Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th September 2016, 12:25 PM   #61
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 27,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
Jeez, they can't have been on eBay for long. Didn't see the auction. Do you know what he paid?
Yeah, I didn't see it either, but that's what I'm told. It was a while ago (it's been sitting in our dock for 2-3 months, I'd say).

"Thousands" was the answer I got for the final cost of the lot. So I can see why they didn't want me to take it when I offered them $100.

Last edited by elvis; 26th September 2016 at 12:47 PM.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 29th October 2016, 9:14 PM   #62
Matcat
Member
 
Matcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: adelaide
Posts: 226
Default

i scored an old sony trinitron kx27ps1 plays nice with my one chip nes through scart it was being used as a security monitor in a disposals store until i convinced the owner i could do so much more with it didn't seem to get much attention when i posted in the other thread

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by adz View Post
Too late too late will be the cry...

I shall have to change my forum visitation schedule from daily to hourly, possibly even minutely going by the speed of that clear out
Matcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2016, 3:23 PM   #63
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 27,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matcat View Post
i scored an old sony trinitron kx27ps1 plays nice with my one chip nes through scart it was being used as a security monitor in a disposals store until i convinced the owner i could do so much more with it didn't seem to get much attention when i posted in the other thread

image
Got some shots of it in action?
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2016, 1:22 PM   #64
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 27,485
Default

Megalo City cabinet converted over from PS2 to GroovyMAME this weekend. Trying to take a video of a Capcom game running at 59.something Hz doesn't work so well at 60.00FPS capture.

Likewise my phone camera craps itself trying to focus on the bright flashing sections.


Last edited by elvis; 6th November 2016 at 1:48 PM.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2016, 1:34 PM   #65
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
Megalo City cabinet converted over from PS2 to GroovyMAME this weekend. Trying to take a video of a Capcom game runnin gat 59.something Hz doesn't work so well at 60.00FPS capture.

Likewise my phone camera craps itself trying to focus on the bright flashing sections.
Nice!

I finished earthbound this week and made a few purchases over the last little while:


Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!


Click to view full size!


Also Bought an MVS and planning to spend some money on some Darksoft gear
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2016, 2:18 PM   #66
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 27,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
I finished earthbound this week and made a few purchases over the last little while:

pix
pix
pix

Also Bought an MVS and planning to spend some money on some Darksoft gear
So many wonderful toys. Going to be some fun weeks ahead.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2016, 2:42 PM   #67
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
So many wonderful toys. Going to be some fun weeks ahead.
Yep, trying to get a champion edition or hyper fighting board cos it wouldn't be right to have that supergun without that board
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 7:32 PM   #68
schmoove
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Asia
Posts: 586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
The image is:

pix

Point taken I guess if you played nes over composite as a kid. Your c64 would not have looked like that if you had the commodore monitor, and the games at Timezone definitely didn't look like that. It's an image from 4chan, says it all really.
Of those four pictures, I remember my games looking the first picture on the left.
Also I prefer the first picture on the left.
I played NES via RF and SNES via scart on a big ass CRT back in the day, sitting about 1.5 to 2 metres back.
I've only heard of scanlines because it's an option in some emulators, for example zsnes.
__________________
Trades with: rage, dufflover, ummmz, kimnkk, jlien, Pianist, Boink, Tekin, orndorf, theFish, MAXKNOTT, i4560011, search, antstar, Ma Baker, Dinuc, stuii, Dollie, kr0k, Fettrix, WCE07, Beaistheman, Hardboiled, Opti ....... "Pacman is just a neo-Marxist parable of late capitalism"
"Imagine someone holding forth on biology whose only knowledge on the subject is The Book of British Birds, and you have a rough idea of what it feels like to read Richard Dawkin's on theology"
schmoove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 8:38 PM   #69
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmoove View Post
Of those four pictures, I remember my games looking the first picture on the left.
Also I prefer the first picture on the left.
I played NES via RF and SNES via scart on a big ass CRT back in the day, sitting about 1.5 to 2 metres back.
I've only heard of scanlines because it's an option in some emulators, for example zsnes.
My home setup was probably more like the far right on my parents discarded early 1980's HMV telly over RF.

On our first Vic 20 we had an old B&W thing.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 9:11 PM   #70
DonutKing
Member
 
DonutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tweed/Gold Coast
Posts: 959
Default

Most emulators really over do the scanlines. They are present on my TV but I sit far enough back that you don't see them.
DonutKing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2016, 10:53 PM   #71
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 27,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonutKing View Post
Most emulators really over do the scanlines.
Yes and no. With high resolution digital displays, artificial scanlines end up looking like 50% of the picture. Remember that on low resolution CRTs, the dot pitch was far lower, so the scanline was closed to 10-20% pf the picture as there was a natural "bleed" of the coloured image.

You can see this somewhere in the middle with things like PVM and BVM monitors. They're more or less the same dot pitch as good quality high resolution PC CRTs, but show a low resolution image. The scanlines are about half way between original consoles on low res CRTs and what you see on an emulator.

Some emulators do offer other options that work. Some will do scanlines at 50% opacity mixed in with the image behind it. Some will do scanlines as 1 out of 4 lines when an image is scaled up.

Check out some of the MAME GLSL or HLSL CRT effects that add in very slight aperture grill, scanline and CRT curve effects, and they can be quite convincing. Definitely not over the top like it used to be done before we had GPU power to burn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmoove View Post
Of those four pictures, I remember my games looking the first picture on the left.
Also I prefer the first picture on the left.
I played NES via RF and SNES via scart on a big ass CRT back in the day, sitting about 1.5 to 2 metres back.
I've only heard of scanlines because it's an option in some emulators, for example zsnes.
It certainly depends on your telly. I've seen good quality TVs that offer better picture quality over S-Video than other rubbish models do over RGB/SCART. That can be due to all sorts of reasons, like just the build quality, quality of internal components, failing capacitors, convergence problems (i.e.: configuration of the electron guns and focus) and all sorts of other things.

Not to mention that some SCART TVs never even used RGB, and just took the composite video signal from the SCART cable! Pretty rude, but it happened from time to time. Remember that SCART is just a plug type, and doesn't define the signal sent down the wire. Even when using RGB, the sync signal was derived from composite video, so that was always there on a SCART cable, and cheaper TVs would just get lazy and take that.

Even in an all-digital world today, we get vastly different picture quality on different displays. As a bit of a snob Sony user, I get a pretty rude shock when I see cheap LCD TVs, and the plastic-looking skin tones and low detail edges they show.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2016, 6:46 PM   #72
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 874
Default

Had a good weekend. Got a 20" monitor back from repairs. Got a CPS1 Street Fighter 2: Hyper Fighting board. Installed my n64 RGB mod.

http://imgur.com/a/fbj6u

The image on the N64 is a bit dark, I think because my SCART cable has caps and resistors on the RGB lines.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2016, 10:19 PM   #73
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 27,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimmers View Post
The image on the N64 is a bit dark, I think because my SCART cable has caps and resistors on the RGB lines.
You need at least 75 ohm resistors for standard television spec loads (goes for RGB, S-Video, CVBS or anything else).

Typically SCART will have 220uF caps for some image cleanup. You can replace these with something a little higher to brighten things up a but (330uF works well for certain consoles).
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2016, 8:21 AM   #74
nimmers Thread Starter
Member
 
nimmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
You need at least 75 ohm resistors for standard television spec loads (goes for RGB, S-Video, CVBS or anything else).

Typically SCART will have 220uF caps for some image cleanup. You can replace these with something a little higher to brighten things up a but (330uF works well for certain consoles).
Yeah it's weird. Using these:

https://www.retrogamingcables.co.uk/...r-sale-dol-013

And the n64 mod from http://etim.net.au/

The cable is prefect on my Gamecube but with the n64 mod games like Doom64 are too dark.

I'll have to do some research to figure out what's going on.
nimmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2016, 11:10 AM   #75
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 27,485
Default

Very likely you'll need to change the caps in the cable (up from 220uF to 330uF), which will affect your other consoles. Being caps, you can't just add more in series.

Probably a good idea to buy a second cable and muck with that.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!