Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Troubleshooting Help

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th March 2017, 3:14 PM   #31
Phitec Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 4300
Posts: 52
Default

OH okay guys i think i fixed it, i used the asus oc tool (i think it oc'ed to 4.5ghz) and it now its running as i expected it too, *will overclock properly myself once i have some time to research as its been a few years since i last oc'ed* thanks for the help guys!
Phitec is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 24th March 2017, 4:57 PM   #32
nCrypt
Member
 
nCrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phitec View Post
OH okay guys i think i fixed it, i used the asus oc tool (i think it oc'ed to 4.5ghz) and it now its running as i expected it too, *will overclock properly myself once i have some time to research as its been a few years since i last oc'ed* thanks for the help guys!
since both boards are s1150, could always try the 4690k in the z87 and the 4570 in the z97 (assuming both boards have latest bios) and see if the problem persists

if it does, Z97 board is too blame, if it doesnt, something with the CPU

Probably power states related.
__________________
1.5960X@4.8Ghz 1.35V WC X99 ROG R5 E10 32GB TridentZ 3200C14 GTX1080 Ti SLI WC CaseLabs S8
2.7700K@5Ghz 1.30V WC Z270 ROG APEX 16GB TridentZ 3200C14 GTX1080 STRIX OC WC Phanteks Luxe Tempered
3.7600K@5Ghz 1.31V H115i Z270 ROG STRIX 16GB TridentZ 3200C14 HD630 Caselabs S8
nCrypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 7:33 PM   #33
mr_mordred2095
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,811
Default

Now that I think of it, I've seen some Z97 boards not bring the CPU up to full speed correctly. Turn off speedstep in BIOS.
mr_mordred2095 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2017, 10:25 PM   #34
bennyg
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Oztraya
Posts: 2,867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phitec View Post
OH okay guys i think i fixed it, i used the asus oc tool (i think it oc'ed to 4.5ghz) and it now its running as i expected it too, *will overclock properly myself once i have some time to research as its been a few years since i last oc'ed* thanks for the help guys!
Yeah something's still wrong when you get 'equivalent' performance from 4.5ghz and 3.2ghz versions of the same CPU

You should download hwinfo, there are a whole lot of throttle reasons in the sensors display, and it'll also show you in realtime the speed the CPU's actually working at

see the top right of this screenshot for what I'm talking about:

Click to view full size!
__________________
P870DM-G 6700K delid+LM @4.5GHz 1.185V - 32Gb DDR4-2666CL18 - 4K QFHD 17" - 980M SLI @1376/2950/1.06V
P370EM 3740QM@3.9-4.1Ghz - 16Gb DDR3 - no working internal display (yet) - retrofitted SLI 1070 MXM
Trades: >90 Complaints: <0
bennyg is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!