Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Memory

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th June 2017, 9:07 AM   #1
von Stalhein Thread Starter
Member
 
von Stalhein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Thurgoona NSW
Posts: 1,882
Default PC2-6400 query

Hi all,
I'm wanting to increase RAM in an old Ubuntu box.

Presently it has 2x 1G sticks of Samsung PC2-6400U-666-12-ZZ in it.

On some sale sites I'm seeing this (I think) but it's advertised as for AMD.

What codes should I be looking for for either 2 x 2G sticks or a 4G stick?

TIA
__________________
80386 sx25 o/c @ 26.133 Mhz | 40 Meg HDD | Cirrus Logic SVGA | 2 Meg RAM | DOS 3.1 --> Ninja!!!!
von Stalhein is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 13th June 2017, 10:55 AM   #2
n2p4u
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Default

Intel can only take max 2GB Single Sticks, AMD Phenom IIs can take 4gb Single
n2p4u is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 5:25 PM   #3
i7Baby
Member
 
i7Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 250
Default

Maybe your mobo website will help with a Memory QVL - to show compatible ram. The mobo spec should show the types and speeds of ram that will be compatible.
__________________
ASRock x370 TaiChi, R7-1700, H110 GTi, 16GB 3200-14 GSkill, 2 x R9 Nano, 250GB EVO, 2 TB Barracuda, EVGA 750G2 in Enthoo Pro plus LG 34UM88 monitor, Azio kb and Gigabyte 6580 Mouse
i7Baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2017, 7:07 PM   #4
von Stalhein Thread Starter
Member
 
von Stalhein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Thurgoona NSW
Posts: 1,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n2p4u View Post
Intel can only take max 2GB Single Sticks, AMD Phenom IIs can take 4gb Single
Quote:
Originally Posted by i7Baby View Post
Maybe your mobo website will help with a Memory QVL - to show compatible ram. The mobo spec should show the types and speeds of ram that will be compatible.
Looks like I can use DDR2 RAM up to a maximum of 4GB using either 667MHZ or 800MHZ.

Bewdy, thanks
__________________
80386 sx25 o/c @ 26.133 Mhz | 40 Meg HDD | Cirrus Logic SVGA | 2 Meg RAM | DOS 3.1 --> Ninja!!!!
von Stalhein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2017, 1:11 PM   #5
Matthew kane
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n2p4u View Post
Intel can only take max 2GB Single Sticks
Not entirely true, I have had old 775 motherboards which accept up to 16gb through 4 dimm sockets (P35, X48 etc) with 4x4gb high density ram. The limitation is based on the motherboard chipset and in some cases the processor.
__________________
Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHZ - Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB OCZ Platinum Series DDR3 1600MHZ | Asus Rampage IV Extreme (4901 bios) | Zotac AMP! Edition GTX 980 Ti | PNY GTX 465 unlocked to 470 | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro with LME47920's opamps | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB| 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green, 4 x 2TB Seagate LP | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250watt | Antec P280 + Veris Elite | LG BD Rewriter
Matthew kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 5:28 PM   #6
von Stalhein Thread Starter
Member
 
von Stalhein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Thurgoona NSW
Posts: 1,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew kane View Post
Not entirely true, I have had old 775 motherboards which accept up to 16gb through 4 dimm sockets (P35, X48 etc) with 4x4gb high density ram. The limitation is based on the motherboard chipset and in some cases the processor.
I've got 2x2G sticks for $15 and I've found an old Core2 7500 in a box here, which I'll sub in for the current E6550.

Then the major bottleneck will be the ATI RV370
__________________
80386 sx25 o/c @ 26.133 Mhz | 40 Meg HDD | Cirrus Logic SVGA | 2 Meg RAM | DOS 3.1 --> Ninja!!!!
von Stalhein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 6:24 PM   #7
Matthew kane
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by von Stalhein View Post
I've got 2x2G sticks for $15 and I've found an old Core2 7500 in a box here, which I'll sub in for the current E6550.

Then the major bottleneck will be the ATI RV370
The Wolfdale-3M based E7500 will be a good deal faster than the older E6550. They overclock like a mad dog.
__________________
Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHZ - Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB OCZ Platinum Series DDR3 1600MHZ | Asus Rampage IV Extreme (4901 bios) | Zotac AMP! Edition GTX 980 Ti | PNY GTX 465 unlocked to 470 | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro with LME47920's opamps | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB| 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green, 4 x 2TB Seagate LP | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250watt | Antec P280 + Veris Elite | LG BD Rewriter
Matthew kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 9:27 PM   #8
von Stalhein Thread Starter
Member
 
von Stalhein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Thurgoona NSW
Posts: 1,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew kane View Post
The Wolfdale-3M based E7500 will be a good deal faster than the older E6550. They overclock like a mad dog.
Good! I tried overclocking the E6550 and it lacked enthusiasm in a big way - no boot, blue screen etc etc (in Win obvs).

I'm only playing with this setup until funds become available to go full ninja PC.
I've only been saying that since about 1987

Also, I still need to replace the fricking bottleneck GPU (ATI RV370) in the interim, so up for suggestions.
__________________
80386 sx25 o/c @ 26.133 Mhz | 40 Meg HDD | Cirrus Logic SVGA | 2 Meg RAM | DOS 3.1 --> Ninja!!!!
von Stalhein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 9:49 PM   #9
Matthew kane
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 603
Default

Nice sig rig though, I think it's about time you upgraded. :P

The E7500 runs cooler as well and of course how well it overclocks depends on your motherboard followed by cooling.
__________________
Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHZ - Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB OCZ Platinum Series DDR3 1600MHZ | Asus Rampage IV Extreme (4901 bios) | Zotac AMP! Edition GTX 980 Ti | PNY GTX 465 unlocked to 470 | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro with LME47920's opamps | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB| 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green, 4 x 2TB Seagate LP | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250watt | Antec P280 + Veris Elite | LG BD Rewriter
Matthew kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 10:05 PM   #10
von Stalhein Thread Starter
Member
 
von Stalhein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Thurgoona NSW
Posts: 1,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew kane View Post
Nice sig rig though, I think it's about time you upgraded. :P

The E7500 runs cooler as well and of course how well it overclocks depends on your motherboard followed by cooling.
Yeah that was a while ago and I remember it fondly - even then, I had to tweak it to run DOOM

I salvaged this mobo from a chuckaway and from research & experience it's a spud.

Any o/c will be air only & whatever is (acceptably) stable.
I will eventually arsehole this machine and start again with something that rivals a small Cray 6.
/off dream mode
__________________
80386 sx25 o/c @ 26.133 Mhz | 40 Meg HDD | Cirrus Logic SVGA | 2 Meg RAM | DOS 3.1 --> Ninja!!!!
von Stalhein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!