Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th August 2017, 1:20 PM   #1
garrydfrench Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Default Anyone know what causes this?

Hello all.
I started getting this problem some time ago and it is getting worse with every passing day. Sometimes it locks the screen and I have to log off/on to continue.
I tried a different monitor and it still happens. So it's not the monitor.
I built this system about 10-12 years ago and while I can afford to repair it, I can't afford to replace it.
My system is;
ASUS P5E M/B
Intel Core2Duo E8500 CPU
8GB DDR2 1066 RAM
2GB AMD Radeon HD 5900 Series
Various SSDs & HDDs



garrydfrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 1:23 PM   #2
guy.incogneto
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,087
Default

If it's not the cable. It's the gfx card artifacting

Try on board (Mobo) monitor output to test. If that works fine, then new gfx card is needed.
Or try the oven method lol
guy.incogneto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 1:30 PM   #3
garrydfrench Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the reply.

I don't think this M/B has a on board graphics controller.

What is the oven method? I have never heard of that.
garrydfrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 1:38 PM   #4
guy.incogneto
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garrydfrench View Post
Thanks for the reply.

I don't think this M/B has a on board graphics controller.

What is the oven method? I have never heard of that.
I don't know if people still do it. But when graphics cards used to artifact. People would put them in the oven for a few minutes. Look it up, see if it's been debunked since.

I did it once and the gfx card worked again for a while
guy.incogneto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 2:02 PM   #5
Agg
Lord of the Pings
 
Agg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: A Reported Post near you
Posts: 29,183
Default

If it's a dry solder joint, heating the card can make the solder re-flow a bit and sometimes re-join the joint. But obviously it's a bit of a lottery, you might just fry the card or have no effect at all.
__________________
www.overclockers.com.au - also now on twitter and facebook.
Agg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 2:07 PM   #6
daehenoc
Member
 
daehenoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mt Gravatt E, BNE, QLD
Posts: 2,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guy.incogneto View Post
I don't know if people still do it. But when graphics cards used to artifact. People would put them in the oven for a few minutes. Look it up, see if it's been debunked since.

I did it once and the gfx card worked again for a while
Motherboards, video cards and whatnot have solder joints on them, and some solder joints are good and last ages, and some are not so good and can crack and lose the electrical connection that they are intended to keep.

Setting your oven to about 300 degrees C and cooking your motherboard/videocard/PS3 motherboard will 're-flow' some of the solder joints, i.e. melt the solder just a little bit and restore the electrical connection.

I used this method successfully on my fat PS3 twice to get it going again, when it started failing. Using this method you can damage the components built into the motherboard, so you may fix the solder joints, but wreck the motherboard anyway!

+1 to what guy.incogneto said, try another video output. Eliminate components until you can point to one thing and go 'this is broken'.

Edit: damn, Agg beat me to it!
daehenoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 2:27 PM   #7
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,229
Default

Have you pulled card/s cleaned copper contacts with Metho, dried then replaced?

What OS are you running and what drivers?
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 2:34 PM   #8
Sphinx2000
Member
 
Sphinx2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,917
Default

I would be happy if desktop components were designed to last more than 8 years, let alone 10-12.
Any feasible "repair" would consist of replacing parts - probably start with the graphics card, or at least borrow a friends if possible.
Sphinx2000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 3:58 PM   #9
garrydfrench Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Unfortunately I don't have another graphics card to try.

I just thought someone may have seen the problem before and knew the cause.

I run a dual boot system - Windows 7 & Windows 10 - on separate SSDs. The problem occurs in both.

All software/drivers (including both OS) are up to date.

Last edited by garrydfrench; 25th August 2017 at 4:01 PM.
garrydfrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 4:00 PM   #10
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 50,489
Default

check the board and gpu for popped caps, make sure the gpu fan is spinning, maybe check voltages too.

most likely candidate is gpu though.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 4:07 PM   #11
garrydfrench Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Default

I don't know what a "popped cap" is.

The fans both work fine and the temp registered in the AMD control centre is between 34-46.

I don't know how to check voltages
garrydfrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 4:31 PM   #12
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garrydfrench View Post
I don't know what a "popped cap" is.
When they start oozing their contents....

https://www.google.com.au/search?q=p...=2560&bih=1266
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 4:52 PM   #13
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,229
Default

You have tried different outputs on the Video Card?

You could also try adjusting the refresh rate of the monitor.

Normally what your are seeing is either a failing cable or Graphics card.

If you had some Thermal Interface Material (TIM) (from $5-10) you could consider stripping the card down, cleaning it up, reapplying TIM and see if that helps.



He has a bit of a potty mouth and is a bit childish but it is a condensed video, don't touch that crud either like he does as I have heard it can be carcinogenic.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 5:19 PM   #14
voltare1
Member
 
voltare1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 348
Default

If it was onboard I'd tell you your ram is faulty.
Because it's a dedicated GPUs, either the card is dying (bad vram or GPU bonding failure ,) or its overheating.
Or (maybe) your power supply is failing.
Download ubcd and run a memory test, check bios hardware monitor for sagging voltages (<11.8 for 12v and <4.8 for 5v)
__________________
---
voltare1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 8:00 PM   #15
FOTW
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 674
Default

If those images are print screens then its not the HDMI cable, as its capturing what the Graphics card is putting out to the video out ports.

Try running burn in test standard trial edition . Also try running other graphics benchmarks, uniengine or 3d mark and see if they cause this issue.

From the looks of it its a dodgey graphics card, might be time to think of a upgrade, even a nvidia 1050 or AMD RX 460 will be a large increase in performance.
__________________
01011001011011110111010100100000011001110110010101 10010101101011001000000011101100101001

OCAU Night Owl

OCAU Camera Club
FOTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!