Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Video Cards & Monitors

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th September 2017, 7:15 AM   #1
aussie-revhead Thread Starter
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St Clair 2759
Posts: 18,792
Default KVM for display port?

Guys, I have been using a KVM for years, it's an Aten DVI KVM rated for 120hz over DVI but new monitors need display port to get the super high clocks, so what can I use as a KVM for this type of setup?

Any help would be great.

__________________
Bench 1- Asus Rampage 5 Extreme - Intel 5960x - 32gb of 3200c16 DDR4- 1x Galax GTX1080 Ti HOF - Samsung 960 Evo + Intel 600P m.2 512GB - Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 100Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Netbox - Dell 990 SFF - 2500 - 16GB ram - gtx750Ti - 240GB SSD - 2TB green
Current vehicles- Black 2007 ZX14 - VE V8 Calais (wifes car) - VN SS (for sale)
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2017, 7:27 AM   #2
havabeer
Member
 
havabeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,843
Default

What do you use the kvm for?
__________________
Current rig: CPU i7 5960X - Mobo MSI x99 pro carbon - GPU 2x Titan X (pascal) - Ram 16gig DDR4 2666 G*skill - Case Custom little devil V8 - Monitor Phillips 40" 4k
Cooling - Custom water loop - 360 rad x 2 - 480 x 1 - acrylic hard tube
havabeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2017, 8:59 AM   #3
aussie-revhead Thread Starter
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St Clair 2759
Posts: 18,792
Default

I have a daily PC that stays long term and a gamer / bencher that changes parts often, so I like to use the one keyboard, mouse and monitor for both computers.

__________________
Bench 1- Asus Rampage 5 Extreme - Intel 5960x - 32gb of 3200c16 DDR4- 1x Galax GTX1080 Ti HOF - Samsung 960 Evo + Intel 600P m.2 512GB - Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 100Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Netbox - Dell 990 SFF - 2500 - 16GB ram - gtx750Ti - 240GB SSD - 2TB green
Current vehicles- Black 2007 ZX14 - VE V8 Calais (wifes car) - VN SS (for sale)
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2017, 9:24 AM   #4
jpw007
Member
 
jpw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,650
Default

Logitech have just released a keyboard that's got it's own built in channels for changing to different PC's and they also have a mouse that does the same.

Can't confirm the models sorry, but they could be very good options?

Though you mentioned DVI so perhaps you share monitor too so i'm no help there i guess. Unless your montior has multiple inputs and you jsut have a cord for each PC/GPU?
__________________
| Asrock z170 Extreme7+ | i7 6700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX | 2x Strix 1080 Ti OC | 1x 500GB 850 Evo M.2 + 2x 1TB MX300 M.2 | HX850i | EKWB Custom Loop | X34 |Caselabs S8
Custom White w/ Red Internals
jpw007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2017, 1:35 PM   #5
aussie-revhead Thread Starter
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St Clair 2759
Posts: 18,792
Default

Yeah I want to avoid 2 operations to switch if possible, the few monitors I have seen with multiple inputs need a few steps to switch inputs, then another for the kB/mouse .... Can't beat the single button press on the KVM.

__________________
Bench 1- Asus Rampage 5 Extreme - Intel 5960x - 32gb of 3200c16 DDR4- 1x Galax GTX1080 Ti HOF - Samsung 960 Evo + Intel 600P m.2 512GB - Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 100Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Netbox - Dell 990 SFF - 2500 - 16GB ram - gtx750Ti - 240GB SSD - 2TB green
Current vehicles- Black 2007 ZX14 - VE V8 Calais (wifes car) - VN SS (for sale)
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!