Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th August 2014, 11:34 PM   #8086
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,897
Default

Trident x in this thread are Samsung.

http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh....php?t=1139904
__________________
TeamAU
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41
Another freezer's words of wisdom
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 12:01 AM   #8087
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5011
Posts: 4,197
Default

yikes, $200. someone will be desperate or cbf waiting for newegg i guess..
not sure on his/scums history (dont keep up with the 3d11 threads etc), are they proven sticks or anything?


oh
only just actually read the revised OP

no mention of team OCAU at all?
despite the fact most/all actives are headed to AOC team, OCAUs team does still exist, limbo or no.

just sayin, does anyone else think that the option link in the OP to check out either team should at least be there?
ideally a solution for a full merger may be worked out in the future - making it irrelevant who is in what team..

looking at it from the point of view for those who chose to remain on OCAU or were against the merger,
certainly adds insult to injury, after the mass of people jumping ship..

i thought that anything that drives the community apart was the opposite of the goal here, really.
something to think about, anyway

edit: or are we just trying to point the rookies to the "active/leading" team? still, not sure i agree
__________________
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |

Last edited by t8y; 31st August 2014 at 12:24 AM.
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 12:32 AM   #8088
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,897
Default

Dave it's 16gb, not 8gb. They're definitely Samsung, to what degree they'll clock I don't know. I think scum is pretty much an xmp guy.
__________________
TeamAU
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41
Another freezer's words of wisdom
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 12:40 AM   #8089
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5011
Posts: 4,197
Default

yeah, i missed that it was a 4 stick kit..
its late lol. must have re-edited my last post 10 times more than i normally do im out
__________________
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 6:58 AM   #8090
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 1,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t8y View Post
yikes, $200. someone will be desperate or cbf waiting for newegg i guess..
not sure on his/scums history (dont keep up with the 3d11 threads etc), are they proven sticks or anything?


oh
only just actually read the revised OP

no mention of team OCAU at all?
despite the fact most/all actives are headed to AOC team, OCAUs team does still exist, limbo or no.

just sayin, does anyone else think that the option link in the OP to check out either team should at least be there?
ideally a solution for a full merger may be worked out in the future - making it irrelevant who is in what team..

looking at it from the point of view for those who chose to remain on OCAU or were against the merger,
certainly adds insult to injury, after the mass of people jumping ship..

i thought that anything that drives the community apart was the opposite of the goal here, really.
something to think about, anyway

edit: or are we just trying to point the rookies to the "active/leading" team? still, not sure i agree
Fixed it for you t8y with a small explanation as to how AOC came about even has a link just trying not to confuse new members to much.
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 11:19 AM   #8091
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default Very confused.

Ok now I'm confused.

Been reading through the HWBOT Pentium challenge thread and there is a whole debate happening about water chillers. Not our comp the one at hwbot.org.

So a couple of quick questions? Rather than do it and get my subs deleted for all 3 comps.

Can I use the air con water chiller I made for subs in the Rookie/Enthusiast leagues?

My theory is I can't as it cools well below 0 and sits at -5 to 0 on idle which isn't ambient and I thought the rookie and enthusiasts leagues were for amient temps.

Front page looks good Gazza. Those backgrounds will be fine too.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 11:29 AM   #8092
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JunkDogg View Post
Ok now I'm confused.

Been reading through the HWBOT Pentium challenge thread and there is a whole debate happening about water chillers. Not our comp the one at hwbot.org.

So a couple of quick questions? Rather than do it and get my subs deleted for all 3 comps.

Can I use the air con water chiller I made for subs in the Rookie/Enthusiast leagues?

My theory is I can't as it cools well below 0 and sits at -5 to 0 on idle which isn't ambient and I thought the rookie and enthusiasts leagues were for amient temps.

Front page looks good Gazza. Those backgrounds will be fine too.
In short you can't as it uses a compressor which makes it a SS
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 11:35 AM   #8093
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newlife View Post
In short you can't as it uses a compressor which makes it a SS
Thanks mate. Just wanted to be sure I wasn't ripping myself off.

On another note. Whats the best Gigabyte 1155 Mobo for overclocking @ subzero temps?
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 11:39 AM   #8094
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,118
Default

UP7 but I would recommended an Asrock OCF although both boards are very hard to get
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 11:46 AM   #8095
JunkDogg
Member
 
JunkDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Perth 6169
Posts: 1,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newlife View Post
UP7 but I would recommended an Asrock OCF although both boards are very hard to get
Thanks mate. There is one of either on Ebay. The UP7 is 495 pp. The OCF 295 pp.

Whoa.
JunkDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 12:19 PM   #8096
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,118
Default

that's why I recommend the OCF but I paid $180 for one new just after 1150 launched and UP5 TH is also a good 1155 board
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 12:36 PM   #8097
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 1,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newlife View Post
In short you can't as it uses a compressor which makes it a SS
So does an aquarium chiller pretty sure its allowed always has been unless its a particular set of rules brought in for a comp. Tec's don't use a compressor but they have have their own submission category on the bot water chillers don't for now.

Water chiller = water cooling
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 12:39 PM   #8098
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,897
Default

Yeh, if theres water thats still a liquid, I call it Enthusiast class.
__________________
TeamAU
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane41
Another freezer's words of wisdom
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 12:45 PM   #8099
newlife
Member
 
newlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 2,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Ney
If there is a compressor in the loop => considered as Extreme cooling (It's like a phase change unit /Single Stage)
No compressor => water cooling (Enthusiast League).
Have a read here http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=99459
newlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2014, 1:02 PM   #8100
gazza30 Thread Starter
Member
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FNQ
Posts: 1,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newlife View Post
Yes but aquarium chillers like the Haliea have compressors but you aint going to get 0'c out of one. throw a rad in a bucket of ice slush and do just as good, or use ln2 to chill down your H100 like the team au boys did no compressor must be water cooling

This discussion have been around since jesus was a boy at the end of the day its impossible to police. Some people can bench crazy volts / clocks just due to climate the rest use chillers etc to even the playing field.

Until it in the rules I'd say carry on

Not to mention if they change the rules now moderators are going to have a LOT of work to do
gazza30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
extreme, hwbot, subzero

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!