Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Video Cards & Monitors

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th September 2017, 12:11 PM   #4081
jpw007
Member
 
jpw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
Well it's the Liquid cooled version so I don't think Sapphire did anything AFAIK. All versions look identical. I'm hoping it's a once off and looks to be the case as I've tried googling the "hotspot" overheating or overheating and cannot find anything about overheating on the LC version.
Ah got ya. I'd be hesitant to throw AMD under the bus either and i'm sure is just bad luck on your part. Bugger that it had to happen to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by terroristone View Post
ive said it twice in here now. Do a log with the new gpuz, and check that hot spot reading.

Unframed - Was yours at stock settings when it hard locked??

The reason I went with AMD is I have a freesync monitor, and id prefer to support the under dog, and for the games I play I don't need anything faster.

Putting a water block onto my 64 ties into the rest of my build, and cost is something I don't consider on some parts of my PC's nor is power usage.

T1
Is that hot spot reading Vega only or applicable to all?
__________________
| Asrock z170 Extreme7+ | i7 6700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX | 2x Strix 1080 Ti OC | 1x 500GB 850 Evo M.2 + 2x 1TB MX300 M.2 | HX850i | EKWB Custom Loop | X34 |Caselabs S8
Custom White w/ Red Internals
jpw007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 1:45 PM   #4082
Unframed
Member
 
Unframed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hella south west
Posts: 8,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terroristone View Post
ive said it twice in here now. Do a log with the new gpuz, and check that hot spot reading.

Unframed - Was yours at stock settings when it hard locked??

The reason I went with AMD is I have a freesync monitor, and id prefer to support the under dog, and for the games I play I don't need anything faster.

Putting a water block onto my 64 ties into the rest of my build, and cost is something I don't consider on some parts of my PC's nor is power usage.

T1
Already said, hot spot showed 90 degrees before shutdown.

It was set to turbo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpw007 View Post
Ah got ya. I'd be hesitant to throw AMD under the bus either and i'm sure is just bad luck on your part. Bugger that it had to happen to you.

Is that hot spot reading Vega only or applicable to all?
Not throwing them under the bus, it's disheartening though given the amount of cash I spent on it.

Vega exclusive sensor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
are you certain it's the card initiating this shutdown? Seems very odd, and a very low temp to initiate a shutdown at all
Hotspot was over 90 degrees. Also all temps were being monitored. CPU was around 40 degrees. Mobo was 35 degrees.
__________________
CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker | AMD R7 1700 w/ Masterliquid 240 | ASRock X370 Fatal1ty | Sapphire RX Vega 64 Liquid | Samsung 840 120GB, Kingston Savage 480GB, Samsung 840 Evo 240GB, 2x 3TB Seagate | 64GB G.Skill 2400MHz | SteelSeries Apex M500/SteelSeries Rival 700 | Enermax Revolution87+ 1000W | LG 34UM88C, 2x Dell U2211H

Last edited by Unframed; 14th September 2017 at 1:49 PM.
Unframed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 1:50 PM   #4083
darkbastard
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Duranbah - near Kingsclif
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamsleath View Post
nice loop thats exactly what im saving for


Thanks
__________________
Beer is my friend!
darkbastard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 2:10 PM   #4084
terroristone
Member
 
terroristone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melb 3030
Posts: 1,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
Already said, hot spot showed 90 degrees before shutdown.

It was set to turbo.
yeah i did read that, was just reinforcing others to do it so we can all some kind of guide as to what is normal...

Are you able to try to replicate it in another machine? maybe put it in a friends machine just to be sure.

T1
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by knowskillz View Post
I'm supposed to save for a new house! fk it I'll just live in my computer case
Haswell 4790k@4.5 - MSI Z97 GAMING 5- GSKILL 2933 - MSI VEGA 64 WATER - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 - ACER XR341CK - AX1500I - CUSTOM HARD TUBE WATERCOOLED GPU&CPU - 750D - NIGHTHAWK X9 - G502
System Pic
terroristone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 2:43 PM   #4085
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
Already said, hot spot showed 90 degrees before shutdown.

It was set to turbo.



Not throwing them under the bus, it's disheartening though given the amount of cash I spent on it.

Vega exclusive sensor.



Hotspot was over 90 degrees. Also all temps were being monitored. CPU was around 40 degrees. Mobo was 35 degrees.

Yah, well I'm sure my 56 hovers around high 80s on this sensor. I can't see 90c being problematic, not can I see AMD GPU driver or Bios initiating a machine shutdown
__________________
On the Bench: Ryzen 7 1700 - ASUS Prime X370 Pro - 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4-3200
Main:
Ryzen 7 1800x - Crosshair VI Hero - 16GB G.SKill DDR4-3333 - ASUS 1080Ti FE - Custom water - Be-Quiet Silent Base
Ryzen OC / Owners Thread
mAJORD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 2:50 PM   #4086
jpw007
Member
 
jpw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
Not throwing them under the bus, it's disheartening though given the amount of cash I spent on it.

Vega exclusive sensor.
Sorry, meant that i wouldn't throw them under the bus in my mind. I've still got faith in them that it's an isolated incident
__________________
| Asrock z170 Extreme7+ | i7 6700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX | 2x Strix 1080 Ti OC | 1x 500GB 850 Evo M.2 + 2x 1TB MX300 M.2 | HX850i | EKWB Custom Loop | X34 |Caselabs S8
Custom White w/ Red Internals
jpw007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 3:20 PM   #4087
Unframed
Member
 
Unframed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hella south west
Posts: 8,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terroristone View Post
yeah i did read that, was just reinforcing others to do it so we can all some kind of guide as to what is normal...

Are you able to try to replicate it in another machine? maybe put it in a friends machine just to be sure.

T1

Nope, all my other PCs are rackmount and not WC friendly.

I've done some testing.
Originally thought it was PSU, quick PSU tester run showed adequate power.
Primary monitor now flickers after first crash (on all sources but HDMI its far more subtle).
Checked CPU stats and temps in BIOS, set fan speed higher just in case.
Got into OS, updated GPU-Z and updated to the beta drivers. Monitored temps while running heaven bench. Once Hotspot ticked over 90 system shut down.
__________________
CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker | AMD R7 1700 w/ Masterliquid 240 | ASRock X370 Fatal1ty | Sapphire RX Vega 64 Liquid | Samsung 840 120GB, Kingston Savage 480GB, Samsung 840 Evo 240GB, 2x 3TB Seagate | 64GB G.Skill 2400MHz | SteelSeries Apex M500/SteelSeries Rival 700 | Enermax Revolution87+ 1000W | LG 34UM88C, 2x Dell U2211H
Unframed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 3:31 PM   #4088
terroristone
Member
 
terroristone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melb 3030
Posts: 1,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
Nope, all my other PCs are rackmount and not WC friendly.

I've done some testing.
Originally thought it was PSU, quick PSU tester run showed adequate power.
Primary monitor now flickers after first crash (on all sources but HDMI its far more subtle).
Checked CPU stats and temps in BIOS, set fan speed higher just in case.
Got into OS, updated GPU-Z and updated to the beta drivers. Monitored temps while running heaven bench. Once Hotspot ticked over 90 system shut down.

Ek block or lc edition?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by knowskillz View Post
I'm supposed to save for a new house! fk it I'll just live in my computer case
Haswell 4790k@4.5 - MSI Z97 GAMING 5- GSKILL 2933 - MSI VEGA 64 WATER - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 - ACER XR341CK - AX1500I - CUSTOM HARD TUBE WATERCOOLED GPU&CPU - 750D - NIGHTHAWK X9 - G502
System Pic
terroristone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 3:35 PM   #4089
partybear
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ballarat, Victoria
Posts: 776
Default

The vega liquid cooled bios has a very low temperature shutoff compared to the other bios. I don't remember the exact numbers but give it a quick google the liquid bios has a lower temp limit. So it is possible that his shut down at that temp.
partybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 3:36 PM   #4090
Unframed
Member
 
Unframed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hella south west
Posts: 8,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terroristone View Post
Ek block or lc edition?
LC edition
__________________
CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker | AMD R7 1700 w/ Masterliquid 240 | ASRock X370 Fatal1ty | Sapphire RX Vega 64 Liquid | Samsung 840 120GB, Kingston Savage 480GB, Samsung 840 Evo 240GB, 2x 3TB Seagate | 64GB G.Skill 2400MHz | SteelSeries Apex M500/SteelSeries Rival 700 | Enermax Revolution87+ 1000W | LG 34UM88C, 2x Dell U2211H
Unframed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 3:46 PM   #4091
DarkSnipa
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by partybear View Post
The vega liquid cooled bios has a very low temperature shutoff compared to the other bios. I don't remember the exact numbers but give it a quick google the liquid bios has a lower temp limit. So it is possible that his shut down at that temp.
75C shutoff temp according to Buildzoid on youtube, good bios to flash if you going to watercool the card. Vega WC throttles at 65C if I am not mistaken, not too sure if the bios makes Vega throttle too if liquid temp goes over 60C.
__________________
Z270 TUF Mark 1 - i7 7700k - 64GB Corsair LPX RAM - 2x Nvidia Titan X (Pascal) - Samsung 960 Pro 512GB - Samsung 850 EVO 2TB - EVGA Supernova 1200 P2 - EKWB custom watercooling
DarkSnipa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 3:49 PM   #4092
jpw007
Member
 
jpw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkSnipa View Post
75C shutoff temp according to Buildzoid on youtube, good bios to flash if you going to watercool the card. Vega WC throttles at 65C if I am not mistaken, not too sure if the bios makes Vega throttle too if liquid temp goes over 60C.
It should throttle since generally pumps themselves are cooled by the water running through it so too high of a temp would cause pump failure
__________________
| Asrock z170 Extreme7+ | i7 6700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX | 2x Strix 1080 Ti OC | 1x 500GB 850 Evo M.2 + 2x 1TB MX300 M.2 | HX850i | EKWB Custom Loop | X34 |Caselabs S8
Custom White w/ Red Internals
jpw007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 10:24 PM   #4093
riot123
Member
 
riot123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 58
Default

Well replaced the vega 56 stock cooler with rajintek morpheus II.

No longer is it sounding like a leaf blower.
riot123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 11:33 PM   #4094
buellersdayoff
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkbastard View Post
This is maybe not the ideal place to post this but ...

This is my system atm - Ryzen 1700 at 4.0ghz on a CH6 with Gskil ram at 3333mhz and a EVGA 1070FE.

pix

My Vega64 is due to arrive before the weekend with an EK block.

The current case is a Fractal Design Define S which as you can see is pretty ok for my 360 and 240 rads.

BUT I now also have an Enthoo Primo and some more Phanteks fans.

Will it be worth transplanting my entire system and replumbing my watercooling (keeping in mind this is my first ever loop) into the Primo. Will there be any benefit??. I could add another 240 rad that I have lying around if I do so but ....

I had planned to keep the primo for another build either coffee lake or somesuch but not sure how the fundage will work for that so I am all over the shop

Very excited about the Vega 64 though and glad I ordered the block. Will need some help on getting the Liquid cooled bios on it though.

Thoughts anyone - is the primo going to help cooling over the define S?? etc etc
On the top rad do you have one fan blowing the opposite direction to the other two, or is it just my eyes?
buellersdayoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2017, 5:49 AM   #4095
darkbastard
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Duranbah - near Kingsclif
Posts: 225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buellersdayoff View Post
On the top rad do you have one fan blowing the opposite direction to the other two, or is it just my eyes?


It has since been fixed, but yes in that pic one fan is installed backwards..........

Not my greatest moment
__________________
Beer is my friend!
darkbastard is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
vega, wait

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!