Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th September 2016, 8:54 AM   #16
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant View Post
My problem is my TV (a mid 2000s Sony CRT) does a pretty darn good job at composite, and it's almost not worth the effort...
Yar I use a little 14" Sony CRT and I think its composite image is amazing
__________________
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 20th September 2016, 9:31 AM   #17
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,131
Default

Composite can be half decent depending on the combination of you source, cable and screen.

I work for a media company, and I've seen some great quality broadcast gear (PVMs, and the far superior BVMs, etc) that, combined with high quality gear generating a picture, can certainly make for decent composite signal (RGB still beats the pants off it, but it's not terrible).

Compare and contrast to noisy consumer equipment though. It doesn't matter how good the display and cable, something like a Raspberry Pi always makes for blurry composite output, which saddens me. (It also doesn't help that they force an interlaced picture, which is half the problem).
elvis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2016, 10:57 AM   #18
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,025
Default

For me, even S-Video is leagues ahead of Composite - the former is much sharper, with better colour definition. In fact there is more of a difference between S-Video and Composite, than S-Video and SCART-RGB.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2016, 11:06 AM   #19
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,131
Default

And then you get cockups like the PS2, where the YPbPr circuit is packed full of unnecessary filtering, and ends up looking worse than S-Video - like someone smeared Vaseline all over your screen.

I thought for years my CRT had a faulty YPbPr input until I realised it was my PS2 itself. And eventually discussions on GamesX and AssemblerGames both confirmed that I wasn't going crazy.

One day I play to crack open one of my PS2s and see if I can fix that. If it's all inside the IC though, then there's no hope.
elvis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2016, 12:27 PM   #20
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,025
Default

The newest console I own is an N64 which just looks like the screen was smeared with vaseline regardless of which output you use
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2016, 12:43 PM   #21
badmofo
Member
 
badmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
The newest console I own is an N64 which just looks like the screen was smeared with vaseline regardless of which output you use
Yes the output of those bad boys is murky. Everything else I run on my trusty little 14" (SMS, SMD, C64, PS1) looks A-OK to me but in saying that I don't think I've ever seen them hooked up with anything fancier than composite, so I'm still comparing it to the RF-only telly I had as a kid.

Ignorance is bliss!
__________________
Life? Don't talk to me about life.
badmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2016, 12:52 PM   #22
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
The newest console I own is an N64 which just looks like the screen was smeared with vaseline regardless of which output you use
That was actually done by design on chip, and sometimes software-controllable (i.e.: not a fault of bad components). I agree it looked terrible.

The good news is the clever AssemblerGames kids found a way to fix this using something like the Game Shark for certain games.

http://assemblergames.com/l/threads/...-cheats.59916/

elvis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2016, 1:17 PM   #23
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 1,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badmofo View Post
Yes the output of those bad boys is murky. Everything else I run on my trusty little 14" (SMS, SMD, C64, PS1) looks A-OK to me but in saying that I don't think I've ever seen them hooked up with anything fancier than composite, so I'm still comparing it to the RF-only telly I had as a kid.

Ignorance is bliss!
Yeah, if you came from RF, composite is a godsend.
My advice is don't ever try s-video or RGB because then you will embark on a mission to upgrade all your consoles for the best output... and I'm sure you've got enough expensive hobbies already

It's kind of like MIDI music in the old DOS games - growing up I only had a sound blaster with FM, but after I got an LAPC-I and a couple of MIDI devices, I couldn't go back.
DonutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 8:35 PM   #24
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,131
Default

Moved the GroovyMAME setup from the candy cabinet to my LAI Lowboy. It's running a Kortek KTX-26 monitor and chassis that I reckon has had a squillion hours of operation. When I got it, it had total vertical collapse. A good friend of mine fixed it up (with some assistance from Jomac over in Perth). It's looking pretty good now, even despite a bit of blur (I'll play with the focus a little on the weekend, but I'm not expecting much given it's age).

Anyways, I finally sorted a few issues. Brightness and colours are sorted, and I got rid of the vertical retrace lines that were causing me problems. Sync turned out to be no power to the JPac in the cabinet (I thought it pulled power from the arcade power supply, but it actually pulls power from the PC via the keyboard interface). So with that amplified, things became a lot more stable.

A couple of shots of "Garou: Mark of the Wolves", which IMHO is the prettiest Neo Geo game ever made. Again, focus isn't 100% fixed yet (hopefully I can sort that out on the weekend), but it's looking better than it has in a while.

[edit] Looks like the forum is scaling them. Here's the direct links:

http://i.imgur.com/i6EmzlY.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/XF7Kjan.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/SWPnYXk.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/Y8O3h8M.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/kEsEtZs.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/WPUJ3nX.jpg













Last edited by elvis; 21st September 2016 at 8:38 PM.
elvis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 8:55 PM   #25
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 908
Default

I got a couple of RGB cables in the mail today, PS1 and Gamecube.

Lets see if I can get called a hipster for playing Gameboy advance in 240p with scanlines

Hopefully I'll get some time to do some gaming this weekend.

Crappy iPhone 5 pics: http://imgur.com/a/EQ9mp
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 9:16 PM   #26
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
Lets see if I can get called a hipster for playing Gameboy advance in 240p with scanlines
Are you playing via a GBA player for GameCube?

I saw one of those in a Game Traders once for $50. Said to myself "I'll come back for that tomorrow". Gone. Should have bought it on the spot.

How does the scaling go? GBA is an odd resolution (240x160), so it's a non-integer scale up to 240p, and there's semi-widescreen ratio type stuff going on. The Minish Cap image you posted still looks pretty bloody nice though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
Hopefully I'll get some time to do some gaming this weekend.
I've got a 90s party I'm in several months I'm desperately trying to get as many things working for as possible (the Neo Geo cab is just one of them). No time for play, too many things to fix!
elvis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 9:41 PM   #27
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
Are you playing via a GBA player for GameCube?

I saw one of those in a Game Traders once for $50. Said to myself "I'll come back for that tomorrow". Gone. Should have bought it on the spot.

How does the scaling go? GBA is an odd resolution (240x160), so it's a non-integer scale up to 240p, and there's semi-widescreen ratio type stuff going on. The Minish Cap image you posted still looks pretty bloody nice though.
Yes this is a Gamecube player on a mod chipped PAL gamecube (pal is important here because they output native RGB where the NTSC does not). I've only just got it going but it seems there is quite a bit to the subject of how best to play GBA games on a display. I have actually ordered the new GBA everdrive which inspired me to set this up.

The short of it is that the GBA player needs the official disc to work, the hardware itself is dirt cheap and can be had for under $30 without the disc. Collectors covet the disc because collectors are idiots that aren't interested in actually playing games. The official disc upscales to either 480i or 480p, the later requiring a $300 rare component cable and also adds considerable input lag. Meaning that the official disc isn't ideal for actual gamers.

There are some nice homebrew alternatives including a low latency version of the disc that maintains the original resolution and is the one speedrunners use. Also there are other versions that make various compromises to get a nice balance between look and input delay.

Best read up is here: http://retrorgb.com/gameboyplayer.html and here: http://retrorgb.com/gameboyinterface.html

I'll be the first to admit that it's a bit overkill when you can just emulate. But where is the fun in that?
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 9:53 PM   #28
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
the later requiring a $300 rare component cable
$50 FPGA project that hooks into the GC digital port, available in analogue (component) or digital (HDMI) output:
http://www.badassconsoles.com/gcvideo-1/
https://github.com/ikorb/gcvideo

No more ludicrous eBay prices. Every time hoarder-collectors get screwed over, I cheer a little inside.

[edit] In fact, read the notice on their forsale page:

Quote:
ATTENTION: SCALPERS

BadAss Consoles will always have GCVideo available and for sale. Attempts to price gouge will be futile.

EVERYONE PLEASE PASS THE ABOVE MESSAGE ALONG TO ALL SOCIAL MEDIA OUTLETS. GET THE WORD OUT: SCALPERS NEED TO STOP TAKING ADVANTAGE OF OUR COMMUNITY!!
Not all heroes wear capes.

Last edited by elvis; 21st September 2016 at 9:56 PM.
elvis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2016, 10:12 PM   #29
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
$50 FPGA project that hooks into the GC digital port, available in analogue (component) or digital (HDMI) output:
http://www.badassconsoles.com/gcvideo-1/
https://github.com/ikorb/gcvideo

No more ludicrous eBay prices. Every time hoarder-collectors get screwed over, I cheer a little inside.

[edit] In fact, read the notice on their forsale page:

Not all heroes wear capes.
That is pretty cool. Personally for all my 480p Gamecube needs I just use a wii with a $10 Component cable.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2016, 5:45 AM   #30
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,131
Default

Meh, the GBA is universally spiritually regarded as the "SNES 2.0". IMHO an LCD screen on that thing is wasted (especially the first model with no backlight), and "consolifying" it is a visually much better way to play it.

Same thing goes for the Game Gear and Lynx. There are active projects to convert all three of these handhelds to console versions for CRT use, and the results posted from all of them so far look amazing (no surprises, given the pixel art).

Speaking for myself, I broke both my thumbs years ago, and playing handhelds for long periods of time hurts due to the awkward spacing of the controls. There's a couple of amazing handheld titles I really want to play end to end (Shantae, G.G. Shinobi, Minish Cap, Ninja Five O, Drill Dozer), and I'm really keen to try them out on consolised hardware hacks with SNES and Megadrive controllers and CRT output.

Same goes for a bunch of these PC indie games. I played AM2R and Mercenary Kings lately, and both are screaming to be played on CRT.
elvis is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!