Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th April 2017, 3:31 PM   #10921
connico
Member
 
connico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebranded View Post
That looks Like PCI ports but the N36L uses PCIe ports?
damn, thanks for checking!!
__________________
www.shoepolish.net.au
connico is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 6th April 2017, 10:24 PM   #10922
g12345567
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 649
Default

Need to replace the PCIe video card in a N36L. Currently a GT520 1gb.

Whats the best value card to get these days that will fit into the case for use with a HTPC media player setup.
__________________
Intel® Core™ i5-2500 | Asus P8Z68-V LX | 2 x 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600Mhz (F3-12800CL10D-16GBXL) | Asus Dual OC GTX 1070 video card | 1 x Toshiba 6tb SATA III | 1 x Hitachi 2tb SATA III | 1 x Seagate 1.5tb | Corsair HX650 - 650 Watt 80 PLUS® Gold Modular PSU | Antec Core 3000 Case | Samsung BD SH-B123A blu-ray rom | Lite-on iHAS324 DVD | Dell U2515H 2560x1440 LCD | Logitech Elite Multimedia Keyboard and G400 Gaming Mouse | Xbox 360 wireless game controller

Last edited by g12345567; 7th April 2017 at 10:57 AM.
g12345567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2017, 9:02 PM   #10923
martini.txt
Member
 
martini.txt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: YouTube / Brisbane
Posts: 3,974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martini.txt View Post
Oh this thread is a thing..

Recently changed my microserver over from freenas zfs to ubuntu, reckon I can install zfs into ubuntu and reattach a mirror?
The answer was yes, btw.
__________________
YouTube twitch.tv
Rig - 6700k - Maelstrom 240 - ROG Gene VIII - STRIX 1080 - 16gb DDR4 - TT Core P3
Boop - ATH-A700X - Yeti Blackout
Micro - HP N40L w/ Ubuntu, Sickrage, Plex, Deluge
Garage - Honda Hornet 900 & Fiesta ST & BF XR6 Turbo
martini.txt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2017, 8:59 AM   #10924
resonance
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vic
Posts: 478
Default

I've been using an Odroid C2 (Raspberry Pi-esque SoC) as a Kodi media player. It does x265 happily, running OpenElec. I have a FreeBSD server with zfs drives and the Kodi connects to it via nfs which is much faster than samba. Maybe you guys could do something like that with the HP boxes.

It doesn't do hardware accel vp9 though, which is better then x265 in some ways. But that's ok.

I'm waiting for the Gen8 to go on sale to the 200-250 mark then I'll get one and put freebsd on that. People have had issues with that though. The hardware will be an upgrade on what I have now.
resonance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2017, 9:10 AM   #10925
MUTMAN
Member
 
MUTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: brisvegas
Posts: 4,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by resonance View Post
...I'm waiting for the Gen8 to go on sale to the 200-250 mark then I'll get one...

HP ML10 V2 goes for $160 from time to time
warehouse1 and shoppingexpress seems to be the best price for them ....
MUTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2017, 9:46 AM   #10926
resonance
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vic
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUTMAN View Post
HP ML10 V2 goes for $160 from time to time
warehouse1 and shoppingexpress seems to be the best price for them ....
Yeah, that price is hard to beat for what you get! I was really interested in a Bitfenix ITX case someone has in the trading forums atm, with psu would be ~$140. But then I'd have to add $100 mobo + $100 cpu + RAM. ITX stuff ain't cheap. All up it's better to go a Gen8 for $250-300 if/when they are on sale next. Occasionally ebay do 20% off too. warehouse1 are the ones who have had the Gen8 for $239 in the past. Just need to keep an eye on ozbargain.
resonance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2017, 2:56 PM   #10927
MUTMAN
Member
 
MUTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: brisvegas
Posts: 4,318
Default

dont forget the G8 is a bastard to squeeze extra drives in and the ML10 has 6 sata ports stock

small is good, ML10 vs G8
H x W x D
ml10 - 368 x 175 x 475
G8 - 232 x 230 x 245
not a massive difference ...
dont get me wrong, love my G8 its a workhorse
MUTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2017, 12:29 PM   #10928
-Sk3tChY-
Member
 
-Sk3tChY-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NSW, In a house.
Posts: 3,864
Default

I've got an N54L that I've literally had sitting around for a good 3+ years doing nothing, which I'm finally going to build now.

I've already got 16GB of ECC RAM installed and updated the BIOS to the latest (?) version - 2013.10.01 (A).

I currently have it running Windows Server 2012 R2 without any noticeable issues, but may ultimately update this to Windows Server 2016.

I've purchased 4 x 10TB Ironwolf drives and plan on setting them up in RAID6 for about 18TB of storage and a comfortable amount of redundancy.

I'm just wondering, what would be my best options for RAID? Which RAID card would provide me with the best setup and value for money?

I believe the on-board RAID only allows for RAID0 or RAID1, so this wouldn't be suitable.

I'm also aware that I could go with a software RAID setup using something like Linux + MDADM or FreeNAS + ZFS, but at least least for the moment I'd like to have the server running Windows Server so I can actually use it for other things.

To my knowledge, the best thing I can get could would be one of the HP Smart Array Controllers? Would anyone have any recommendations on a specific model number?

I'm guessing due to the hardware being rather old now, it would be a waste of time going for one of the newer HP Smart Array Conntrollers - so what would be the most suitable? A P410? (I believe I need some sort of HP Smart Array Advanced Pack (SAAP) firmware to do RAID6?)

If I were to purchase a RAID card capable of SATAIII (6Gbit/s) would this allow me to essentially update the transfer speed of the SATA ports built-in to the server?

I vaguely remember people using LSI/RocketRaid cards, but from memory this was because at the time the HP Smart Array stuff costed significantly more - but if one of these would be better, happy to go with one.

FYI - I'm happy with spending up to about $200ish on the card.

Any recommendations much appreciated, I've waited long enough to build this thing - so hoping to have it all together very soon.
__________________
| Main Rig | i5-2500K @ 4.326Ghz | CM 212+ | Sabertooth P67 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648Mhz | Asus GTX960 Strix DirectCU II OC 4GB | Silverstone ST75F-P | Fractal Design Define R3 | 2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256GB in RAID0 | 3 x Dell U2412M |

Last edited by -Sk3tChY-; 18th April 2017 at 1:12 PM.
-Sk3tChY- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2017, 12:54 PM   #10929
Mace
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Canberra
Posts: 418
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Sk3tChY- View Post
I've got an N54L that I've literally had sitting around for a good 3+ years doing nothing, which I'm finally going to build now.

I've already got 16GB of ECC RAM installed and updated the BIOS to the latest (?) version - 2013.10.01 (A).

I currently have it running Windows Server 2012 R2 without any noticeable issues, but may ultimately update this to Windows Server 2016.

I've purchased 4 x 10TB Ironwolf drives and plan on setting them up in RAID6 for about 18TB of storage and a comfortable amount of redundancy.

I'm just wondering, what would be my best options for RAID? Which RAID card would provide me with the best setup and value for money?

I believe there is some sort of on-board RAID capabilities, which I'm fine with if it can do RAID6 and is actually reliable? (Performance isn't a major concern as this will be mostly cold storage.)

I'm also aware that I could go with a software RAID setup using something like Linux + MDADM or FreeNAS + ZFS, but at least least for the moment I'd like to have the server running Windows Server so I can actually use it for other things.

To my knowledge, the best thing I can get could would be one of the HP Smart Array Controllers? Would anyone have any recommendations on a specific model number?

I'm guessing due to the hardware being rather old now, it would be a waste of time going for one of the newer HP Smart Array Conntrollers - so what would be the most suitable? A P410?

I vaguely remember people using LSI/RocketRaid cards, but from memory this was because at the time the HP Smart Array stuff costed significantly more - but if one of these would be better, happy to go with one.

Any reommendations much appreciated, I've waited long enough to build this thing - so hoping to have it all together very soon.
Not knowing much about RAID 6 I googled it.
http://searchstorage.techtarget.com/...D-6-vs-RAID-10
RAID 6 with 4 drives is not much advantage over RAID 10 with 4 drives and would require a dedicated card.
Your N54L will do RAID 1 or RAID 0
But according to Post 7 here will not like RAID 10.
http://www.edugeek.net/forums/hardwa...tml#post775861
Anybody done RAID 10 with success?

My personal setup I have mentioned earlier, I did away with RAID and just have two 8TB drives using scheduled SyncToy overnight. This pretty much only stores media so nothing mission critical or very speed heavy on the network. In the event of failure, I can remove the drives and they will just work in Windows. No rebuilding of a RAID.

Have fun with it. I like the unit a lot.
Mace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2017, 2:16 PM   #10930
cbb1935
Unregistered / Not Logged In
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Have any of you guys had problems with the Xeon Microservers and WD Gold drives?

They are the only hardware different from the factory.

I'm onto my SECOND one, which is failing with the same "User Initiated NMI Switch" error, causing the machine to crash out after 3-5 hours (even without an OS on it, and when running Insight Diagnostics).

First one HP agreed the motherboard was probably the issue. It was replaced with another motherboard, and the REPLACEMENT motherboard was buggered as well (was bios looping and temp sensor was faulty).

I got it deemed a DOA and replaced with a new unit with similar serial number (suspected same batch).

This one has exactly the same issue.

BIOS on defaults, BIOS reset as well, left BOG standard, taking out, hard drives installed, and booted into Intelligent Provisioning. Run the Insight Diagnostics, leave overnight, and in the morning it's bombed out again with "User Initiated NMI Switch".

It's doing my head in.

I've narrowed it down to testing hard drives, but cannot see how they could trigger this problem.

Anyone else had similar issues, or using WD Gold/RE drives with a Xeon Microserver without problems?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2017, 7:18 PM   #10931
oceang
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Sk3tChY- View Post
I've got an N54L that I've literally had sitting around for a good 3+ years doing nothing, which I'm finally going to build now.
Not sure what your use case is.

My reaction if a home user is to ask a couple of questions.

What is your availability requirement? Do you have your offsite requirements covered?

For most home users RAID is not necessary. Does not provide a backup just covers media failure.

If I had 4 x 10TB drives. I would look at leaving them unraided and duplicating the critical directories (read unreplaceable and must keep) offsite.

In my case, I use WS 2016 Essentials (was 2012 R2 Essentials) and Stablebit Drivepool. I duplicate a small number of directories using Drivepool and then use a mixture of Crashplan and Robocopy to offsite the rest of my data artifacts. In addition, I backup the system environment, including my client backups and take that backup offsite every 4 weeks or so.

If I had 40TB of raw disk, I would not use it the way you are proposing.

BTW, I had a N54L, now ML10V2.

.
__________________
2 x HP ML10v2 - Windows Server 2016 Essentials, Stablebit Drivepool, and Windows Server 2016 Backup
HP N54L - Windows 10 Pro with Mediaportal / Kodi,
Desktop DIY 2500K and Surface Pro, Windows 10 Pro
8 Windows 10 Pro Clients, Over 10 trades on OCAU
oceang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2017, 8:05 PM   #10932
domsmith
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 192
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Sk3tChY- View Post
I've got an N54L that I've literally had sitting around for a good 3+ years doing nothing, which I'm finally going to build now.

I've already got 16GB of ECC RAM installed and updated the BIOS to the latest (?) version - 2013.10.01 (A).

I currently have it running Windows Server 2012 R2 without any noticeable issues, but may ultimately update this to Windows Server 2016.

I've purchased 4 x 10TB Ironwolf drives and plan on setting them up in RAID6 for about 18TB of storage and a comfortable amount of redundancy.

I'm just wondering, what would be my best options for RAID? Which RAID card would provide me with the best setup and value for money?
Get a LSI SAS 9211-8i

Then disconnect the SAS connector that's connecting the current 4 drives and attach it to the card instead of the motherboard.

Then you can buy a separate SAS to 4 SATA cables and plug an additional two drives in the top of the case

You will also need a power splitter to power the additional hard drives. You will need to purchase a mounting kit like the one I used https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nexus-Antiv.../dp/B001AZHS04

I am not sure about the RAID abilities of the card but if you flash the card to IT bios version 18 or above then it should function quite nicely with ZFS RAIDZ2

All drives will be seen as sata drives and if you use freenas you can use the internal usb port to install freenas on.

Last edited by domsmith; 19th April 2017 at 8:12 PM.
domsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2017, 4:14 PM   #10933
wild
Member
 
wild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 1,539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domsmith View Post
Get a LSI SAS 9211-8i

Then disconnect the SAS connector that's connecting the current 4 drives and attach it to the card instead of the motherboard.

Then you can buy a separate SAS to 4 SATA cables and plug an additional two drives in the top of the case

You will also need a power splitter to power the additional hard drives. You will need to purchase a mounting kit like the one I used https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nexus-Antiv.../dp/B001AZHS04

I am not sure about the RAID abilities of the card but if you flash the card to IT bios version 18 or above then it should function quite nicely with ZFS RAIDZ2

All drives will be seen as sata drives and if you use freenas you can use the internal usb port to install freenas on.
I had an almost identical setup to this, but used a HighPoint RocketRAID 2720SGL card. Was using Windows rather than FreeNAS though, not sure what Highpoint's FreeBSD compatibility is like.
__________________
Mikuru is out of the picture.
UGBox.net - imagestore, quotes & more!
wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2017, 4:50 PM   #10934
htpcfan
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 610
Default

installed a PCI-E USB 3.0 card last week (cost me $20 from MSY, has an NEC chipset) - quite a bit of fiddling around making a molex power cable extender to go from the CDROM area down to the PCI-E card but it just worked with Xpenology with no issues.

Now my friends who like to give me USB 3 HDDs can grab their newest linux ISOs a lot quicker.
htpcfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2017, 11:15 PM   #10935
The Mafia
Member
 
The Mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mackay
Posts: 1,462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domsmith View Post
Get a LSI SAS 9211-8i

Then disconnect the SAS connector that's connecting the current 4 drives and attach it to the card instead of the motherboard.

Then you can buy a separate SAS to 4 SATA cables and plug an additional two drives in the top of the case

You will also need a power splitter to power the additional hard drives. You will need to purchase a mounting kit like the one I used https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nexus-Antiv.../dp/B001AZHS04

I am not sure about the RAID abilities of the card but if you flash the card to IT bios version 18 or above then it should function quite nicely with ZFS RAIDZ2

All drives will be seen as sata drives and if you use freenas you can use the internal usb port to install freenas on.
Hey mate. I have the LSI 8i card and the HP clone. For some reason my test server won't bott with the HP card. The LSI card boots *sometimes* and when it does all network ports are no longer detected.

Once I got it up and running, (used a USB 3 network adapter) I installed 4x 3TB hard disks, and 2x 120gig Intel 330 SSDs, and a single random 120gig to boot off using the onboard single SATA connector.

Now I'm not sure if the Server itself has shit itself, or it's the card because when I started the server bare with no cards it go stuck in a reboot loop. After it preposted it would reboot.

Once I got it running and booting with the LSI card I installed Server2016 and set up tiered storage spaces via powershell.

Now we all know windows software parity is absolute shit. (200meg /sec reads, 30meg/sec writes)

With tiered storage (SSD mirror, and HDD parity), I was getting 800-1100meg/sec Reads, and 500meg/sec writes. It was as fast as hell.

Then I formatted the boot drive and installed windows 10. It detected the existing storage space and worked 100%.

Then I deleted the storage space, and recreated it in Windows 10 using the same powershell commands again, and it works exactly the same.

I'm just in the process of working out how I can make windows send me an email when a disk fails. I'm thinking a powershell command that runs every 30mins and if it returns a bad value to send an email.

I'll also get it to send me a report once per week just for shits and giggles.

So yes, Windows 10 supports tiered storage.

Also, how many of you are using the HP provisioning to set up windows 10 if you are using it as the OS? It works fine and installs all drivers thinking you are setting up server 2016.

You can also download and run the HP smart update manager within windows and update all of your firmware and drivers automatically.

If anyone is interested in the powershell commands let me know. I could do with some help understanding a few of them.

One more thing, to make the tiered storage spaces almost bullet proof, there are a couple of extras you can do.

1. Buy 2x SSDs with capacitors. Intel lists all of theirs that do and the Intel 320 SSD is a cheap one that does. I'm going to use 2x 240gig Skull trail SSDs. If you lose power, the SSDs have enough capacitor to flush their caches to flash.

2. Tiered storage spaces supports REFS. It's pretty tough. Recovers from almost anything so another bonus.


Just my experiences, if you have any input, I would love to hear it.
__________________
.
.
Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy you casino chips, drugs and hookers, which is pretty much happiness anyway.
The Mafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
microserver

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 8:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!