I guess.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
Quote me in 2026, and if I'm wrong, I'll buy you a nice steak dinner.
Hater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 8:20 AM   #3
skymist Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: S.E Suburbs, Melbourne
Posts: 1,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hater View Post
Not really, you could try resetting the PRAM to see if that does anything.

I had a similar issue with a 2010 MacBook Pro I had, ended up biting the bullet and letting a "genius" look at it. He plugged it into an iMac with a funny box on the back of it, and even though it was out of warranty, handed me a form authorising the replacement of the mainboard in my laptop...

At least it was zero cost I guess.
Thanks for the reply mate. Guess I might have to take to the local Apple store...
skymist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!