Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Business & Enterprise Computing

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th December 2016, 8:27 AM   #136
trevor68
Member
 
trevor68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canberra
Posts: 4,009
Default

yup true, datacentres are all well and good, but we still have a tape unit and a few servers in the building, handy for when the main Syd-Can link goes down and then the secondary link starts running like a turd, like exactly what happened last month and lasted over a week.
trevor68 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 24th December 2016, 8:51 AM   #137
Luke212
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,659
Default

as long as you are thinking about all these factors you are doing better than 80% of the dodgy local IT people around the country.
__________________
Democracy's greatest trick was convincing man he was informed.
Luke212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2016, 9:21 AM   #138
trevor68
Member
 
trevor68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canberra
Posts: 4,009
Default

HPES do try, sometimes I wonder if the problems they have are caused by absorbing EDS.
trevor68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2016, 2:06 PM   #139
Fred Nurk
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cairns QLD
Posts: 2,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chesto View Post
Right up until the first time your business' internet connection gets cut by Bob the Builder digging before dialing, and your entire business grinds to a halt because everything is now just in the cloud someone else's data centre.
It wasn't that long ago that the entire Northern Territory was cut off from communications with the rest of Australia either...
__________________
Insanity is doing the same thing every day and somehow expecting a different result.
People measure effort when they can't measure results. When someone complains of a lack of effort on your part, you've already won as they don't know what you are doing, and they don't know what you should be doing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke212 View Post
im an idiot savant.
Fred Nurk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2016, 2:55 PM   #140
Daemon
Member
 
Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: qld.au
Posts: 4,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke212 View Post
you can reduce labour if you go cloud. plus capital savings, plus utility savings. the internet will always be cheaper overall.
No no no no. You can get reduced time on infrastructure management but in 90% of the time you won't save money. If you move to the cloud expecting to save money, you'll be in for a rude shock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chesto View Post
Right up until the first time your business' internet connection gets cut by Bob the Builder digging before dialing, and your entire business grinds to a halt because everything is now just in the cloud someone else's data centre.
This is a false fallacy too. It's only applicable if you're thin client based or some form of remote app, and even then there's more chance of internal failure than there is remote issues. If you have local infrastructure which is "critical" then the same risks apply to "cloud" based systems.

We're 95% "cloud" based for our company, and thanks to the NBN (more failures on fibre than the DSL and midband ethernet) we've reverted to 4GX or similar 7 times this year. Zero productivity loss, especially with a router which can auto cutover. Bigger companies could easily afford redundant internet access via two different means. Meanwhile, we haven't lost connectivity to our DC for more than an hour in well over 6 years.
__________________
Fixing the internet... one cloud at a time.
Daemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2016, 4:57 PM   #141
IACSecurity
Member
 
IACSecurity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ork.sg
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s.Neo View Post
So step up and get an AWS Snowmobile. Hell, get a convoy of them. Really, unless your business is also a successful public cloud provider, your definition of scale is completely different to theirs.
https://aws.amazon.com/snowmobile/
If the trucks can swim it will be helpful. If they can't... well its going to take a while to ship them over the ocean.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s.Neo View Post
At the risk of repeating myself, when a natural disaster takes out the site, their data and systems can still be accessed from anywhere on the globe with an internet connection.
You repeat yourself because you don't read. When a natural disaster takes out their site.. computers don't matter. For all other scenarios where the site still functions, what do they do? Try looking at the link, and realising that they aren't hosting pictures of cats for people to look at. They are internally servicing people. When the links don't work, they still need to work. How will you fix that for them? (I used them because it seemed like a really simple example... obviously not simple enough).

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppet
Store your data in a system with the appropriate safeguards like two factor authentication for privileged functions and it gets much harder for hackers to compromise. Make it meet compliance standards like SEC 17a-4 or similar and then not even the sys admins can tamper with the data.
Having it offline would be a little smarter wouldn't it? But now you are referencing SEC standards, so I think the discussion is done.. your just doing the google on 'computer stuff' and posting links.
__________________
Wartcom man loves sad donkey
Whatever I say is generally bullshit Trololing. So get over it.
IACSecurity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2017, 12:27 PM   #142
darth_wolf
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,662
Default

https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/co...million_users/

Coincidence?
darth_wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2017, 12:33 PM   #143
Myne_h
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 6,255
Default

What's a living wage in NZ? by throwaway00001012345 in KiwiTech
[–]an-anarchist 1 point 5 months ago*
I'm from Wellington. If you are doing IT then Wellington is much better. See http://www.news.com.au/finance/econo...19982b842f7682
And the coffee is better than auckland. Rent is pretty high tho.
Though I currently live in Melbourne as the wages are much higher here and rent is cheaper! Senior Dev's for the company I work for would be on about AU$120K for approx 10yrs dev experience. I'm on AU$100K with about 5 years experience doing sysadmin/application support work.
How many years experience?
*Edit: And you can get some decent fibre connections for very cheap - unlimited 400Mbps up and down for NZ$120/mth
permalinksavecontextfull comments (9)reportgive gold

https://www.reddit.com/r/KiwiTech/co...4uw/?context=3

[–]Twanks 19 points 4 hours ago
solution for 28+ million users.
Wat??
permalinkembedsavereportgive goldreply
[–]an-anarchist[S] 15 points 4 hours ago
yes - whole country level. Totally borked solution.
permalinkembedsaveparentreportgive goldreply

https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/co..._name=sysadmin

You might be on to something
__________________
Don't cook bacon naked

Last edited by Myne_h; 5th January 2017 at 12:40 PM.
Myne_h is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2017, 12:38 PM   #144
darth_wolf
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myne_h View Post
You might be on to something
https://www.reddit.com/user/an-anarchist/submitted/

I would love to see how this pans out, i've got a feeling the thread might get pulled though.
darth_wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2017, 12:50 PM   #145
Myne_h
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 6,255
Default

Yeah, hence quoting the whole post + linking.
__________________
Don't cook bacon naked
Myne_h is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2017, 1:41 PM   #146
PabloEscobar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,514
Default

28 Million Cals... Might be worth becoming a reseller .
PabloEscobar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 2:32 PM   #147
IACSecurity
Member
 
IACSecurity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ork.sg
Posts: 874
Default

Looks like a joke post. ROFL
__________________
Wartcom man loves sad donkey
Whatever I say is generally bullshit Trololing. So get over it.
IACSecurity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 2:37 PM   #148
Myne_h
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 6,255
Default

[]an-anarchist[S] 3 points 18 hours ago
As I stated elsewhere, design calls for full 'cluster' with only two VMs with 2vCPU, 4GB RAM each. Second VM is replication only, no reads... I mean WTF? Luckily we get to actually build this how we want.
permalinksaveparentreportgive goldreply

https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/co...users/dc0ydju/

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA

2 CPUs and 4gb of ram.

So.... a phone? rofl!
__________________
Don't cook bacon naked
Myne_h is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 4:59 PM   #149
PsydFX
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myne_h View Post



BWAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA



2 CPUs and 4gb of ram.



So.... a phone? rofl!

Perfectly reasonable hardware specs for a DC serving no other role.
PsydFX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 8:19 AM   #150
trevor68
Member
 
trevor68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canberra
Posts: 4,009
Default

Just to be clear, the ATO suffered a loss of data internally, not externally.
trevor68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!