Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Video Cards & Monitors

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th September 2017, 6:10 PM   #4066
boneburner
Member
 
boneburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,416
Default

err... yes - he was saying that because that news was posted 4 hours ago. read back a bit
__________________
Enthoo Pro M |asrock x370 Taichi | amd Ryzen 1600 | radeon Vega 56 | samsung 960 evo m.2 500g | ocz-vector 256gb | samsung 1tb spinpoint f3 | dell u2711
boneburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 6:28 PM   #4067
nope
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 868
Default

see my username
__________________
1600x @3.7 ab350 gaming k1 Fatal1ty 16gb ddr4 3200mhz @2933 1.37 so far stable Evo 960 Pro m2 ultra 1080 G1 Gaming
nope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 6:50 PM   #4068
darkbastard
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Duranbah - near Kingsclif
Posts: 226
Default

This is maybe not the ideal place to post this but ...

This is my system atm - Ryzen 1700 at 4.0ghz on a CH6 with Gskil ram at 3333mhz and a EVGA 1070FE.


Click to view full size!


My Vega64 is due to arrive before the weekend with an EK block.

The current case is a Fractal Design Define S which as you can see is pretty ok for my 360 and 240 rads.

BUT I now also have an Enthoo Primo and some more Phanteks fans.

Will it be worth transplanting my entire system and replumbing my watercooling (keeping in mind this is my first ever loop) into the Primo. Will there be any benefit??. I could add another 240 rad that I have lying around if I do so but ....

I had planned to keep the primo for another build either coffee lake or somesuch but not sure how the fundage will work for that so I am all over the shop

Very excited about the Vega 64 though and glad I ordered the block. Will need some help on getting the Liquid cooled bios on it though.

Thoughts anyone - is the primo going to help cooling over the define S?? etc etc
__________________
Beer is my friend!
darkbastard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 10:10 PM   #4069
sTeeLzor
Member
 
sTeeLzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,507
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2rQgQZLyOE

This video shows basically that your HBM Voltage in Wattman basically controls your Vcore voltage and any previous suggestions to set it to 1200 is not great.

It also tells us that setting P6/P7 state to the same value causes severe slow downs so keep that disparity up.

So with all that in mind, I set about reclocking my card and got my highest score and by far my lowest temperatures.

Firestrike Graphics 24067
P6 Speed = 1522 MHz
P6 Voltage = 1010mV
P7 Speed = 1572 MHz
P7 Voltage = 1010mV
HBM Speed = 1060 MHz
HBM Voltage = 1010mV
Power Limit = +50%

Temps ended up between 60-70 instead of maxing out at 85degC

https://imgur.com/a/5PSKW

This isnt tweaked as good as I can get it, but I have had enough tweaking for one day and cbf'd. Time to play some games.
sTeeLzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 12:09 AM   #4070
terroristone
Member
 
terroristone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melb 3030
Posts: 1,707
Default

I had boot issues when using the 64 lc bios, went back to the air 64 bios and no more issues. I never changed the volts except for adding +50. it makes sense that they reflect on each other given the ram and gpu are on one chip. Do a log with the new gpuz and also note the "gpu hot spot" in the log.

T1
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by knowskillz View Post
I'm supposed to save for a new house! fk it I'll just live in my computer case
Haswell 4790k@4.5 - MSI Z97 GAMING 5- GSKILL 2933 - MSI VEGA 64 WATER - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 - ACER XR341CK - AX1500I - CUSTOM HARD TUBE WATERCOOLED GPU&CPU - 750D - NIGHTHAWK X9 - G502
System Pic
terroristone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 4:12 AM   #4071
PRiME2007
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide Gawler
Posts: 291
Default

I find it interesting that so many people are spending money on a VEGA64 and EK water kit, this makes the card as expensive if not more so then a 1080Ti which can overclock on fan cooling quite high and do at minimal %25 faster then VEGA64.

Just seems odd to me, I hope people are happy in the long run, and hopefully AMD can improve on the drivers a fair bit so all the watercooling pays off.

EDIT: Shame to hear HBM2 can't be volted separately.

Last edited by PRiME2007; 14th September 2017 at 4:14 AM.
PRiME2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 4:58 AM   #4072
Sgt Bilko
Member
 
Sgt Bilko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canberra(ish) 2581
Posts: 735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PRiME2007 View Post
I find it interesting that so many people are spending money on a VEGA64 and EK water kit, this makes the card as expensive if not more so then a 1080Ti which can overclock on fan cooling quite high and do at minimal %25 faster then VEGA64.

Just seems odd to me, I hope people are happy in the long run, and hopefully AMD can improve on the drivers a fair bit so all the watercooling pays off.

EDIT: Shame to hear HBM2 can't be volted separately.
Temps and Noise, same reason people watercool anything (at least that's why I'm doing it)

I think your pricing it a bit off as well Vega 64 (In stock) + EK Block is $868
__________________
AMD Community Manager

Comments are my own unless stated otherwise.
Sgt Bilko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 5:44 AM   #4073
adamsleath
Member
 
adamsleath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sunnybank Q4109
Posts: 7,699
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkbastard View Post
This is maybe not the ideal place to post this but ...

This is my system atm - Ryzen 1700 at 4.0ghz on a CH6 with Gskil ram at 3333mhz and a EVGA 1070FE.

pix

My Vega64 is due to arrive before the weekend with an EK block.

The current case is a Fractal Design Define S which as you can see is pretty ok for my 360 and 240 rads.

BUT I now also have an Enthoo Primo and some more Phanteks fans.

Will it be worth transplanting my entire system and replumbing my watercooling (keeping in mind this is my first ever loop) into the Primo. Will there be any benefit??. I could add another 240 rad that I have lying around if I do so but ....

I had planned to keep the primo for another build either coffee lake or somesuch but not sure how the fundage will work for that so I am all over the shop

Very excited about the Vega 64 though and glad I ordered the block. Will need some help on getting the Liquid cooled bios on it though.

Thoughts anyone - is the primo going to help cooling over the define S?? etc etc
nice loop thats exactly what im saving for
__________________
"Sometimes in my business you have to create a value for something which really isn't there. Some people call it sales... but other people call it...Lieing" - Matchstick Men
i7 QM 22nm ivy bridge 3.2GHz . 16GB ddr3 . 7970M . Win7pro

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Right-wing_populism
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sipheren View Post
That's just my opinion and no-one has to share it nor do I need to be converted.
adamsleath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 6:27 AM   #4074
Unframed
Member
 
Unframed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hella south west
Posts: 8,510
Default

So last night playing overwatch my Vega 64 LC overheated. Core temp topped 60 degrees but there's a "hotspot" GPU-Z detects that was 90 degrees and while monitoring during a heaven test it went over 90 and hard shut down my PC again.

Thinking that's an RMA
__________________
CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker | AMD R7 1700 w/ Masterliquid 240 | ASRock X370 Fatal1ty | Sapphire RX Vega 64 Liquid | Samsung 840 120GB, Kingston Savage 480GB, Samsung 840 Evo 240GB, 2x 3TB Seagate | 64GB G.Skill 2400MHz | SteelSeries Apex M500/SteelSeries Rival 700 | Enermax Revolution87+ 1000W | LG 34UM88C, 2x Dell U2211H
Unframed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 7:38 AM   #4075
Aussiejuggalo
Member
 
Aussiejuggalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland
Posts: 1,404
Default

Oh boy... Joker did a video about Raja taking a sabbatical, he's suggesting maybe Raja is being pushed out over the fail of Vega ... Guess he doesn't realise Navi is Raja's baby so doing anything to him could jeopardise that severely.

__________________
Folding Points

My baby: AMD 1800X / MSI B350M Mortar Arctic / G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200MHz C14 / MSI 1070 Armor OC / Samsung 960 Evo 250GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB / WD Blue 1TB / EVGA G2 850w / Caselabs SM5 / Dell U2414H x2 & Asus VG248QE

Last edited by Aussiejuggalo; 14th September 2017 at 7:43 AM.
Aussiejuggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 9:55 AM   #4076
Unframed
Member
 
Unframed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hella south west
Posts: 8,510
Default

Aaaaaand I've applied for an RMA
__________________
CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker | AMD R7 1700 w/ Masterliquid 240 | ASRock X370 Fatal1ty | Sapphire RX Vega 64 Liquid | Samsung 840 120GB, Kingston Savage 480GB, Samsung 840 Evo 240GB, 2x 3TB Seagate | 64GB G.Skill 2400MHz | SteelSeries Apex M500/SteelSeries Rival 700 | Enermax Revolution87+ 1000W | LG 34UM88C, 2x Dell U2211H
Unframed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 10:01 AM   #4077
jpw007
Member
 
jpw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
Aaaaaand I've applied for an RMA
Shithouse! Hopefully an isolated incident and not a reflection on Saphire
__________________
| Asrock z170 Extreme7+ | i7 6700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX | 2x Strix 1080 Ti OC | 1x 500GB 850 Evo M.2 + 2x 1TB MX300 M.2 | HX850i | EKWB Custom Loop | X34 |Caselabs S8
Custom White w/ Red Internals
jpw007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 10:08 AM   #4078
Unframed
Member
 
Unframed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hella south west
Posts: 8,510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpw007 View Post
Shithouse! Hopefully an isolated incident and not a reflection on Saphire
Well it's the Liquid cooled version so I don't think Sapphire did anything AFAIK. All versions look identical. I'm hoping it's a once off and looks to be the case as I've tried googling the "hotspot" overheating or overheating and cannot find anything about overheating on the LC version.
__________________
CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker | AMD R7 1700 w/ Masterliquid 240 | ASRock X370 Fatal1ty | Sapphire RX Vega 64 Liquid | Samsung 840 120GB, Kingston Savage 480GB, Samsung 840 Evo 240GB, 2x 3TB Seagate | 64GB G.Skill 2400MHz | SteelSeries Apex M500/SteelSeries Rival 700 | Enermax Revolution87+ 1000W | LG 34UM88C, 2x Dell U2211H
Unframed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 11:05 AM   #4079
terroristone
Member
 
terroristone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melb 3030
Posts: 1,707
Default

ive said it twice in here now. Do a log with the new gpuz, and check that hot spot reading.

Unframed - Was yours at stock settings when it hard locked??

The reason I went with AMD is I have a freesync monitor, and id prefer to support the under dog, and for the games I play I don't need anything faster.

Putting a water block onto my 64 ties into the rest of my build, and cost is something I don't consider on some parts of my PC's nor is power usage.

T1
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by knowskillz View Post
I'm supposed to save for a new house! fk it I'll just live in my computer case
Haswell 4790k@4.5 - MSI Z97 GAMING 5- GSKILL 2933 - MSI VEGA 64 WATER - SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 - ACER XR341CK - AX1500I - CUSTOM HARD TUBE WATERCOOLED GPU&CPU - 750D - NIGHTHAWK X9 - G502
System Pic
terroristone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 11:35 AM   #4080
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 8,725
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sTeeLzor View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2rQgQZLyOE

This video shows basically that your HBM Voltage in Wattman basically controls your Vcore voltage and any previous suggestions to set it to 1200 is not great.

It also tells us that setting P6/P7 state to the same value causes severe slow downs so keep that disparity up.

So with all that in mind, I set about reclocking my card and got my highest score and by far my lowest temperatures.

Firestrike Graphics – 24067
P6 Speed = 1522 MHz
P6 Voltage = 1010mV
P7 Speed = 1572 MHz
P7 Voltage = 1010mV
HBM Speed = 1060 MHz
HBM Voltage = 1010mV
Power Limit = +50%

Temps ended up between 60-70 instead of maxing out at 85degC

https://imgur.com/a/5PSKW

This isnt tweaked as good as I can get it, but I have had enough tweaking for one day and cbf'd. Time to play some games.
I think this is a Wattman bug, certainly not intentional.. what he's found reflects the behaviour i've seen, but i've worked around it by following a certain order of doing things.. I can run 800mv with HBM solder @ 1200mv, (and 1100Mhz) , providing I set the P7 voltage last, followed by adjusting power limit (any change in limit seems to trigger it actually apply the undervolt)

this new info will certainly help though if one can just leave it on a low mv setting knowing it won't inhibit hbm2 clock


Quote:
Originally Posted by Unframed View Post
Aaaaaand I've applied for an RMA
are you certain it's the card initiating this shutdown? Seems very odd, and a very low temp to initiate a shutdown at all
__________________
On the Bench: Ryzen 7 1700 - ASUS Prime X370 Pro - 16GB Corsair Vengance DDR4-3200
Main:
Ryzen 7 1800x - Crosshair VI Hero - 16GB G.SKill DDR4-3333 - ASUS 1080Ti FE - Custom water - Be-Quiet Silent Base
Ryzen OC / Owners Thread
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
vega, wait

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!