Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th May 2017, 10:08 AM   #616
ktmrida Thread Starter
Member
 
ktmrida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 537
Default

Sorry, Not SAS SSD, just normal, 2.5" SSDs

i want to secure them in the bays but looks like i need some sort of adapter.


also, ordered a 1265v2 CPU

Whats process to swap it out, rip out the old, clean the heatsink with some alco wipes? then put some arctic on the new cpu just in the middle and pop the heatsink back on?
ktmrida is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 8th May 2017, 10:28 AM   #617
Ravennoir
Member
 
Ravennoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmrida View Post
Sorry, Not SAS SSD, just normal, 2.5" SSDs

i want to secure them in the bays but looks like i need some sort of adapter.


also, ordered a 1265v2 CPU

Whats process to swap it out, rip out the old, clean the heatsink with some alco wipes? then put some arctic on the new cpu just in the middle and pop the heatsink back on?
Thats pretty much what I did, although I upgraded the cooler, which had to be modded a bit.

Any one running ESXi on their Gen8 ?

Im currently running 5.5 but want to upgrade to 6

Just wondering the process
__________________
Desktop - i7-4790K - ASUS Maximus Hero VII - 32GB Kingston HyperX 1333Mhz - Gigabyte GTX980 G1 Gaming - Thermaltake Core X5 - Corsair AX860i - Dell U3014
Laptop - Alienware 17 R2 - i7-4710HQ - 16Gb DDR3 - GTX-970M - Server - HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 - Xeon E3-1230 - 16Gb DDR3
PSN ID : Ravennoir - BattleTag : Ravennoir#1705
Ravennoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2017, 6:20 PM   #618
MUTMAN
Member
 
MUTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: brisvegas
Posts: 4,274
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmrida View Post
Sorry, Not SAS SSD, just normal, 2.5" SSDs

i want to secure them in the bays but looks like i need some sort of adapter.

wouldn't normal 2.5 to 3.5 adapters work ?

also, ordered a 1265v2 CPU

nice, what $$

Whats process to swap it out, rip out the old, clean the heatsink with some alco wipes? then put some arctic on the new cpu just in the middle and pop the heatsink back on?

I ran the cpu hard just before shutdown so the goop was soft and easy to pry off the cpu/socket. then cleaned the stock unit and used a line of goop down the middle 2/3 rds. doing the heatsink back up i did it the long way, half a turn per corner around and around we go
https://www.google.com.au/search?q=3....5+hdd+adapter

if you can wait, i might be able to try a ssd in a adapter in my G8 (no promises though. its a busy machine at the mo )
MUTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2017, 9:07 PM   #619
ktmrida Thread Starter
Member
 
ktmrida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUTMAN View Post
https://www.google.com.au/search?q=3....5+hdd+adapter

if you can wait, i might be able to try a ssd in a adapter in my G8 (no promises though. its a busy machine at the mo )

Theres a bunch of adapters on here that people seem to be using.
http://www.virten.net/2013/12/update...-with-2-5-ssd/

Got the CPU for $205 AUD delivered.
ktmrida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2017, 6:25 PM   #620
MUTMAN
Member
 
MUTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: brisvegas
Posts: 4,274
Default 10TB and 8TB HDD compatibility

i havent seen much mention of compatibility with larger sized drives and success with the HP MicroServer Gen 8
I'm happy to report my ST10000VN0004-1ZD101 (10tb ironwolf) works well. temps are great and this drive is f-f-FAST.
also ST8000AS0002 (8TB SMR seagate archive) drive also works well in the Gen 8 too.
Although I ended up putting it (the 8tb) into a usb3 dock and it will be a off site backup drive, after a fresh partition and format, it started out averaging 160MB/s and after 1.5tb written that average is now around 135MB/s.
Written 1.5tb this arvo, just another 5tb to go.
Very, very happy to have condensed 2 NAS and 8 HDD down to 1 NAS and 2 hot drives plus 1 cold.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmrida View Post
Theres a bunch of adapters on here that people seem to be using.
http://www.virten.net/2013/12/update...-with-2-5-ssd/

Got the CPU for $205 AUD delivered.

Shit a Brick, I just realised you started this thread four years ago and only now have you got one thats some kind of record


i had a quick look into an ssd on an adapter today during a quick drive swap (upgrading to 10TB spinner in slot 2 )
i have a OCZ 2.5 to 3.5 adapter plate, but its too short to get to the front holes in the cage.
reading from your link, peeps are just pushing ssd's onto the backplane
i'd think it wouldn't matter about the front holes on an adapter plate, just use the back set and slide it in straight...
certainly the sockets line up no worries.

another option might be to use cable extenders from ssd to sockets and have the ssd floating around unsecured ?

my advice, wait till the ironwolf 10TB drives are under 500 shipped again and buy a few of them
MUTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2017, 6:47 PM   #621
Tronador
Member
 
Tronador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 96
Default

I just have spent a few days re-installing my Gen 8.

Got rid of xpenology, I felt like the updates were getting slower and I wasn't happy with using essentially hacked OS.

Now have an SSD running Open Media Vault using SnapRAID and UnionFS.
Oh my god was the setup terrible. Had so many issues with the plex plugin, then tried it with docker and had even more issues.
Seems to be running awesome now though.
Tronador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2017, 7:12 PM   #622
MUTMAN
Member
 
MUTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: brisvegas
Posts: 4,274
Default

which xpenology did you remove, DSM 5 or 6 ?
MUTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2017, 9:09 PM   #623
Tronador
Member
 
Tronador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUTMAN View Post
which xpenology did you remove, DSM 5 or 6 ?
DSM 6

If there was a legitimate way to pay for their software and have it work without bootloaders and the like every time I upgrade I would pay for it.... stuff always broke with updates.
Tronador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2017, 7:01 AM   #624
MUTMAN
Member
 
MUTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: brisvegas
Posts: 4,274
Default

yer. ive stayed on 5 for now.
you can buy the legit software. it comes attached to a nas

i keep looking at omv and freenas saying, one day, one day.
MUTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 4:33 PM   #625
Tronador
Member
 
Tronador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUTMAN View Post
yer. ive stayed on 5 for now.
you can buy the legit software. it comes attached to a nas

i keep looking at omv and freenas saying, one day, one day.
My trigger was getting another 8TB drive. The syno hybrid raid was getting big to the point where migrating onto another 'raid' setup would have been difficult.

So once I got another drive, backed up and bam.
Tronador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 2:28 PM   #626
303-Acid
Member
 
303-Acid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Beaumaris, Vic
Posts: 2,477
Default

Anyone had trouble with disks dropping from the B120i? I've got 2 mirrored arrays using 4x seagate 3TB NAS disks. Every now and then I'll see the orange flashing light. Pop out the disk to check on another PC and SMART sees that it's fine. I've even replaced with a new disk. Running Windows Home Server 2011 installed on a SSD on the 5th port which never drops. Sometimes it'll be happy for weeks, or only days. Not sure if it's the disks, controller or dicky power? I've popped it on a new UPS so the supply should be clean.

I've not been able to work it out so am building FreeNAS on my spare Gen8. It's a little learning curve but looks to support Plex, Sickbeard, SABnzbd, etc which is great. Only other thing that I run in Windows is Cumulus weather station software. Not sure if I can get that working in a Jail or not but can always put it on a RaspberryPi if I can't. Hopefully that'll be stable.
__________________
Laptop: Metabox W230SS [Intel i7-4710MQ | 8GB DDR3-1600 RAM | 250GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | NVIDIA GTX860M | Windows 10 Pro]
PC: [Intel Core Quad Q9550 @ 3.2GHz | 8GB DDR2-1066 RAM | MSI P45 Neo2 | 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD | GTX660TI | Asus Xonar D1 | Windows 10 Pro]
303-Acid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 7:21 PM   #627
MUTMAN
Member
 
MUTMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: brisvegas
Posts: 4,274
Default

*touch wood* my G8 has been rock solid.
at times i've considered buying another 'just in case' one

perhaps you have a dodgy cable/connection somewhere. can you swap the drive slots around ?
edit - snap, check the SAS/SFF connector/cable on the mobo. i got it in on an angle after the CPU upgrade, and the bloody thing keep wigging out about one drive.
i'd pushed it in and it 'clicked' but the connector was on enough of an angle (sideways, not front to back) to cause a headache
i was in a rush to get it all back and running

Last edited by MUTMAN; 18th May 2017 at 7:25 PM.
MUTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!