Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > Other Operating Systems

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd July 2017, 2:31 PM   #301
Statitica
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lae, Morobe, PNG
Posts: 2,948
Default

Just discovered compizconfig-settings-manager and compiz-plugins-extra

MATE just got a bit prettier on my laptop.
__________________
One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce, and canonized those who complain. - Dr. Thomas Sowell
Statitica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2017, 1:30 PM   #302
altefour
New Member
 
altefour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 33
Default

Any tips on running Visual Studio in Ubuntu? I haven't tried but it apparently doesn't work with Wine, and Code doesn't have the same kind of functionality. I'd rather not dual boot on my desktop but doing so with Windows 10 just for that particular Cert IV unit might be my only option.

Has anybody had any luck running Windows 10 in a VM?
altefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2017, 2:17 PM   #303
Primüs
Member
 
Primüs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW
Posts: 3,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by altefour View Post
Has anybody had any luck running Windows 10 in a VM?
I use virtualbox for Windows 10 VM on my Ubuntu boxes. My gaming rig has a dual boot just for some games but anything that doesnt require good 3D rendering I do quite comfortably in a VM.
Primüs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2017, 3:12 PM   #304
altefour
New Member
 
altefour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Primüs View Post
I use virtualbox for Windows 10 VM on my Ubuntu boxes. My gaming rig has a dual boot just for some games but anything that doesnt require good 3D rendering I do quite comfortably in a VM.
How does licensing work with a VM? Sorry if that's a silly question.

Also I can probably run it in Virtual Box on my desktop because I have a reasonable 16gb RAM. Not so sure about the 8gb on my laptop.
altefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2017, 10:08 PM   #305
Primüs
Member
 
Primüs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW
Posts: 3,296
Default

Licensing should work like normal i.e. treat it as if its its own PC.

Although I use less honest means of running Windows for my very limited use.
Primüs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
distros, faq

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!