Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Electronics & Electrics

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th June 2017, 2:26 PM   #1
GetSmart Thread Starter
Member
 
GetSmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,689
Default Any of this user-replaceable?

I have a 8-port multicharger and only 2 ports are working.

Is any of this user-replaceable to get it working again?

GetSmart is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 19th June 2017, 2:38 PM   #2
dakiller
(Oscillating & Impeding)
 
dakiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Gippsland
Posts: 7,277
Default

Pretty much the only part that will blow in there are the fuses, replace away.
dakiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 2:38 PM   #3
Satriani
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 212
Default

assuming that those missing fuses is deliberate?

Multimeter on diode test/beep test should do the trick, it looks rather simple.

You should be able to test the diodes etc, and solder in new ones as required. (doubtful that they would fail but if they were to do so)

Last edited by Satriani; 19th June 2017 at 2:40 PM. Reason: (doubtful that they would fail but if they were to do so)
Satriani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 4:31 PM   #4
merlin13
Member
 
merlin13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: back in BrizVegas
Posts: 1,376
Default

Fuses there are easily replaceable. Depending what's it's actually being used to charge I'd also be pondering to fit slow-blow fuses, assuming they're not already being used of course

Personally I'd also be very inclined to get someone with a multimeter and a serious knowledge of soldering/repair techniques to give it a once-over as well, because the solder joints on a lot of those high power resistors (those white rectangular things) look absolutely shite... if you get stuck on this I'm over here in Darra but I'm armpits 'n alligators this week.

And depending how often you blow a fuse a slight ghetto mod of a suitable LED indicator setup across each fuse wouldn't be a bad idea to get someone to look at for you as well mebbe.
__________________
Carpe Jugulum.
Never Underestimate The Powers of a Dark Clown!
merlin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 6:58 PM   #5
GetSmart Thread Starter
Member
 
GetSmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin13 View Post
Fuses there are easily replaceable. Depending what's it's actually being used to charge I'd also be pondering to fit slow-blow fuses, assuming they're not already being used of course

Personally I'd also be very inclined to get someone with a multimeter and a serious knowledge of soldering/repair techniques to give it a once-over as well, because the solder joints on a lot of those high power resistors (those white rectangular things) look absolutely shite... if you get stuck on this I'm over here in Darra but I'm armpits 'n alligators this week.

And depending how often you blow a fuse a slight ghetto mod of a suitable LED indicator setup across each fuse wouldn't be a bad idea to get someone to look at for you as well mebbe.
It's a commercial product ($370)...

No idea about the previous fuses! I wouldn't assume anyone would have removed them on purpose, but who knows!

Can anyone identify what fuses are required?


They are charging Lego Mindstorm batteries.
GetSmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 7:27 PM   #6
Life_Essence
Member
 
Life_Essence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,484
Default

Probably either M205 500mA Glass Fuses
https://www.jaycar.com.au/500ma-m205...-fuse/p/SF2156

or 3AG 500mA Glass Fuses
https://www.jaycar.com.au/500ma-3ag-...-fuse/p/SF2188

Just pull one out and take it to Jaycar (or wherever) just to make sure it's the same size and 500mA.
You should also be able to tell if it's blown cause if you look inside it it should have a thin bit of wire connecting the two metal caps inside it.
__________________
Main Rig: i7 930 under water, 660ti + 8800GT(Physx), 6GB DDR3
Other Main "Rig": 1971 VH Valiant Charger 770

[Logitech 'G' Owners Club Member #22]
Life_Essence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 7:29 PM   #7
Pugs
Member
 
Pugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Highbury, SA
Posts: 8,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetSmart View Post
It's a commercial product ($370)...

No idea about the previous fuses! I wouldn't assume anyone would have removed them on purpose, but who knows!

Can anyone identify what fuses are required?


They are charging Lego Mindstorm batteries.
the fuses will have all the info you need on them.. pull one out and look...
__________________
PC Gamer, Licenced Cabler,MilsimCosplayer
My Becoming a Cabler & Tool Thread
To The Cloud...!!
Pugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2017, 9:32 PM   #8
GetSmart Thread Starter
Member
 
GetSmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,689
Default

Thanks guys! I'll give it a crack tomorrow... Much appreciated
GetSmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2017, 6:43 AM   #9
RobRoySyd
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,690
Default

Obviously the fuses are 500 milliamp, that's on the board. The precise size/type of the fuse is hard to determine without knowing the dimensions. Problem is there's at least two types with similar dimensions. as already said best to take one to Jaycar to be sure.

I'd suggest buying a packet of 10 and replacing all the fuses even though it seems 2 are still OK. The lower current glass fuses do have a habit of failing for no good reason other than old age.

I have to say for the cost of what's in that box it should have LEDs on each output so the user would know a fuse had blown/failed.
__________________
"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." JFK
RobRoySyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2017, 7:10 AM   #10
Satriani
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetSmart View Post
It's a commercial product ($370)...
snip


ouch! looks pretty basic for that cost!!

Good luck hope you can get it fixed mate
Satriani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2017, 4:28 PM   #11
merlin13
Member
 
merlin13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: back in BrizVegas
Posts: 1,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetSmart View Post
...It's a commercial product ($370)...
Faaaaark, talk about Charging What The Market Will Bear...

Quote:
...They are charging Lego Mindstorm batteries...
Narr, can't be Lego-related - it's not made up of small interlocking blocks...
__________________
Carpe Jugulum.
Never Underestimate The Powers of a Dark Clown!
merlin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2017, 4:53 PM   #12
Satriani
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 212
Default

Anyone want to hazard a guess as to the value of the components in there? $10-12?
Satriani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2017, 5:55 PM   #13
RobRoySyd
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satriani View Post
Anyone want to hazard a guess as to the value of the components in there? $10-12?
About $50 all up, those plastic cases and the 5W resistors are the highest cost components. The PCB may have cost a fair amount too and then there's the hand assembly. It all comes down to how many there's a market for and I suspect less than 100 globally, maybe less than 10.
__________________
"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." JFK
RobRoySyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 9:17 AM   #14
Stooge007
Member
 
Stooge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Shire, Sydney
Posts: 8,791
Default

gotta factor in R&D costs and other overheads though
__________________
I am a registered Tax Agent and run an accounting/bookkeeping practice

www.precisetaxsolutions.com.au
Stooge007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 11:36 AM   #15
merlin13
Member
 
merlin13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: back in BrizVegas
Posts: 1,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRoySyd View Post
About $50 all up, those plastic cases and the 5W resistors are the highest cost components. The PCB may have cost a fair amount too and then there's the hand assembly. It all comes down to how many there's a market for and I suspect less than 100 globally, maybe less than 10.
Manufacture for international sales of a Name Brand product like that? Nup, in the quantities they'd be making it'd be well under $10, packaged in the retail boxes stacked on the pallets ready for shipping...

Anything over that the purchasing officer should get fired.
__________________
Carpe Jugulum.
Never Underestimate The Powers of a Dark Clown!
merlin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!