Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th May 2017, 7:58 PM   #1
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default Fairly new PC suddenly stopped Booting

Started Building a PC over Christmas, First time building a whole computer from scratch. all went well. Kept adding until i finished it about 2 months ago.

Last thing i did was put a second graphics card in and its been running 2 months straight no issues, including bench marking gaming etc.

On the weekend I rebooted for what ever reason and would not restart. Start trouble shooting, Ram, Reset Bios, Pull battery from bios, Remove SLI bridge, Pulled power from one GPU, Physically removed both GPUs.

Removing both GPUs got it booting again. So basically from there i can have Either GPU plugged in either Slot with either power cable and it will boot. As soon as i plug 2 Cards in it wont boot, wont even let you get into bios.

Im stumped at this point. Im guessing either power supply or MB but dont know how to test with out straight out replacing things.

Hope some one can help?

Part list:

CPU: 6700k
MB: ASUS z170-AR
CPU cooler: EK Predator 240 AIO Expandable Liquid CPU Cooler
RAM: 32gig (2x Corsair Vengeance LED CMU16GX4M2C3200C16 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4)
SSD: Corsair Force Series MP500 240GB NVMe M.2 SSD
HD: Seagate FireCuda 2TB Desktop SSHD ST2000DX002
GPU: 2x Asus GTX1070 OC Dual 8 gig
Sli Bridge: Asus ROG HB
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 15th May 2017, 9:30 PM   #2
havabeer
Member
 
havabeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,691
Default

have you tried re-seating the CPU?

i doubt its a power problem. i'd be aiming at a GPU or MOBO issue (if the above cpu re-seat doesn't work) hard to test with out a spare mobo though
__________________
Current rig: CPU i7 5960X - Mobo MSI x99 pro carbon - GPU 2x Titan X (pascal) - Ram 16gig DDR4 2666 G*skill - Case Custom little devil V8 - Monitor Phillips 40" 4k
Cooling - Custom water loop - 360 rad x 2 - 480 x 1 - acrylic hard tube
havabeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2017, 10:36 PM   #3
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Re-seating the CPU? hey i will try it, I would be surprised, but its a free check.

Will do it tomorrow night if time permits.
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2017, 10:39 PM   #4
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Ive tried all combos with the Graphics card and they work individually no matter what and SLI worked fine for 2 months. My last 2 guesses are power supply or MB and i think its more likely to be the MB
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2017, 12:38 AM   #5
mr camouflage
Member
 
mr camouflage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: WA
Posts: 472
Default

How many watts is your power supply?
mr camouflage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2017, 8:06 AM   #6
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Its a corsair 750watt power supply. I belueve its a 750 RMi but will check the model number when im home.
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2017, 12:30 PM   #7
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Power supply is a Corsair RM750i
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 9:06 AM   #8
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 125,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killer_Minion View Post
Ive tried all combos with the Graphics card and they work individually no matter what and SLI worked fine for 2 months. My last 2 guesses are power supply or MB and i think its more likely to be the MB
Yep I was going to suggest to check cards individually in case one has died. Can you try another psu to eliminate that as a factor?
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 12:13 PM   #9
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,024
Default

OCCT will do load testing on the PSU while the system is running that may be the point of failure once the 2nd GPU is added.

You could test the PSU with a single GPU and assess the PSU plot:
http://www.ocbase.com/

Some comment it can kill a cheap PSU - I never had one die using it, but use at your own risk.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 4:05 PM   #10
bobbyjimmy
Member
 
bobbyjimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ACT
Posts: 126
Default

The mobo doesn't need an extra 6/8 pin cable when using more than 1 PCI-E slot does it?
__________________
Steam - bobbyjimmy
Origin & Uplay - imbobbyjimmy
bobbyjimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 4:59 PM   #11
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,024
Default

I suspect one of the fail safes keeps kicking off:
http://www.corsair.com/en-eu/rmi-ser...modular-psu-cn
Quote:
Over-voltage protection, under-voltage protection, short circuit protection, over power protection, and over temperature protection provide maximum safety to your critical system components.
The only way you are going to begin to assess this is either with a PSU meter or OCCT (loading on a single GPU only).
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2017, 9:50 AM   #12
Skexis
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, 5158
Posts: 134
Default

Out of interest have you tried using a different SLi bridge?
Skexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2017, 5:39 PM   #13
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skexis View Post
Out of interest have you tried using a different SLi bridge?
i have tried it with no sli bridge and it was no go, might try with a std sli bridge.
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2017, 5:49 PM   #14
Killer_Minion Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bold Eagle View Post
I suspect one of the fail safes keeps kicking off:
http://www.corsair.com/en-eu/rmi-ser...modular-psu-cn


The only way you are going to begin to assess this is either with a PSU meter or OCCT (loading on a single GPU only).
Thanks will look into this and give it a go. Ive monitored the power supply before through Corsair link and it all seems fine but will try this test aswell. Think im going to throw a new MoBo at it after that.
Killer_Minion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2017, 6:27 PM   #15
Reins
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyjimmy View Post
The mobo doesn't need an extra 6/8 pin cable when using more than 1 PCI-E slot does it?
I second this!
Reins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 5:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!