Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th July 2017, 6:06 AM   #1
silentkilla92 Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Liverpool, NSW
Posts: 563
Default HDD Errors

Hi guys I've had my PC built for me about 18 months ago and about 6 months ago I got brand new SSD HD and SATA HDD and reformatted etc.

Everything has been working well up until a couple weeks ago - now my HDD is always pretty loud, even when sitting idle and I've got a couple error messages recently. Please see below.

I have all my important docs backed up... but any tips on what I should do?

I just use my PC for emails, and storing documents and photos and browsing the web... Nothing too strenuous...





My PC has been a bit slow lately too. I've run Microsoft Security Essentials as well as Malwarebytes and no issues found. Also did a Disk Cleanup of both disks.

I'm running Windows 7.

Any help would be great!

Cheers
silentkilla92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 8:34 AM   #2
Tenoq
Member
 
Tenoq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silentkilla92 View Post
...but any tips on what I should do?
Probably should be in troubleshooting forum, but anyway... backup the data on the drive and replace it.

Check the SMART data with something like CrystalDiskInfo or GSmartControl. Based on the Windows logs I'd say it's the larger drive failing, but it makes sense to check.
__________________
Successful traders: MANY!
Tenoq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 8:36 AM   #3
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 50,479
Default

backup data, run a manufacturers disk diagnostic.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 1:07 PM   #4
Akh-Horus
Member
 
Akh-Horus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Vic
Posts: 10,502
Default

Joining the queue - replace the mechanical drive straight away, the noise is usually an indication that it is close to failure with the mechanicals. Complete backup and complete reinstall of windows.
__________________
[Logitech 'G' Owners Club Member #1]
OCAU Fishing Club Member #43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgB deano View Post
I'm looking forward to polishing my new big knob
Quote:
Originally Posted by kombiman View Post
I've blown a guy at .444 and he could talk. Should have been dead but was very very well practiced
Akh-Horus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 7:39 PM   #5
FOTW
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waterford, Ireland
Posts: 674
Default

Always backup data first then run the demo version of HDTune check the health first for warnings and if you want you can run a sector scan. If you get any warnings or bad sectors replace HDD.
__________________
01011001011011110111010100100000011001110110010101 10010101101011001000000011101100101001

OCAU Night Owl

OCAU Camera Club
FOTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 10:20 PM   #6
Matthew kane
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 857
Default

Sounds like the platter head motor is dying inside the mechanical hard drive, this causes irregularities with seek access times to a specific surface area of the platter hence why you're getting some slowdowns and mechanical noises from the drive.

If it is a high pitch whine, do not use your hard deive any further, backup data now and replace the drive or get it RMA'd if it is under warranty.

As mentioned above, mechanical noise from within the hard drive is an indication the drive is failing fast. Backup data now.
__________________
Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHZ - Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB OCZ Platinum Series DDR3 1600MHZ | Asus Rampage IV Extreme (4901 bios) | Zotac AMP! Edition GTX 980 Ti | PNY GTX 465 unlocked to 470 | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro with LME47920's opamps | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB | OCZ Vertex Plus 120GB| 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green, 4 x 2TB Seagate LP | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250watt | Antec P280 + Veris Elite | LG BD Rewriter
Matthew kane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 6:10 PM   #7
i7Baby
Member
 
i7Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 286
Default

Seagate - check with Seatools. WD has their own.
__________________
ASRock x370 TaiChi, R7-1700, H110 GTi, 16GB 3200-14 GSkill, 2 x R9 Nano, 250GB EVO, 2 TB Barracuda, EVGA 750G2 in Enthoo Pro plus LG 34UM88 monitor, Azio kb and Gigabyte 6580 Mouse
i7Baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!