Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th August 2017, 7:12 PM   #1
ibace Thread Starter
Member
 
ibace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bathurst NSW...
Posts: 24
Default CHANGING HOW PC 'WAKES UP'

I have not long finished my new build...i7 7700K Corsair H100i MSI Mortar 48 GB Corsair Ram 256 gb Kingston SSD and MSI 1070...and as much as I have resisted the Windows 10 option up until now, I chose to run with it because of kaby lake; rather than resort to the available 'workarounds' to fool M/S and allow Win 7 updates.

Because I am so new to Win 10 I cannot figure out why my PC won't 'wake up' from sleep simply by using the mouse of tapping the keyboard, like it used to before... The only way I can get it to wake up is to hit the 'On' button...them it will wake up.

I tried looking in Power Options for a method to alter how the wake up is achieved...but haven't found a way...yet. Is there anyone familiar enough with the workings of Win 10 that will explain to me what I have to do in order to change the 'wake up' criteria to a mouse movement, or a keyboard tap?

Hope so...
__________________
Kaby Lake i7 7700K, MSI B150 Mortar, Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 16GB DDR4 2400 & 2 x 8GB DDR4 2400, Corsair H100i Water Cooling, MSI GTX 1070 Gaming 'X' 8GB, Kingston 250 GB SSD, 8TB on board Hard Drives, LG BluRay/DVD Burner powered by a Xigmatek 850 Watt Vector S Series 80Plus Silver Power Supply & housed in a smick NZXT Switch 810 White Case...Don't forget the pretty white LED lighting...it gives 9.2% more GLITZ !!
ibace is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2017, 8:47 PM   #2
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 4,602
Default

Device Manager > Power Management > Tick "Allow this device to wake the computer"

If this doesn't work then maybe your board needs to support it. I'm running the latest stable build of win10 and can wake it up by moving the mouse
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell U2011
Canon 5D Mark III | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 12:25 AM   #3
ibace Thread Starter
Member
 
ibace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bathurst NSW...
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks for your reply, and advice; I tried to follow as described but had some difficulty completing your instructions...then found the setting here; Device Manager > Mice and other pointing devices > Right Click, select Properties > Then click the Power Management Tab> Tick "Allow this device to wake the computer" .......... but this was already ticked to allow Mouse to Wake up PC...so somewhere else there's a setting...

Same location and steps to enable keyboard to wake PC as well...
__________________
Kaby Lake i7 7700K, MSI B150 Mortar, Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 16GB DDR4 2400 & 2 x 8GB DDR4 2400, Corsair H100i Water Cooling, MSI GTX 1070 Gaming 'X' 8GB, Kingston 250 GB SSD, 8TB on board Hard Drives, LG BluRay/DVD Burner powered by a Xigmatek 850 Watt Vector S Series 80Plus Silver Power Supply & housed in a smick NZXT Switch 810 White Case...Don't forget the pretty white LED lighting...it gives 9.2% more GLITZ !!
ibace is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 8:39 AM   #4
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,211
Default

I was of the understanding this was only for ps/2 devices.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 1:08 PM   #5
BurningFeetMan
Member
 
BurningFeetMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Sticks
Posts: 7,565
Default

Try different USB ports at the back of your system.

Sometimes USB ports are driven via different chipsets, and some simply won't wake up the PC like others.
__________________
This forum requires that you wait 15 seconds between posts. Please try again in 23994 seconds.
BurningFeetMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 1:34 PM   #6
RyoSaeba
Member
 
RyoSaeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 11,442
Default

Also if you plugged your keyboard/mouse into the monitor USB Port or a USB hub, it may not work as the monitor/hub may be asleep too and won't recognize input.
RyoSaeba is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2017, 7:34 PM   #7
FOTW
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 674
Default

Also go to power options - advanced power options select USB and disable USB suspend. Sometimes with USB suspend enabled the USB ports get disabled when in sleep mode.
__________________
01011001011011110111010100100000011001110110010101 10010101101011001000000011101100101001

OCAU Night Owl

OCAU Camera Club
FOTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2017, 8:08 PM   #8
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,123
Default

Also make sure any setting relating to this is also enabled in your motherboard setup.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!