Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > Other CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th November 2011, 2:37 AM   #16
Asteroid
Member
 
Asteroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lapping Freo
Posts: 2,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sol_Invictus View Post
I friend who works at a major hotel here told me the other day they are STILL using pentium 2's I find it hard to believe that bits haven't fallen over yet but he insists it true so they can still work......sort of, if u call a P2 running, doing work. Not that the OP's is a P2 but it illustrates the point.
I have personally witnessed dozens of early Pentium AT machines still working as data terminals underneath inches of dust in machining workshops (it's common to have a pc next to each machine to transfer programs over RS232). PC hardware is tough. Much, much tougher than most enthusiasts realise.
__________________
The boxen: A8-3870/ F1A75-V Pro/ 8GB | A64 3000+/ K8V-X/ 1,25GB
Asteroid is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 13th November 2011, 10:47 AM   #17
Madengineer Thread Starter
Member
 
Madengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asteroid View Post
I have personally witnessed dozens of early Pentium AT machines still working as data terminals underneath inches of dust in machining workshops (it's common to have a pc next to each machine to transfer programs over RS232). PC hardware is tough. Much, much tougher than most enthusiasts realise.
yeah, My uncle who runs a joinery business has this massive automated machine, no idea what its called, you put plans in for cut-outs for cupboards/desk/etc and it does it, all controlled by a P3 PC with Windows 95 :S

It made me shudder when i saw it
__________________
'Fakts still exist even if they're ignored.'
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilebantick View Post
Doesn't matter had toastie .
Diablo 3 Profile
Madengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2011, 11:01 PM   #18
Asteroid
Member
 
Asteroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lapping Freo
Posts: 2,292
Default

Windows both 9x and NT core are surprisingly common as CNC controllers, and incredibly they are extremely reliable too but generally run on industrial grade hardware. However standard consumer stuff can and will happily run for years in industrial environments, as long as the air isn't corrosive (that stuff will destroy hardware fast).
__________________
The boxen: A8-3870/ F1A75-V Pro/ 8GB | A64 3000+/ K8V-X/ 1,25GB
Asteroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2011, 8:00 PM   #19
Madengineer Thread Starter
Member
 
Madengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,203
Default

Wonder how much somebody would pay for one of these old boards
__________________
'Fakts still exist even if they're ignored.'
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilebantick View Post
Doesn't matter had toastie .
Diablo 3 Profile
Madengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2011, 5:44 AM   #20
Phido
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,929
Default

Next time your in a shell service station have a look at the console they are operating.

Apple II baby.. 9" CRT green screen and all. The touch screen is actually a matrix of ~7x7 Ir led. System hasn't changed since the 80's. So when you buy this weeks special they have to actually type in codes to make the dam thing work.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoameister View Post
Physics is being canned because it is irrelevant in the 21st century Australian economy. We to give our children the skills they need to become lawyers and real estate agents.
Phido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2011, 8:23 AM   #21
Phido
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,929
Default

Does anyone have one of these setup with a modern SATA HD?

Wondering if it would be good enough for Digital HD tv recording (no playing) and network storage.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoameister View Post
Physics is being canned because it is irrelevant in the 21st century Australian economy. We to give our children the skills they need to become lawyers and real estate agents.
Phido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2011, 7:56 AM   #22
octagonalman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phido View Post
Does anyone have one of these setup with a modern SATA HD?

Wondering if it would be good enough for Digital HD tv recording (no playing) and network storage.
I had a Via C3 (mini-ITX PCV2 board) as a storage box for quite some time. It handles 1TB and 2TB hard drives fine through a IDE to SATA converter from MSY. Never could get a good signal from where the box was located so TV was never tried.
octagonalman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2011, 5:29 PM   #23
sanjay
Member
 
sanjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glen Osmond, Adelaide, SA
Posts: 13,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sol_Invictus View Post
I friend who works at a major hotel here told me the other day they are STILL using pentium 2's I find it hard to believe that bits haven't fallen over yet but he insists it true so they can still work......sort of, if u call a P2 running, doing work. Not that the OP's is a P2 but it illustrates the point.
at the small business i used to work for we still ran a pentium 3 as the register computer...was find running the attache till software but when it came to showing a customer where to download, oh i dont know, printer drivers for example, it started to struggle a bit with modern manufacturer websites

still, the boss had a strong 'dont replace it if it isnt broken' mentality. kind of an incompatible mentality with the inkjet printer business that he had built up since 1995, where he witnessed the printer manufacturers making more and more fragile products with every generation that was designed to conk out exactly a day after the warranty expired. it made for good business but i could almost see the tears in his eyes every time we had to bin a perfectly good epson stylus photo printer because it was just easier and cheaper to replace them!

thankfully he managed to get rid of the business and i think is living a well-deserved retirement. the current owner of the business just uses it to pump out refills and generic ink cartridges.
__________________
2006 Ford Falcon BF XR6 Turbo | 6sp ZF Auto, 245kw Barra 245T I6, 17" Alloys | 2009 Hyosung GT650S | 6sp Manual, 57kw 650cc V-Twin
Over 120 Successful Trades on OCAU - Most Recent: dche5390, Rugal, Tornhelm, ummmz, darknight84, bumography, b4sk3tb4ll3r, marktadros, MoveIt, Maxknott, NoBooze, bnyboy, Stooge007, caddy, the_rick, Soupratt, Doktor, Logik47, KraniX, Talisman, start, gizmo_melb, Omarko, Arkanite, WooKiE_MaN, PM for full list
sanjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2012, 2:32 PM   #24
Paronga
Member
 
Paronga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Morrabbin, Victoria
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phido View Post
Next time your in a shell service station have a look at the console they are operating.

Apple II baby.. 9" CRT green screen and all. The touch screen is actually a matrix of ~7x7 Ir led. System hasn't changed since the 80's. So when you buy this weeks special they have to actually type in codes to make the dam thing work.
I've never seen that...
what state?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by The King View Post
Honestly, do you believe this shit when you're typing it??
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=ButFli=- View Post
No, infinity is not like i. i can be added, subtracted, multiplied or whatever with real numbers and you can come out with a real answer.
2i + 3 - 2(i + 1) = 1
2inf =
Paronga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 11:19 AM   #25
pfrcom
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 3114, Melbourne
Posts: 98
Default

Mercury offer BIOS update 040819S.zip for OP's board, presumably name is yymmdd format

Seeing the board uses Via's VT8235 southbridge, there's a reasonable chance it'd support >128gb disks with the latest BIOS applied

Whether it's worth shelling out for a large PATA disk is the key question
pfrcom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2012, 1:51 PM   #26
Asteroid
Member
 
Asteroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lapping Freo
Posts: 2,292
Default

NOS IDE hard disks are pretty close to unavailable now, not really worth it. It's better to use a SATA card in this case, which will allow current production drives to be used for the foreseeable future (even SSD).
__________________
The boxen: A8-3870/ F1A75-V Pro/ 8GB | A64 3000+/ K8V-X/ 1,25GB
Asteroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2012, 11:49 PM   #27
SLATYE
SLATYE, not SLAYTE
 
SLATYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 26,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asteroid View Post
NOS IDE hard disks are pretty close to unavailable now, not really worth it. It's better to use a SATA card in this case, which will allow current production drives to be used for the foreseeable future (even SSD).
If I remember correctly, Via's PCI implementation was really slow (ie 30MB/s or so). A SATA card might not be a great idea simply because it'll flood the PCI bus.

You can get something like this that allows SATA drives to connect to the IDE port. Size may still be a problem, although most SSDs would be unaffected simply because of the small capacity.
__________________
Main system: Phenom II X4 920 | 8GB (4x 2GB) DDR2-800 | Gigabyte M57SLI-S4 v2.0 | Leadtek Geforce 9600GSO 384MB | Enermax Modu82+ 525W | 1TB Hitachi HDD | 3.5" + 5.25" FDD
Laptop: Compal EL80 | C2D T7200 | 320GB Fujistu HDD | 2GB DDR2-667 | GF Go 7600
SLATYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2012, 3:19 AM   #28
Asteroid
Member
 
Asteroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lapping Freo
Posts: 2,292
Default

Yeah I have used an IDE to SATA adaptor. It presented an 8.4gb drive to the bios and translated the full capacity to the OS, worked fine. PCI would be more economical as it allows several drives to be connected to the controller instead of just one. Interesting that it is slow. I guess these things weren't built for performance.
__________________
The boxen: A8-3870/ F1A75-V Pro/ 8GB | A64 3000+/ K8V-X/ 1,25GB
Asteroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 6:22 AM   #29
Phido
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paronga View Post
I've never seen that...
what state?
NSW.

I think they have a new setup for brand new sites, but up until 3-5 years ago that was all they had. I don't know if it is an actual Apple II, but the fonts definately are, it feels 6502 fast operating it (you have to wait for the text 40x25 or what ever screen to refresh).

I've still got my via c3's I was going to use for my solar powered relay stations, a project that is no longer very relevant for me as I improved my 3G mobile reception.

I have a 4:3 19" LCD and thinking about using one as a table top retro arcade machine. Any one tried C64, colevision, mame emmulation on this puppies?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoameister View Post
Physics is being canned because it is irrelevant in the 21st century Australian economy. We to give our children the skills they need to become lawyers and real estate agents.
Phido is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!