Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th July 2017, 9:28 PM   #1426
SomeBoredGuy
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: south australia
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobster View Post
from what was mentioned earlier in the thread this motherboard isnt that good

imma look for the asrock itx as its looking good and has wifi onboard
__________________
Completed Sales List
Main Rig - 6700K @4.4ghz - 1.265v , GTX 1080ti with EK waterblock + backplate @ 2076mhz , 16gb ram @2666, corsair rm850x PSU, 2x sand disk ultra II 480 gb SSD , 1tb 7200 rpm HDD
looking to make a render rig (ryzen 1600/1700) selling some stuff I could use ? let me know
SomeBoredGuy is online now   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 20th July 2017, 8:04 AM   #1427
Zenskas
Member
 
Zenskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Launceston, 7249
Posts: 1,637
Default

They were probably just nitpicking. It's not the greatest board, but it's by no means a bad board. It's got plenty of USB ports, full sized RAM and PCIe slots, onboard wifi/bluetooth, good size+speed M.2 slot, 4x SATA ports, really what more connectivity do you need out of ITX.

The only "meh" things I can spot is the tight placement of the 8 pin CPU power connector, and the fact it's running a Realtek NIC.
It would seemingly shock some people to hear that 99% of users won't notice a difference between that and an Intel NIC for the majority of tasks. They will both be similar in overall throughput (with a slight edge to Intel) and I'm sure we can agree the tiny bit of extra CPU load won't make a difference especially if you are going with a 6 or 8 core chip - maybe it would make more difference on a quad core, which is why it mattered more when everyone was still running Intel quad cores. Drivers are solid, again not as good as Intel's driver support for a whole host of operating systems but if you will be running good ol' Windows 7/8/10 then there won't be a problem.

I think the bigger issue was more that people just wanted to see an AM4 ITX board with dual NIC's as that would suit a small form factor file server or similar purpose much better. For a HTPC, gaming machine, work machine etc a single Realtek NIC will do just fine - that's if you won't be using the wifi instead because if so then it's not even worth worrying about at all
__________________
STFU: i7-2600S @ 4.2GHz | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 | G.Skill RipjawsX 16GB @ 1600MHz | EVGA GTX TITAN SC | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | SilverStone HE02 | Corsair AX860 | SilverStone TJ08-EW | BenQ XL2720Z | Audio-Technica ATH-ADG1 | IBM KB-9930 | Logitech G502 | XTracGear Ripper XXL
Zenskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2017, 8:18 AM   #1428
Aussiejuggalo
Member
 
Aussiejuggalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland
Posts: 1,137
Default

It has seriously bad voltage control and LCC hardly works, if you set 1.4v even on the strictest LCC setting it'll drop to 1.38v or jump to 1.43v, not to mention the pathetic headsink on the voltage stuff.

Apparently the voltage problem is across a lot of Gigabyte boards so it's a common problem for them.
__________________
Folding Points

My baby: AMD 1800X / MSI B350M Mortar Arctic / G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200MHz C14 / Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X OC (Vega later) / Samsung 960 Evo 250GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB / WD Blue 1TB / EVGA G2 850w / Caselabs SM5 / Dell U2414H x2 & Asus VG248QE
Aussiejuggalo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2017, 9:30 AM   #1429
Zenskas
Member
 
Zenskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Launceston, 7249
Posts: 1,637
Default

I see, I had not heard of that but good to be aware of. I assume this is more of an issue when overclocking, is it OK at stock volts?

This review seemed to note no issues with the power circuitry, going as far to say it was better in that regard than the equivalent AsRock B350 ITX board. That doesn't mean it doesn't have issues though, I'd just be interested to find out more on that.

The heatsinks are also probably fine with a little bit of airflow over them. The BIOSTAR X370GTN has very similar heatsinks and I've heard it goes OK. Obviously better is always great but we must keep in mind the intended usage of a B350 ITX board - not really aimed at overclocking at all.
__________________
STFU: i7-2600S @ 4.2GHz | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 | G.Skill RipjawsX 16GB @ 1600MHz | EVGA GTX TITAN SC | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | SilverStone HE02 | Corsair AX860 | SilverStone TJ08-EW | BenQ XL2720Z | Audio-Technica ATH-ADG1 | IBM KB-9930 | Logitech G502 | XTracGear Ripper XXL
Zenskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2017, 10:20 AM   #1430
Aussiejuggalo
Member
 
Aussiejuggalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland
Posts: 1,137
Default

TTL at OC3D said he had problems with the voltage when he reviewed it, there's also a video review as well, goes more in depth about it in the video.
__________________
Folding Points

My baby: AMD 1800X / MSI B350M Mortar Arctic / G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200MHz C14 / Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X OC (Vega later) / Samsung 960 Evo 250GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB / WD Blue 1TB / EVGA G2 850w / Caselabs SM5 / Dell U2414H x2 & Asus VG248QE
Aussiejuggalo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2017, 10:28 AM   #1431
Phido
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,132
Default

I thought the main problem with the Gigabyte board was layout.
The 8 pin power connector is in a strange place, as is some other stuff. For some cases it will be a huge pain in the ass.

The Asrock board has a more conventional layout. But doesn't have any usb 3.1. The MSI board doesn't have wifi. The Asrock has intel lan. Gigabyte and Asrock support ECC ram. ASrock only has 6 build in USB ports.

So you really need to pick what is going to work for you.
Kinda annoyed there isn't a real premium AM4 itx board with Dual network or at least a 5 or 10 Gbps network.

I love mITX and have a Ncase M1 ready to go, but I think I will wait for the AM4 ryzen GPU's. That way I can save some coin on a

Instead I think I will build a threadripper box.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoameister View Post
Physics is being canned because it is irrelevant in the 21st century Australian economy. We to give our children the skills they need to become lawyers and real estate agents.
Phido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2017, 12:17 PM   #1432
Zenskas
Member
 
Zenskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Launceston, 7249
Posts: 1,637
Default

I read the review but couldn't find anything about voltage issues - but I will take a look at the video later tonight for sure

Seems for anyone running a stock AM4 CPU the cooling on VRM's is fine, well within the maximum temps - and can overclock a bit too so long as you have healthy airflow over the board which incidentally the good stock coolers do provide on the 1600/1700. Again I think this is fair compromise for a B350 ITX board, sure it would be awesome to see better cooling all round but for the intended usage scenarios it's OK. Far less concerning than the hot temps some people are getting on full blown ATX X299 boards at the very least

I agree the layout is not ideal for all cases, and the 8 pin location sucks

It's a bit like that at the moment, there just isn't a big enough selection or competition in the mATX and ITX boards on AM4 just yet. I can forgive the manufacturers to a degree though, as they all have to work on so many platforms right now with A320/B350/X370 + X399 + X299 + Z370/H370 all coming out in such a short amount of time from each other. Crazy times
__________________
STFU: i7-2600S @ 4.2GHz | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 | G.Skill RipjawsX 16GB @ 1600MHz | EVGA GTX TITAN SC | Samsung 850 EVO 500GB | SilverStone HE02 | Corsair AX860 | SilverStone TJ08-EW | BenQ XL2720Z | Audio-Technica ATH-ADG1 | IBM KB-9930 | Logitech G502 | XTracGear Ripper XXL
Zenskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 9:36 PM   #1433
SomeBoredGuy
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: south australia
Posts: 60
Default

hey guys can i get some thoughts from you ?

looking at my main rig (in sig)

would it be a good idea to try trading my 6700k mobo for a ryzen 1700 + mobo and possibly ( 1800x ?)

im getting into more production based stuff i current game on a 4k 48inch and will be moving to 3400 x 1440 (predator maybe) with a 1080ti


seeing all these benchmarks makes me think the cpu change from a 6700k to there wouldnt affect gamign while give amazing production yields

also guessing i should beable to cover the costs as a 6700k is going 340 plus based on sales etc
__________________
Completed Sales List
Main Rig - 6700K @4.4ghz - 1.265v , GTX 1080ti with EK waterblock + backplate @ 2076mhz , 16gb ram @2666, corsair rm850x PSU, 2x sand disk ultra II 480 gb SSD , 1tb 7200 rpm HDD
looking to make a render rig (ryzen 1600/1700) selling some stuff I could use ? let me know

Last edited by SomeBoredGuy; Yesterday at 10:51 PM.
SomeBoredGuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 9:49 AM   #1434
darkbastard
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Duranbah - near Kingsclif
Posts: 186
Default

I came from a 7700k at 4.80 to a 1700 at 4.0ghz - both using a corsair h115i and game on a 4K 43" Phillips and haven't noticed a difference at all

This is obviously subjective and the Phillips is limited to 60hz anyway. Also I don't tend to play much in the way of first person shooters being more in to things like fallout, diablo and WOW which are obviously not as punishing.
__________________
Beer is my friend!
darkbastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:00 AM   #1435
Aussiejuggalo
Member
 
Aussiejuggalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland
Posts: 1,137
Default

Don't forget more cores gives you more overhead for intensive games / background tasks and Ryzen loves fast RAM because of the infinity fabric.

On another note OC3D retested the 1500X, 1600X & the 1800X:

Results start around 21:00 for you impatient people.

__________________
Folding Points

My baby: AMD 1800X / MSI B350M Mortar Arctic / G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200MHz C14 / Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X OC (Vega later) / Samsung 960 Evo 250GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB / WD Blue 1TB / EVGA G2 850w / Caselabs SM5 / Dell U2414H x2 & Asus VG248QE

Last edited by Aussiejuggalo; Today at 10:11 AM.
Aussiejuggalo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 2:56 PM   #1436
SomeBoredGuy
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: south australia
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkbastard View Post
I came from a 7700k at 4.80 to a 1700 at 4.0ghz - both using a corsair h115i and game on a 4K 43" Phillips and haven't noticed a difference at all

This is obviously subjective and the Phillips is limited to 60hz anyway. Also I don't tend to play much in the way of first person shooters being more in to things like fallout, diablo and WOW which are obviously not as punishing.
im not to fussed on higher refresh rates to be honest, more of a relaxed gamer,
my main game is dota 2 anyways

curious but what were the difference in temps going from intel to amd ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussiejuggalo View Post
Don't forget more cores gives you more overhead for intensive games / background tasks and Ryzen loves fast RAM because of the infinity fabric.

On another note OC3D retested the 1500X, 1600X & the 1800X:

Results start around 21:00 for you impatient people.

movie

yeah i saw that love his channel, was expecting more gains but lets be honest the bigger improvements will be on stability on the platform more than performance from what ive seen
__________________
Completed Sales List
Main Rig - 6700K @4.4ghz - 1.265v , GTX 1080ti with EK waterblock + backplate @ 2076mhz , 16gb ram @2666, corsair rm850x PSU, 2x sand disk ultra II 480 gb SSD , 1tb 7200 rpm HDD
looking to make a render rig (ryzen 1600/1700) selling some stuff I could use ? let me know
SomeBoredGuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 3:00 PM   #1437
Aussiejuggalo
Member
 
Aussiejuggalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast Queensland
Posts: 1,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeBoredGuy View Post
yeah i saw that love his channel, was expecting more gains but lets be honest the bigger improvements will be on stability on the platform more than performance from what ive seen
Pretty sure AMD squeezed everything they could out of Ryzen which is why overclocking maxes out at 4GHz (unless you get a golden chip).

Honestly my systems been pretty stable since launch and every BIOS seems to either add overclock settings or memory support, gonna be interesting to see how it responds when I start playing with voltages .
__________________
Folding Points

My baby: AMD 1800X / MSI B350M Mortar Arctic / G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200MHz C14 / Sapphire Radeon R9 290 Tri-X OC (Vega later) / Samsung 960 Evo 250GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB / WD Blue 1TB / EVGA G2 850w / Caselabs SM5 / Dell U2414H x2 & Asus VG248QE
Aussiejuggalo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 3:45 PM   #1438
OJR
Member
 
OJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,435
Default

New C6H Beta BIOS here guys: http://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/r...#post_26237954

The guys over at overclock.net are reporting great things from the BIOS.
OJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 4:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!