Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th July 2017, 1:48 PM   #1
hello people Thread Starter
Member
 
hello people's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: In a bucket
Posts: 240
Default RAM for Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R

Hi,

I built this PC back in around 2010 and it goes ok...though I remember the mobo is really particular about which RAM it likes.

I currently only have 6gb of RAM...which is Corsair xms3 DDR3 1600Mhz, 1.65V ver8.2A

I'd like to replace the RAM and put in 16gb of RAM.

Can anyone recommend suitable RAM for the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 2.0 mobo?

(on a side note, though my current installed RAM says it is 1600mhz...system properties in Windows 10/ Task Manager/ Performance says the RAM is only 400mhz...dunno why that is)

Anyway, thanks if you can suggest good RAM for this mobo.

Cheers

Edit: I guess this thread is interesting....http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2345609
__________________
Smile and nod

Last edited by hello people; 17th July 2017 at 2:01 PM.
hello people is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 8:23 PM   #2
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,127
Default

6 of 8 from a 64GB RipjawsZ 1600MHz kit (so 48GB) worked fine on my old Gigabyte X58 at 1866MHz with a 980X overclocked too. Been using GSkill since then, Corsair and Kingston just have too many darn incompatibilities.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 8:49 PM   #3
HobartTas
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hello people View Post
(on a side note, though my current installed RAM says it is 1600mhz...system properties in Windows 10/ Task Manager/ Performance says the RAM is only 400mhz...dunno why that is)
I think DDR2 was double clocked per cycle whereas DDR3 is quad clocked per cycle hence 400 Mhz = 1600 Mhz ram speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hello people View Post
Can anyone recommend suitable RAM for the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 2.0 mobo?
I have 3 sticks @ 8GB for a total of 24GB from a G-Skill F3-14900CL10Q-32GZBL working quite happily in my X58A-UD7 and the fourth stick I used for my NAS.
HobartTas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 3:51 AM   #4
Euphoreia
Member
 
Euphoreia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,356
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HobartTas View Post
I think DDR2 was double clocked per cycle whereas DDR3 is quad clocked per cycle hence 400 Mhz = 1600 Mhz ram speed.
It's only doubled, not quad Likely windows misreporting.
Euphoreia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2017, 3:01 PM   #5
Matthew kane
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 894
Default

Go into the bios and check your RAM speed.
__________________
Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHZ - Noctua NH-D14 | 96GB Crucial DDR3 1600MHZ | Asus Rampage IV Extreme (4901 bios) | 2 x Pascal Titan's | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro with LME47920's opamps | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB| 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green, 4 x 2TB Seagate LP | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250watt | Antec P280 + Veris Elite | LG BD Rewriter
Matthew kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2017, 5:02 PM   #6
akashra
Member
 
akashra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 3,615
Default

I'm surprised it works on an X58 board. Most early boards only supported 6GB - later revisions allowed 12GB.

Either way, good luck.
__________________
Punctuation is the difference between "Let's eat, grandma!" and "Let's eat grandma!".
akashra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2017, 5:28 PM   #7
Euphoreia
Member
 
Euphoreia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,356
Default

Many of the later ones supported a full 48GB.
Euphoreia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 1:33 PM   #8
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphoreia View Post
Many of the later ones supported a full 48GB.
They ALL do.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 3:27 PM   #9
demiurge3141
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne 3073
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hello people View Post
Hi,

I built this PC back in around 2010 and it goes ok...though I remember the mobo is really particular about which RAM it likes.

I currently only have 6gb of RAM...which is Corsair xms3 DDR3 1600Mhz, 1.65V ver8.2A

I'd like to replace the RAM and put in 16gb of RAM.

Can anyone recommend suitable RAM for the Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 2.0 mobo?

(on a side note, though my current installed RAM says it is 1600mhz...system properties in Windows 10/ Task Manager/ Performance says the RAM is only 400mhz...dunno why that is)

Anyway, thanks if you can suggest good RAM for this mobo.

Cheers

Edit: I guess this thread is interesting....http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2345609
That board takes most rams, it's very forgiving. Put anything in.
demiurge3141 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!