Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Software Topics > Windows Operating Systems

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th June 2017, 5:43 PM   #5581
kogi
Member
 
kogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 2031
Posts: 4,537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankari View Post
Tried that. I get nothing from headphones. I think my onboard audio is borked.
Killed the sound card on my compute stick as well. reverted and all is working well.
kogi is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 18th June 2017, 8:25 AM   #5582
i7Baby
Member
 
i7Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 276
Default

reverted? To what?
__________________
ASRock x370 TaiChi, R7-1700, H110 GTi, 16GB 3200-14 GSkill, 2 x R9 Nano, 250GB EVO, 2 TB Barracuda, EVGA 750G2 in Enthoo Pro plus LG 34UM88 monitor, Azio kb and Gigabyte 6580 Mouse
i7Baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2017, 9:55 AM   #5583
kogi
Member
 
kogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: 2031
Posts: 4,537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by i7Baby View Post
reverted? To what?
Windows 10 before creators update
kogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2017, 9:45 AM   #5584
GDavid
Member
 
GDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ADL
Posts: 1,310
Default

Have a minor problem with my desktop icons being reset to 16:9 from my native 21:9 after "low power/standby" (?) mode. Likely drivers? Or anyone have any other ideas?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASASN View Post
Pfft my rotary tool, hammer and axe disagree :P
GDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2017, 12:22 PM   #5585
mareke
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 6,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GDavid View Post
Have a minor problem with my desktop icons being reset to 16:9 from my native 21:9 after "low power/standby" (?) mode. Likely drivers? Or anyone have any other ideas?
I've found that hibernation mode rather than standby mode is less likely to cause problems because the previous state of the computer is restored from memory.

I use a program called Desktop OK (see the link below) to restore desktop icons if they change as happens with Windows 7 if I switch between computers using a single monitor. The program might restore the icons to the right size if you can't find a solution. It only takes 2 clicks of a mouse to restore the desktop and minimise the program to the icons in the taskbar.

http://www.softwareok.com/?seite=Freeware/DesktopOK
mareke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2017, 2:08 PM   #5586
BlueRaven
Member
 
BlueRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Back in Sydney
Posts: 3,897
Default

I woke up the other morning to find all my desktop icons jammed up on the left side of the screen again, as happens after changing to and from a lower res.
Was fine when I went to bed, I hadn't been messing with desktop res or other monitors, and the machine wasn't sitting at a login prompt when I woke up as would be the case after an update.

I can't believe Windows STILL doesn't have a "Save/Restore/Favourite Desktop Icon Positions" function built in.
Surely it couldn't be too hard to add a routine which writes that data into a section of the desktop.ini (or wherever) and then backs up that file prior to any messing about with the desktop, to make reverting nice and easy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mareke View Post
I've found that hibernation mode rather than standby mode is less likely to cause problems because the previous state of the computer is restored from memory.

I use a program called Desktop OK (see the link below) to restore desktop icons if they change as happens with Windows 7 if I switch between computers using a single monitor. The program might restore the icons to the right size if you can't find a solution. It only takes 2 clicks of a mouse to restore the desktop and minimise the program to the icons in the taskbar.

http://www.softwareok.com/?seite=Freeware/DesktopOK
It really shouldn't make any difference whether you're restoring from standby/sleep or hibernate.
Sleep saves/restores the OS state using RAM, hibernate writes it out to/reads it back from disk. In theory they should work identically.
In theory. In practice, I always found sleep to be more reliable, at least it is on my Win7 notebook. I don't have a Win10 portable to compare it with.
It also depends on how long you're leaving the machine in that suspended state for. Hibernate should certainly be more reliable if you're talking "days at a time".

I'll have a look at DesktopOK, sounds ideal. Thanks.
__________________
"There is, you must recall, the kind of serious study that will give you the confidence to strike your match to the mighty wick... which will illuminate yet another portion of the darkness" - Wynton Marsalis, 'Premature Autopsies (Sermon)'

Last edited by BlueRaven; 25th June 2017 at 2:17 PM.
BlueRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2017, 6:38 PM   #5587
GDavid
Member
 
GDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ADL
Posts: 1,310
Default

Thanks OCAU!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASASN View Post
Pfft my rotary tool, hammer and axe disagree :P
GDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2017, 11:13 AM   #5588
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,698
Default

Anyone experienced issues with Windows 10 PCs going to sleep after only a minute or two, and not being able to change this?

Could be related to a recent update as it's happening to both my laptop and HTPC.
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M8Pe(G) 512GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2017, 11:33 AM   #5589
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
Anyone experienced issues with Windows 10 PCs going to sleep after only a minute or two, and not being able to change this?

Could be related to a recent update as it's happening to both my laptop and HTPC.
Are you doing activities at this time?

What are your 'Power Options' set at, that is what is the plan?

Settings>System>Power & Sleep>Additional power settings
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2017, 12:54 PM   #5590
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
Anyone experienced issues with Windows 10 PCs going to sleep after only a minute or two, and not being able to change this?

Could be related to a recent update as it's happening to both my laptop and HTPC.
we had this at work with some of our PCs.

I wasn't involved with fixing it but from memory it had something to do with the Windows Secure Time service... or something similar
__________________
Intel i7 860, Gigabyte PA55-UD5, 2x4GB DDR3, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x2TB Seagate SATA in RAID 0, NVIDIA GTX580, Pioneer DVD burner, Silverstone OP850W, ASUS 23" LCD, Acer 23" LCD, Microsoft X6, Microsoft Intellimouse, Noctua NH-D14
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2017, 11:07 AM   #5591
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 2,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
Anyone experienced issues with Windows 10 PCs going to sleep after only a minute or two, and not being able to change this?

Could be related to a recent update as it's happening to both my laptop and HTPC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pantner View Post
we had this at work with some of our PCs.

I wasn't involved with fixing it but from memory it had something to do with the Windows Secure Time service... or something similar
This is the fix that we have used

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...ts-to-a-previo

even though it says it's fixed in 1607, i've been told we've still had the issue since then.

Not sure about Creators, as we don't have many machines running that yet.
__________________
Intel i7 860, Gigabyte PA55-UD5, 2x4GB DDR3, 300GB Velociraptor, 2x2TB Seagate SATA in RAID 0, NVIDIA GTX580, Pioneer DVD burner, Silverstone OP850W, ASUS 23" LCD, Acer 23" LCD, Microsoft X6, Microsoft Intellimouse, Noctua NH-D14
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2017, 2:39 PM   #5592
altefour
New Member
 
altefour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 33
Default

There's a thread in the 'newbie' forum asking why we can't search for the Recycle Bin in the Start menu. You can run shell:recyclebinwindow in Run but can somebody who knows more about WIN file systems please clear this up for us?
altefour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2017, 2:49 PM   #5593
millsy_c
Member
 
millsy_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 11,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by altefour View Post
There's a thread in the 'newbie' forum asking why we can't search for the Recycle Bin in the Start menu. You can run shell:recyclebinwindow in Run but can somebody who knows more about WIN file systems please clear this up for us?
Holy cow I'd not noticed this before, same behaviour on Windows 8.1 also.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke212 View Post
You are talking like an expert beginner. Talk less and listen more.
millsy_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2017, 10:01 PM   #5594
museumman
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 29
Default

After an update a few days ago my little HTPC box chucked a wobbly and just hates GPUs.

I've gone right back to clean install on a fresh .iso from M$ and runs nicely until I install drivers for gpu. I have even removed the gpu and run on the CPUs iGPU ( Intel G4560 ) and get the exact same problem. Any action takes ages, mouse is sketching across screen lagging and leaping, videos play choppy as etc. When I System Restore back to before driver install for GPU/iGPU its good again but no 4K output

PC is G4560/Asrock B250M-Pro4/RX460

Was running fine until update but I dont have an older W10 .iso to try now, stupid me for deleting my backup copies after installing last time and everything was grand.
museumman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 5:51 AM   #5595
GDavid
Member
 
GDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ADL
Posts: 1,310
Default

Last weeks "Update" added a strange one into my machine:

X keystroke is spammed infinitely, think I've located it to starting logitech's LGS controller software because as soon as it's started the spamming starts. Posted on logitech's "support community" forum but tbh I don't hold out much hope.

Any ideas from OCAU?
AND rolled my fkn ankle at work badly on Friday too
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASASN View Post
Pfft my rotary tool, hammer and axe disagree :P
GDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!