Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd May 2017, 9:42 AM   #16
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reins View Post
I second this!
https://www.asus.com/au/Motherboards/Z170-AR/

This is my Motherboard, I dont see any other power connection on it apart from the main one and the one in the top left. Or should i be running some type of y connection?

One thing i could try is switching the 12v from multi rail to common rail?

Though it does seem as if its still powering everything just hangs before it gets to the bios stage.
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 7th June 2017, 10:26 PM   #17
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Ended up ordering a new Motherboard and the issue is now resolved.

Had an ASUS Z170-AR replaced it with an ASUS Z270-AR. Im guessing something failed on the Motherboard guess I would be wasting my time rying to get my money back, very frustrating but hey, its going now, just have to tidy up all the wiring again and its as good as new.
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2017, 6:44 AM   #18
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 125,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killer_Minion View Post
Had an ASUS Z170-AR replaced it with an ASUS Z270-AR. Im guessing something failed on the Motherboard guess I would be wasting my time rying to get my money back
Only 6 months old, try RMA'ing it.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2017, 7:21 AM   #19
kesawi
Member
 
kesawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,629
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killer_Minion View Post
Had an ASUS Z170-AR replaced it with an ASUS Z270-AR. Im guessing something failed on the Motherboard guess I would be wasting my time rying to get my money back, very frustrating but hey, its going now, just have to tidy up all the wiring again and its as good as new.
It's worth trying. I'm​ having my motherboard replaced despite being 4 months out of the manufacturer's 12 month warranty. MSI and the vendor accepted my claim under a statutory warranty. It didn't take much effort, but then the store I bought it from was very helpful rather than adversarial.
__________________
Main: i7-3770K@4.3GHz, Gigabyte GTX970 G1, Fractal R5 VM Lab: Intel Xeon E3-1240 v3, Intel Server Board S1200V3RPL, Norco RPC-230
NAS: Synology DS1513+, 3 x Hitachi HGST 3.5 NAS 3TB 0S03662 PDC: Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH Firewall: Netgate SG-8860
kesawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2017, 2:22 PM   #20
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kesawi View Post
It's worth trying. I'm​ having my motherboard replaced despite being 4 months out of the manufacturer's 12 month warranty. MSI and the vendor accepted my claim under a statutory warranty. It didn't take much effort, but then the store I bought it from was very helpful rather than adversarial.
If I had bought it through my work account im sure they would be alot more helpful, but bought it personally. I sent them an Email explaining that it all works fine with a single GPU but stopped working with 2x GPUs and they essential told me I would be better talking to the manufacturer, so i will try that.
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!