Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Newbie Lounge

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th June 2017, 9:30 PM   #1
FR3D1 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
Default Slow external USB 3 HDD

I just got a new 2TB USB 3 Hard Drive. I transfer some file into it from an SSD but it only copy at 35mb/s then I ran some benchmark it show that it can do ~80mb/s. I got confused so I put in another drive and copy the exact file across and it copied at 80mb/s. This helps to prove that its not the port not operating at USB 3 so does anyone know why is it only copy so slow?
FR3D1 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 19th June 2017, 10:09 PM   #2
Andy3008
Member
 
Andy3008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Paradise City 5075
Posts: 860
Default

Was the 2nd drive the same as the original ?
__________________
WORK - 7500 - Maximus VIII Hero - 1070 Strix OC - 16G ROG Doms 3200 - Samsung 850 EVO - Corsair AX1200i - Tt Core P3 - Kraken X61
REST - ASUS G752 laptop
PLAY - 2015 HSV Senator
Andy3008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 11:22 PM   #3
callan
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,283
Default

35MB/Sec sounds awfully like USB2 (which tops out at 40MB/Sec).
Did you get any messages like "this device could be operating faster" when you plugged it in?

I have found USB 3 drive performance to vary wildly.

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2017, 11:11 AM   #4
FR3D1 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy3008 View Post
Was the 2nd drive the same as the original ?
The drive that only copies at 35 is a Seagate Expansion and the one that can do 80 is Toshiba Cavio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by callan View Post
35MB/Sec sounds awfully like USB2 (which tops out at 40MB/Sec).
Did you get any messages like "this device could be operating faster" when you plugged it in?

I have found USB 3 drive performance to vary wildly.

Callan
I didn't get any message as such.

I pretty sure that around 80mb/s is standard for all USB 3.0 hard drive these days (well maybe 10-15mb/s less but not half) just really confused why when I ran benchmark show that it can do 80 but when copying actual (single) file it only top at 35.

Last edited by FR3D1; 20th June 2017 at 11:15 AM.
FR3D1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2017, 1:09 PM   #5
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,070
Default

35-80 sound about right for 2.5" mechanical 5400RPM drives.
If a drive already has files on it, writing may be in fragments, when a disk is seeking, it's going at 0KB/sec.
terrastrife is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 9:44 PM   #6
FOTW
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 646
Default

It also depends on what type of data your copying, I do allot of manual backups for customers and use a Tosh Canvio Basic USB3 and it can hit 80mbs when copying large files such as a video file however once it hits the folders that is storing pictures, music and documents it can drop right down to 20-40Mbs.

Also it can be a combination of both HDDs heads flying all over the place copying fragmented files as well as read/write speeds of both HDDs.

Try copying exact data to each HDD and see if there is a difference. Does the new HDD get to 80Mbs at all when copying data?

The seagate may have a lower amount of cache and cant keep a sustained 80mbs.
__________________
01011001011011110111010100100000011001110110010101 10010101101011001000000011101100101001

OCAU Night Owl

OCAU Camera Club

Last edited by FOTW; 21st June 2017 at 9:47 PM.
FOTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 10:44 PM   #7
brainstew
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 52
Default

You can also try confirm in Device Manager that the drive hasn't decided to sliip to a USB 2.0 internal hub. Open Device Manager then click View-> Devices by connection.

On my laptop, I have to restart with the drive plugged in or it will stick to a USB 2.0 internal hub because it has a dodgy internal hub with the laptop's webcam and bluetooth chip connected to...
__________________
Kaoru + Aoi + Shiho = Infinity
Apex Glacier, Denon AH-D2000, Fostex T50RP; Sony VAIO VPCZ1 | 13.1" 1920x1080 72Hz | 64GBx2+128GBx1 Samsung SSDs; Spinpoint M8 1TB HDD


Sony Vaio Club Member #20

Last edited by brainstew; 21st June 2017 at 10:46 PM.
brainstew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2017, 8:46 PM   #8
FR3D1 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrastrife View Post
If a drive already has files on it, writing may be in fragments, when a disk is seeking, it's going at 0KB/sec.
I think thats the problem. I did a surface test before using the drive and it must filled up the disk. I deleted the files but as you know Windows doesn't actually 'remove' them but rather overwrite when you copy a file. Is there a way can can force it to delete the file without format?

Last edited by FR3D1; 24th June 2017 at 3:40 PM.
FR3D1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2017, 9:38 PM   #9
FOTW
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FR3D1 View Post
I think thats the problem. I did a surface test before using the drive and it must filled up the disk. I deleted the files but it doesn't actually 'remove' them but rather overwrite when you copy a file. Is there a way can can force it to delete the file without format?
Not sure if you can zero out the HDD with out formating it. Try piriform CCleaner and use the wipe free space function try the 1 pass option.
__________________
01011001011011110111010100100000011001110110010101 10010101101011001000000011101100101001

OCAU Night Owl

OCAU Camera Club
FOTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2017, 11:43 PM   #10
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,033
Default

What is the make, model and S/N:# of the unit?

What is the format of the HDD? differences can be found from the format type.

Can you swap the cable?

As stated above file type (construct) can also influence copy rate.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768

Last edited by Bold Eagle; 23rd June 2017 at 11:51 PM.
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2017, 4:51 PM   #11
FR3D1 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOTW View Post
Not sure if you can zero out the HDD with out formating it. Try piriform CCleaner and use the wipe free space function try the 1 pass option.
This seem to be the solution. I can now copy file at 100mb/s. Is it weird that the drive show up as SCSI Disk Drive in Device Manager?
FR3D1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2017, 4:56 PM   #12
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,033
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FR3D1 View Post
This seem to be the solution. I can now copy file at 100mb/s. Is it weird that the drive show up as SCSI Disk Drive in Device Manager?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SCSI
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!