Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th September 2017, 11:32 AM   #1
dmr Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 147
Exclamation Do people still use RAID cards? Whats the best atm

I use RAID. I love it. However trying to pickup some new cards and all the info out there seems to be dated from years ago.

I've always used LSI MegaRaid /Adaptec cards, however is there particular brand/model people are recommending these days?

Looking for ease of use during rebuilds and features. Will most likely use it for RAID1/RAID10 only.

Looking for a RAID card that isn't proprietary. For example, if 2 HD's in a RAID-1 setup on a PC fail, I am still able to get the working HD out, stick it into a normal PC and use it alone... Right now, you can't do that with some brands as they use their own RAID software.
dmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 6:43 PM   #2
McRutch
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 205
Default

I still like adaptec, but that's a big fat no to being able to put the HD's into a normal PC
__________________
5960X | ASUS x99e | GTX 1070 | Norco 4224 | Samsung 950 Pro M.2 | Acer Predator XB271HU
McRutch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 6:58 PM   #3
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 16,120
Default

imo, their use case is pretty narrow now.

I prefer HBA's and software defined storage.
NSanity is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 7:04 PM   #4
hairy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 415
Default

areca is a good high end brand but allas I had one fail.
not much call for raid cards these days.
__________________
antec skeleton, msi gaming m5, 6700k, 32 gig 3200 ram, gtx 1080ti sli, hb bridge, cm 280 aio, 500gig 950pro, 750gb crucial ssd, 43inch phillips and 24 inch aoc monitors. server dual xeon quads, 48gig ram, 5x3tb and 2x1tb, hx850, lianli case, freenas.
hairy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 9:44 PM   #5
fredhoon
Member
 
fredhoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmr View Post
Looking for ease of use during rebuilds and features. Will most likely use it for RAID1/RAID10 only.

Looking for a RAID card that isn't proprietary. For example, if 2 HD's in a RAID-1 setup on a PC fail, I am still able to get the working HD out, stick it into a normal PC and use it alone... Right now, you can't do that with some brands as they use their own RAID software.
Is there a reason you "need" a hardware RAID card for RAID 1 or 10, do you want to boot off the RAID array?

Softraid via a HBA or AHCI Data ports provides the flexibility you desire with minimal (if any) performance penalty for RAID1 / 10 compared to a hardware RAID card.


Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
imo, their use case is pretty narrow now.

I prefer HBA's and software defined storage.
Agreed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
Does your Agile Full Stack Token Ring Dev role include your research into ideas that were stupid 30 years ago and are still stupid today?
go soothingly on the grease mud as they're lurks a skid demon
fredhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 9:54 PM   #6
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
imo, their use case is pretty narrow now.

I prefer HBA's and software defined storage.
Agreed. Haven't turned to hardware RAID in close to 10 years now for my own needs.
elvis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 1:16 AM   #7
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,123
Default

For RAID10 I would just get a cheap Highpoint card. They double as HBAs when you're done with them too.
LSI cards tend to have horrible performance in RAID10 mode but 0/1 are fine.
But yeah, most motherboards do RAID10 just fine.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 7:58 AM   #8
Dr Evil
Member
 
Dr Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,833
Default

LSI 9261-8i with 2x Intel expanders in RAID6 (Server) & then LSI 9211-8i for RAID0 (Main system)
__________________
Main Rig..
Setup: One & Two
Intel 3930k @ 5Ghz | ASUS Rampage IV Extreme | 32GB DDR3 G.Skill Trident-X 2400 | 2-Way SLI EVGA GTX 1080 SC ACX | 6x 512GB SSD RAID0 | 80TB+ HDD's | LSI 9261-8i RAID Controller *2 Intel Expanders | IBM M1115 RAID Controller | Corsair AX1500i | CaseLabs SMH10 | Dell U3011
Dr Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 5:06 PM   #9
dmr Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 147
Default

I was under the assumption hardware raid1 was always faster than software raid1?
whats the best raid software everyone is using now? I want to avoid using the M/B raid because if my mobo dies, I'll most likely need to source the same mobo to get my system back up again?
dmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 6:07 PM   #10
fredhoon
Member
 
fredhoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,067
Default

What are you using it for - Win desktop, linux desktop, server/nas?

Setup softraid in the OS such that you're not tied to any hardware - e.g. in windows you can use dynamic disks (as long as you are not booting off them), in linux use mdadm or ZFS, for a NAS the world's your oyster.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
Does your Agile Full Stack Token Ring Dev role include your research into ideas that were stupid 30 years ago and are still stupid today?
go soothingly on the grease mud as they're lurks a skid demon
fredhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 6:33 PM   #11
^catalyst
Member
 
^catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 11,570
Default

Yeah if you want really fast local boot storage get and SSD, if you want a fast lump of accessible storage then a NAS with software raid is the go; can even rig it up over something faster than GbE if you really need it.
^catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 8:01 PM   #12
dmr Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 147
Default

desktop

I think Im gonna use stablebit.com/DrivePool + Scanner
dmr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 9:57 PM   #13
fredhoon
Member
 
fredhoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,067
Default

If your're now looking at JBOD with redundancy, instead of RAD10 then also checkout SnapRAID.

http://www.snapraid.it/compare.html
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
Does your Agile Full Stack Token Ring Dev role include your research into ideas that were stupid 30 years ago and are still stupid today?
go soothingly on the grease mud as they're lurks a skid demon
fredhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 10:02 PM   #14
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,123
Default

Or FlexRAID if you want a solution like UNRAID under Windows.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 11:12 PM   #15
Annihilator69
Member
 
Annihilator69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Perth
Posts: 5,980
Default

RAID-1 you generally can just stick into a normal PC if needed though.
__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz || Gigabyte Z68X-UD5-B3 || 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600mhz CL7 || Nvidia MSI 1080 || Samsung 256GB 850Pro + Samsung 500GB 850 Evo + Toshiba 2TB 7200|| 35" Benq XR3501 Ultrawide
OCAU Extreme Cooling Club HO Member
Koolance 370, Bix3, XSPC R9 290 Full Cover Block, Swiftech MCP-350 Pump
Trades List
Annihilator69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!