Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th September 2017, 11:34 AM   #1
HannibalK1ng Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default corsair 3000mhz asrock b350

having issues with ram on an asrock b350 board
best ive set it to is 2666, anything more and it will not work....
but weird this is ive set it to 2666 stress test gaming no issues but sometimes if i reboot the PC it will post and reboot about 4-5 times, is this normal
HannibalK1ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 10:32 AM   #2
SKITZ0_000
Member
 
SKITZ0_000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tas
Posts: 920
Default

How many sticks do you have? Single sided or double sided (rank? 2x4G or 1x8G?)? Do you know what your memory chips are (Thaiphoon Burner will tell you)?

The multiple reboots is memory training, you can turn that off in the bios once you're happy and your memory is stable.

Is it the Pro4? There could be a few reasons you're having issues, the two most likely reasons are the IMC is overwhelmed by too many ranks or the default timings for the motherboard are bad, is your memory on the QVL and in the correct slots?.

An example of best case for IMC load is 2 x SR (1x8G) with worst case would be 4 x DR (2x4G) sticks. The more Mhz and tighter timings also loads up the IMC, so the more ranks you have the lower your attainable speed will likely be.

Normally you can push the IMC harder by increasing the SOC voltage (generally because it's the fabric or 'glue' causing issues) or sometimes a bit of VTT, but alas the Asrock B350 Pro4 does not have these options.
__________________

Travel, lift, trip, learn, ride.

Last edited by SKITZ0_000; 13th September 2017 at 11:12 AM.
SKITZ0_000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 12:27 PM   #3
HannibalK1ng Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

so running the Asrock AB350 Fatal1ty Gaming K4

using this Corsair ram 2x8GB running in the correct slots - cmk16gx4m2b3000c15
HannibalK1ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 12:39 PM   #4
shmity
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 877
Default

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...PzA/edit#gid=0

No one seems to have your MOBO+Ram combo there but plenty of people seem to be getting it to 2933 without any issues. Make sure your CAS is always even as well.
shmity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 1:23 PM   #5
SKITZ0_000
Member
 
SKITZ0_000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tas
Posts: 920
Default

Those are single sided Hynix M-die sticks, those particular sticks aren't on your QVL but others are.

Is your bios the latest version? If not update it.

Also are you just manually increasing the speed or are you setting XMP?

As shmity said you're probably going to want your ram as a positive number, so I would set it to 'use XMP' and bump your CAS up to 16 initially.
__________________

Travel, lift, trip, learn, ride.
SKITZ0_000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 2:27 PM   #6
HannibalK1ng Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

tried doing it manually and auto....
HannibalK1ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 3:41 PM   #7
shmity
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 877
Default

How close to the timings and voltages were you to the spreadsheet? Up the SOC voltage a little as well.
shmity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2017, 9:14 AM   #8
HannibalK1ng Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

so i set it to 2666 and changed the first part of the timing to 16 (from 15) and its now stable at this speed.

will leave it for a little now.

a new bios update came out but ill wait a few weeks to see if most are happy with it and try to update and play with the timings again
HannibalK1ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 8:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!