Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Electronics & Electrics

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th July 2017, 11:46 AM   #1
FR3D1 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 129
Default Quick Charge/PumpExpress Technology

I've been looking around but there's very little information provide on how these tech works some things that I never get how these tech works such as:

1. All of phone battery operate at ~3.7V to 4.4V how does charging it at 9V/12V doesn't kill the battery but instead of charges it faster?

2. Both technology chargers can output 5V/9V/12V and since there is quite a few devices out there that require 12V is it possible to use use the charger as a multi-volt power supply? Any project/mod?
eg. QC adapter --> 12V negotiation circuit --> device that need charging

3. It is higher current (Amp) that require thicker cable or is it the volt?

Last edited by FR3D1; 17th July 2017 at 8:19 PM.
FR3D1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 17th July 2017, 3:07 PM   #2
desertstalker
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FR3D1 View Post
1. All of phone battery operate at ~3.7V to 4.4V how does charging it at 9V/12V doesn't kill the battery but instead of charges it faster?
The higher voltage allows more current to be drawn over a USB cable (~2A is limit in general). The charge chip in the phone will control voltage to match charge profile, but has more power to work with 18/24W instead of 10W

Quote:
Originally Posted by FR3D1 View Post
2. Both technology chargers can output 5V/9V/12V and since there is quite a few devices out there that require 12V is it possible to use use the charger as a multi-volt power supply? maybe by having a negotiation circuit so that the adapter only output 12V?
In theory you could, would need the appropriate control chip and/or a micro to tell it to request whatever voltage you desire. Would be cheaper to get a proper PSU IMO. The protocols are active (the host device needs to request morre than 5V or it wont get it) so proper signalling would be needed.
desertstalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 8:16 PM   #3
FR3D1 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertstalker View Post
In theory you could, would need the appropriate control chip and/or a micro to tell it to request whatever voltage you desire. Would be cheaper to get a proper PSU IMO. The protocols are active (the host device needs to request morre than 5V or it wont get it) so proper signalling would be needed.
I guess it's just more convenient to have one adapter that can charge both your phone and tablet rather than having to carry around multiple adapters one for each device.
FR3D1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 12:16 AM   #4
_zak
Member
 
_zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 304
Default

If the charger supports QC 2.0, there's this Arduino library that allows you to control it using a Pro Mini or similar. Might be useful if you've got both the charger and the Arduino lying around.
__________________
hex: Jonsbo UMX1 Plus | P8Z77-I Deluxe | i5 3550 | 16 GB DDR3-1600 | GTX 1050 Ti | 750 GB SSD + 4 TB
_zak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 10:20 AM   #5
azzachaz
Member
 
azzachaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,432
Default

That's a pretty cool library.

Would be easy to create a simple project with a switch/button to change the voltage.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix: I got pissed off after 30 mins of irresponsive controls and mindnumbingly stupid gameplay, threw the NES back in the corner and went to play CS.
Originally posted by spectral: Times change. Pity "old rev heads" don't and will maintain to their grave that "hi tech turbo whiz bang computer car" are bad
Originally posted by .Net Developer: I could check it in, but it's gonna look like shit.
azzachaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2017, 4:02 PM   #6
FR3D1 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 129
Default

How did you find the library? Would be better if there is one for QC3 and with a knob so you can select the voltage (I would do it myself if I know how to code ).
FR3D1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2017, 9:09 PM   #7
_zak
Member
 
_zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 304
Default

First saw it in this Hackaday post last month. My first thought was that they'd likely be similar, but according to this article, QC 3.0 can deliver any voltage between 3.2 - 20 V. Could be worth investigating for a quick and easy adjustable power supply, though I'm not sure whether it'd be using a resistor network anymore.
__________________
hex: Jonsbo UMX1 Plus | P8Z77-I Deluxe | i5 3550 | 16 GB DDR3-1600 | GTX 1050 Ti | 750 GB SSD + 4 TB
_zak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!