Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th December 2016, 6:27 PM   #31
ae00711
Member
 
ae00711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
* 40x 56 thread, 128GB render nodes
* 300GB of GlusterFS clustered storage (temporary while transcoding - final deliverable was on LTO6 tape)
* Linux and ffmpeg
tsk tsk tsk... shoulda dedicated a single Core 2 Duo rig & charged by the hour! trollololol
__________________
I LOVE CHING LIU
SMOKING IS UN-AUSTRALIAN
I prefer email to PM!

ae00711 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 15th December 2016, 6:32 PM   #32
ae00711
Member
 
ae00711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 970
Default

ok, running the app now..

why is it that the NV card is only being loaded up to ~63% and the AMD 99%?

I did some googling around yesterday, only concrete GPGPU mention re; Multipar was 'OpenCL'... I believe AMD are/were ahead in that area(?) or at least the in comparison for the two (generation) of cards I have.

I have a spare 7950... tempted to chuck that in instead now..
__________________
I LOVE CHING LIU
SMOKING IS UN-AUSTRALIAN
I prefer email to PM!

ae00711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2016, 10:12 PM   #33
ae00711
Member
 
ae00711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 970
Default

http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...1#post17403481

__________________
I LOVE CHING LIU
SMOKING IS UN-AUSTRALIAN
I prefer email to PM!

ae00711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 8:58 AM   #34
ae00711
Member
 
ae00711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 970
Default

could anyone teach me how to use this MultiPar?

I must be dialling in the settings wrong - the most I've done is move the 'redundancy' slider, tried @ 5% & 100%. At either 5% or 100%, the app makes 9 or 10 files.. @ 5% those files use up about as much space as the files that it is hashing - what's the point?? Might as well back up to another HDD etc! @ 100% the resulting hash(?) files take up.. something like 40GB or there-abouts - absolutely self-defeating, given the original folder is ~4GB.

Clearly I'm a nub!
__________________
I LOVE CHING LIU
SMOKING IS UN-AUSTRALIAN
I prefer email to PM!

ae00711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 9:13 AM   #35
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 28,122
Default

Tried to download MultiPar now to test it out, but both the .exe and .zip downloads reported that they had malware inside by Windows Defender.
__________________
Play old games with me!
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 9:21 AM   #36
ae00711
Member
 
ae00711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
Tried to download MultiPar now to test it out, but both the .exe and .zip downloads reported that they had malware inside by Windows Defender.
his domain has been hijacked apparently

get the real deal from here:

http://www.vector.co.jp/soft/dl/winn.../se460801.html

I obtained the above link from here:

https://www.livebusinesschat.com/smf...p?topic=6106.0
__________________
I LOVE CHING LIU
SMOKING IS UN-AUSTRALIAN
I prefer email to PM!

ae00711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 9:40 AM   #37
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 28,122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ae00711 View Post
his domain has been hijacked apparently

get the real deal from here:

http://www.vector.co.jp/soft/dl/winn.../se460801.html

I obtained the above link from here:

https://www.livebusinesschat.com/smf...p?topic=6106.0
Cheers. Not booted into Windows any more, so I'll have to test later.
__________________
Play old games with me!
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2017, 11:39 AM   #38
Gibbon
grumpy old man
 
Gibbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NSW
Posts: 5,525
Default

Seems fairly neat and easy to use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ae00711 View Post
could anyone teach me how to use this MultiPar?

I must be dialling in the settings wrong - the most I've done is move the 'redundancy' slider, tried @ 5% & 100%. At either 5% or 100%, the app makes 9 or 10 files.. @ 5% those files use up about as much space as the files that it is hashing - what's the point?? Might as well back up to another HDD etc! @ 100% the resulting hash(?) files take up.. something like 40GB or there-abouts - absolutely self-defeating, given the original folder is ~4GB.

Clearly I'm a nub!
Definitely doing something wrong. Here is a test with the redundancy slider set at 10% and 100%. 10% should use 10% of the total size of the files. 100% should equal the total size of the files (you'd never do this).


Click to view full size!


Also, there is a slider in the options to limit CPU usage if you so wish.
With it set at LOW, and GPU acceleration turned off, my CPU usage peaked at less than 20%. If you don't like seeing your CPUs doing what you bought them for, this could be an option


Click to view full size!

Last edited by Gibbon; 10th January 2017 at 11:53 AM.
Gibbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2017, 4:11 PM   #39
ae00711
Member
 
ae00711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibbon View Post
Seems fairly neat and easy to use.



Definitely doing something wrong. Here is a test with the redundancy slider set at 10% and 100%. 10% should use 10% of the total size of the files. 100% should equal the total size of the files (you'd never do this).

image
Click to view full size!

Also, there is a slider in the options to limit CPU usage if you so wish.
With it set at LOW, and GPU acceleration turned off, my CPU usage peaked at less than 20%. If you don't like seeing your CPUs doing what you bought them for, this could be an option

image
Click to view full size!
you only changed the slider, no other settings?
__________________
I LOVE CHING LIU
SMOKING IS UN-AUSTRALIAN
I prefer email to PM!

ae00711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2017, 4:31 PM   #40
Gibbon
grumpy old man
 
Gibbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NSW
Posts: 5,525
Default

Yes, that's right.
Gibbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2017, 9:24 AM   #41
Aetherone
Member
 
Aetherone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 8,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
but try doing workloads that take CPUs and GPUs months at full load
b... bu... but it's Prime stable for 58 minutes and 14 seconds ... as long as I don't wiggle the mouse or walk in the room
Aetherone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!