Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th July 2017, 1:54 PM   #5431
Matthew kane
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 721
Default

I had some of the 5000 chipset dual xeon boards years ago. Pita to setup if you don't have existing server hardware due to them requiring specific socket 771 server formfactor coolers (Dynatron or ones from OEM's). Not worth playing around unless you have coolers for the boards as mentioned.
__________________
Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHZ - Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB OCZ Platinum Series DDR3 1600MHZ | Asus Rampage IV Extreme (4901 bios) | Zotac AMP! Edition GTX 980 Ti | PNY GTX 465 unlocked to 470 | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro with LME47920's opamps | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB| 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green, 4 x 2TB Seagate LP | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250watt | Antec P280 + Veris Elite | LG BD Rewriter
Matthew kane is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 15th July 2017, 1:34 AM   #5432
adz Thread Starter
Member
 
adz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krumm View Post
Looking at pickup up an old server dual xeon with a S5000VSA board just to play around with, but I haven't had any experience with these. Besides needing fully buffered DDR2 which I'd need to get some of are there any other pitfalls or required hardware to watch out for to get these up and running?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew kane View Post
I had some of the 5000 chipset dual xeon boards years ago. Pita to setup if you don't have existing server hardware due to them requiring specific socket 771 server formfactor coolers (Dynatron or ones from OEM's). Not worth playing around unless you have coolers for the boards as mentioned.
I have RAM and CPU coolers should you need them, I also have a few different matched 771 CPU's if you're interested.
__________________
Commodore Amiga A600HD | MC68000@7.14MHz | 2MB Chip RAM | 8MB Fast RAM | Indivision ECS | 2GB CF Card | Commodore 30W PSU | Integrated Keyboard | Commodore Mouse

Victoria - The $afety State
adz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2017, 5:09 PM   #5433
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,684
Default

Posted off an old phone collection I had...


Click to view full size!


Back when new models weren't just incremental updates!
__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte GA-990FX-Gaming, AMD FX-8350, 16GB DDR3, Sapphire Radeon R9 290, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 2TB WD Black, EVGA 850W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Shuttle HOT-591P, Cyrix MII-400GP, 64MB PC133, Voodoo Banshee, 16GB SSD, Creative Sound Blaster AWE64
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 11:57 PM   #5434
callan
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,260
Default

As alluded to earlier I started a new slow-burn experiment/project today: Just for shits'n'giggles converting a 1541 to use a track zero sensor. Apart from the reliability aspect it's just an interesting intellectual exercise. Don't ask why: just two dogs.
It will take quite some time due to some necessary "staged holds" so I'll just lob things in this thread as they happen.

The 1541C (which is actually designated 1541B) firmware supports the sensor, which can be enabled with a jumper. Both the "B" controller board and firmware have design flaws which made it a pretty crap drive. There were bit density zone bugs, T0 switch detection bugs and other nasties, and the cost-reduced controller used a monolithic to reduce component counts that was inferior and unreliable.

The drive I've chosen is a "1541C" which is actually a straight 1541 in a white case, Newtronics drive and a slightly updated native 1541 controller board. Not to be confused with the 1541-II. Confused? Yeah - so am I.

There is an IMPROVED 1541 C(I mean B) version of the firmware which fixes most of the bugs (And the infamous "Save@replace bug" that trashed directories), but poses problems as there are changes in the LOWER and UPPER 8K ROM address ranges. Not a problem with the 1541C as it uses a single 16K ROM, but the native 1541 uses 2 8K ROMS. So I need to split the ROM images, have 2 burned and handle them both. Handling ROM checksums, ROM switching and hacking the JiffyDOS ROM (in 6502 assembly) to handle the altered setup, whilst maintaining compatibility (which means jumping to patch tables in a VERY CROWDED ROM). At least the source code was recently discovered

The native 1541 board is also lacking the necessary logic. I need a pair of inverters and there's only a single inverter spare: a 74LS04 is the most convenient.
I HATE using "dead-bug" hacks: they look awful and unprofessional, and they are every bit as reliable as they look.

THERE though I've been lucky, as unlike the classic 1540 shortboard the later rev. 1541 board I'm using has a couple of unpopulated 14 pin solder pads with most pins unconnected. After a bit of track-tracing I determined that I could drop a 74LS04 Hex (6way) inverter in, and have 4 inverters available.


So I removed pins 1-4 from a milled-pin socket, fitted it, and installed the 75LS04. With Ground/VCC on pins 7 & 14 that leaves 4 input/output pairs active: more than I need
If you look closely at the image below you can see that the bottom left 4 pins don't have any metal contacts, remaining unconnected. The board actually routes them to the clock circuitry so I don't want them interfering. (full res image HERE - sorry it's a bit flakey - took it with my phone)



That's as far as I got today: if I get some time tomorrow I'll work on the analogue side: powering the LED and hooking up the optical sensor. There's a small debounce circuit which I'll probably mount on the sensor board, but I haven't quite worked out the best way to do that. It's only an R/C circuit, so it can go pretty much anywhere.

Then gettings the ROM images done. That'll be fun, but least I can (mostly) test them out in VICE - a software emulator.

All a total and utter waste of productive time

Callan

edit: just noticed I should fit a decoupling cap in the provided pass-through solder pads
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven

Last edited by callan; 18th July 2017 at 12:16 AM.
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2017, 11:22 PM   #5435
callan
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,260
Default

No photos today, just an update: One step forwards, two steps back.
I'd co-opted some of the PCB connectors for the drive switches and finished all the soldering. Just thought I'd meter it all out to make sure I made no mistakes......

Just as well I did: turns out there are some tracks concealed UNDERNEATH the pin header that strap most of the pins I was using to +12V Morover a trace I added for functionality would have shorted +12V to ground

Since these traces were otherwise unused they're not documented on any of the schematics. I'd have to do a bucket-ton of cutting and rerouting of traces to make it work, and since that would defeat the purpose of making it tidy, I'll just have to bite the bullet and put in another pin header dedicated to the track zero sensor. Bugger: another trip to Jaycar. IF they have the header I want.

So I undid all the board reworking, and fired it up to test.

It was at that precise moment that the mains power switch decided to join the the fuse carrier in crumbling and falling apart.
Nothing for it - I plundered one from a 1541 donor carcass, cut out the old one and soldered/(double)sleeved the donor switch into the wiring.

Finally fired it back up. All working, but all I have to show for it is a swapped out power switch and a couple of logic connections.

In the retro world it doesn't take much for your day to turn to shit Ah well, at least I didn't BREAK anything!!

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven

Last edited by callan; 19th July 2017 at 11:51 PM.
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2017, 11:30 PM   #5436
Hater
Member
 
Hater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,157
Default

Bought a pair of G4 Cubes and I have no idea why, i'll never use them.

Ho hum. At least they were cheap.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
Quote me in 2026, and if I'm wrong, I'll buy you a nice steak dinner.
Hater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2017, 11:36 PM   #5437
elvis
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
Posted off an old phone collection I had...

pix

Back when new models weren't just incremental updates!
My wife's HTC 10 is doing stupid things yet again, so it's back off to the Optus Shop for them to faff about with some more and not actually do anything useful (side rant: fuck phone network providers and locked phones).

Meanwhile, she's on her Nokia 1110 for a few weeks while Optus faff about (oh, yeah, she doesn't get a temp phone either - thanks for nothing, Optus). All the same, it's retro city for her. No Google Hangouts, no Facebook, SMS with no images and a dozen new emojis that don't work. Quite the throwback.

She also mentioned 2G is phased out August? Anyone here going to have a crack at setting up their own private GSM network any time soon?
__________________
Play old games with me!
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 5:21 AM   #5438
clonex
Member
 
clonex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: north pole
Posts: 16,127
Default

I wonder if any wap services still exist. Lol
Edit: seems that phone doesnt support wap
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by de_overfiend View Post
I feel a lot safer in my 20yo VS commodore than in some newer eurohatch or similar

Last edited by clonex; Yesterday at 5:23 AM.
clonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dos, mmx, pentium, retro

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!