Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th January 2017, 6:22 PM   #31
cbwolf
Member
 
cbwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,084
Default

So i picked up my gear this morning and have been putting it together and testing it all arvo.

Happy to say my 7700k is running at an easy 5Ghz at 1.31v stable at 63 degrees under Prime95 with a Noctua NHD15 and ambient temp of 25 degrees.

Haven't bothered trying to eek out 5.1 or 5.2Ghz - this is good enough and the voltage is low.

Pretty fantastic really - happy to run it at this 24x7
__________________
i7 7700k | Asus ROG Z270E Strix | MSI GTX1080 Gaming X | 32GB Trident Z 3200Mhz DDR4 | 256GB + 1TB Samsung 960 m.2 SSD | Philips 43" 4k IPS Monitor
Over $5,500 in forum trades and counting!
cbwolf is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 6th January 2017, 6:28 PM   #32
headin2001 Thread Starter
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,794
Default

Great result. Just make sure you check what speed your CPU is running at with Prime running incase the board is underclocking it for the load.


Wraith, it's a case of me having more CM Nano on hand than Kryonaut, and to replace the Nano is only $10 a tube. I will test between the two though, but I believe the Krynonaut to be slightly better. We will see.
__________________
BF3-BF4 - snoopdagwood_dog
OCAU HWBOT TEAM - KaRtA82
headin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 6:39 PM   #33
cbwolf
Member
 
cbwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,084
Default

Nevermind - Asus AI Suite was lying, CPU is stable at about 81c using HWMOnitor.

Might need to see if i can drop the voltage a bit.
__________________
i7 7700k | Asus ROG Z270E Strix | MSI GTX1080 Gaming X | 32GB Trident Z 3200Mhz DDR4 | 256GB + 1TB Samsung 960 m.2 SSD | Philips 43" 4k IPS Monitor
Over $5,500 in forum trades and counting!
cbwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 7:18 PM   #34
zeropluszero
Member
 
zeropluszero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 3132
Posts: 5,783
Default

Delid it, you'll drop 20 degrees.
__________________
TeamAU
zeropluszero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 7:21 PM   #35
aussie-revhead
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St Clair 2759
Posts: 17,845
Default

Op dropped 11-12 with delid at 5ghz, still decent gain.

__________________
Bench 1- Asrock x99m Killer - 5960x - 32gb of Samsung E die DDR4- evga GTX 980Ti SC - Intel 600P m.2 512GB - Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 100Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Netbox - Dell 990 SFF - 2500 - 16GB ram - gtx750Ti - 240GB SSD - 2TB green
Current vehicles- Black 2007 ZX14 - VE V8 Calais (wifes car) - VN SS (for sale)
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 7:30 PM   #36
wraith.50
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussie-revhead View Post
Op dropped 11-12 with delid at 5ghz, still decent gain.


Yes but that was using Kryonaut under the IHS.

With a liquid metal TIM, such as CLU, you will get a 20+ degrees temperature drop.
wraith.50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 7:40 PM   #37
aussie-revhead
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St Clair 2759
Posts: 17,845
Default

Really that much better?

__________________
Bench 1- Asrock x99m Killer - 5960x - 32gb of Samsung E die DDR4- evga GTX 980Ti SC - Intel 600P m.2 512GB - Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 100Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Netbox - Dell 990 SFF - 2500 - 16GB ram - gtx750Ti - 240GB SSD - 2TB green
Current vehicles- Black 2007 ZX14 - VE V8 Calais (wifes car) - VN SS (for sale)
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 7:58 PM   #38
headin2001 Thread Starter
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,794
Default

It is Aussie. So much better. I have more results to add.

I have run this CPU at 5.2 and 1.4v at same temp as the current chart, maybe a bit better. Can't remember.

Update again tomorrow when I test more.

Quick images - Conducanaut Under - CM Nano over

First one - Gaming temps BF1 for 2 hours

http://i.imgur.com/VdFl7GB.png


And Geekbench

http://i.imgur.com/yXBIFeg.png
__________________
BF3-BF4 - snoopdagwood_dog
OCAU HWBOT TEAM - KaRtA82

Last edited by headin2001; 6th January 2017 at 8:03 PM.
headin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 8:15 PM   #39
aussie-revhead
Member
 
aussie-revhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St Clair 2759
Posts: 17,845
Default

Good stuff mate, what about firestrike physics score?

__________________
Bench 1- Asrock x99m Killer - 5960x - 32gb of Samsung E die DDR4- evga GTX 980Ti SC - Intel 600P m.2 512GB - Enermax Revo1250 - water cooled tech bench - QNIX 2560x1440 screen @ 100Hz - Aten 120Hz KVM
Netbox - Dell 990 SFF - 2500 - 16GB ram - gtx750Ti - 240GB SSD - 2TB green
Current vehicles- Black 2007 ZX14 - VE V8 Calais (wifes car) - VN SS (for sale)
aussie-revhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 8:35 PM   #40
cbwolf
Member
 
cbwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,084
Default

Jesus - not having a great time over here.

This Asus Strix z270E board is in shambles. Definately needs a bios update to stabilise things - which the Asus update utility tells me there is one, but i can't download it because Asus have nothing on their website

This board just seems to be constantly chucking voltage down this processors throat. In Windows 10, i launch Chrome or open a folder, and suddenly the voltage spikes to 1.3v+ and Asus QFan spins up all of my fans for 3 seconds.

My PC sounds like it's having an intermittent fit
__________________
i7 7700k | Asus ROG Z270E Strix | MSI GTX1080 Gaming X | 32GB Trident Z 3200Mhz DDR4 | 256GB + 1TB Samsung 960 m.2 SSD | Philips 43" 4k IPS Monitor
Over $5,500 in forum trades and counting!
cbwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 9:36 PM   #41
headin2001 Thread Starter
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aussie-revhead View Post
Good stuff mate, what about firestrike physics score?

Was in the other thread, but here it is again just for you.

At 5.2ghz but with Kryonaut.


http://i.imgur.com/gwawTbl.png
__________________
BF3-BF4 - snoopdagwood_dog
OCAU HWBOT TEAM - KaRtA82
headin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2017, 11:52 PM   #42
Dorz
Member
 
Dorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,820
Default

picked up my i7-7700k, asus z270f strix, 16gb gskill ripjaws v, 500gb samsung 960 evo m2, corsair h100i cooler today. should be a fair improvement from the i3-2130 i was using previously for a few tasks, which it was not cutting the mustard on!

cbwolf, i know what you mean with the motherboards needing a bios update, almost seems premature? mine isnt doing what you are saying, however when in bios if i turn the computer off with the on/off button, i need to turn the psu off and on again before it will boot again. it spins the fans for half a second and then nothing. only way to fix is to pull the plug :/

and no drivers on their website shitted me off, with no cd drive on the computer, and no cd drive on my laptop i had to find my external, plug it in to the laptop's esata, and am now copying the drivers onto a usb! gah.
__________________
Excellent trades: Too many to remember!
Quote:
Originally Posted by _the_duke_ View Post
Listen to some Justin Bieber. If it sounds crap, you're speakers have accurate sound.
Dorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2017, 8:51 AM   #43
Supersize
Member
 
Supersize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gold Coast QLD
Posts: 1,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbwolf View Post
Jesus - not having a great time over here.

This Asus Strix z270E board is in shambles. Definately needs a bios update to stabilise things - which the Asus update utility tells me there is one, but i can't download it because Asus have nothing on their website

This board just seems to be constantly chucking voltage down this processors throat. In Windows 10, i launch Chrome or open a folder, and suddenly the voltage spikes to 1.3v+ and Asus QFan spins up all of my fans for 3 seconds.

My PC sounds like it's having an intermittent fit
This is exactly the same thine the x99 Strix was doing on lauch, throwing far too much voltage at everything (CPU Core, VCCSA, VCCIO etc).
They finally fix it 4 BIOS's in, too late for some though.
Supersize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2017, 4:39 PM   #44
headin2001 Thread Starter
Member
 
headin2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 2,794
Default

Testing for minimum volts for Cinebench R15 to pass. 1.32v set in Bios, LLC1.



http://i.imgur.com/xuck4kU.png
__________________
BF3-BF4 - snoopdagwood_dog
OCAU HWBOT TEAM - KaRtA82
headin2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2017, 4:47 PM   #45
shane41
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the sticks NSW
Posts: 4,628
Default

Man that is sweet. Pop tha lid on that fukka
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by neoprint View Post
There is a group of us that get incredibly erect over such hardware. Maybe post in the retro section?
Haha ...........might be a bit rude that picture.
shane41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!