Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Retro & Arcade

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
View Poll Results: What Amigas do you currently have in your collection?
Amiga 500 59 50.43%
Amiga 500+ 11 9.40%
Amiga 600(HD) 14 11.97%
Amiga 1000 12 10.26%
Amiga 1200(HD) 39 33.33%
Amiga 1500 1 0.85%
Amiga 2000(HD) 20 17.09%
Amiga 2500(HD) 2 1.71%
Amiga 3000(T/UX) 5 4.27%
Amiga 4000(T) 9 7.69%
Amiga CDTV 3 2.56%
Amiga CD32 18 15.38%
Amiga Prototype (1000+/3000+/3500/Other) 1 0.85%
Amiga Compatible (Draco/Access/Minimig/Pegasos/MIST) 3 2.56%
AmigaOne (SE/XE/MicroA1) 3 2.56%
AmigaOne (500/X1000) 1 0.85%
Emulators - I don't have real Amigas anymore 22 18.80%
Emulators - I've never seen/owned a real Amiga, but wish I did! 5 4.27%
My Amigas are all original - no mods other than original expansion cards, accelerator cards, RAM cards, sidecars, floppies, and SCSI/IDE HDD's of the day. 17 14.53%
My Amigas feature modern-day modifications such as DVI/HDMI/IDE/SATA/USB/RAM/CPU/GOTEK and CF upgrades. 9 7.69%
I own a mix of original and modified Amigas. 21 17.95%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 117. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th July 2017, 9:43 PM   #2236
DerekP
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 467
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickatroid View Post
Ooh, nice led lights for it http://a1200bifrost.com/
Neat! Now where's the RGB backlit mech keyboard?
DerekP is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 14th July 2017, 9:43 PM   #2237
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvarez View Post
image

3D printed a bracket for a naked GoTek. I dont have any of the original boot floppies so this will be a permanent fixture.

I've decided to go with an ATX psu for convenience and they are basically free, compared to $100 for a new supply. Also recycling is always nice.

GBS-8200 is all setup as well. Its far from perfect but considering its $40 I am happy with it.

Ill finally be playing with my Amiga soon. I skipped the 16bit computers back in the day, so its all new to me.
That A500's keyboard is so white!

I don't reckon the keyboard on the A500 was that white brand new! It's as white as the keyboard on my A1200.
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 24GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2017, 6:57 PM   #2238
Mickatroid
Member
 
Mickatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,554
Default

RGB back-lit keyboards are blingtastic, I am, perhaps for this reason, determined never to own one

Lukhash is da bomb for hifi chiptunes. I bought his whiole collection too.
Mickatroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 7:55 PM   #2239
alvarez
Member
 
alvarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Geelong 3218
Posts: 2,614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flu!d View Post
That A500's keyboard is so white!

I don't reckon the keyboard on the A500 was that white brand new! It's as white as the keyboard on my A1200.
The dangers of retro bright. The key lettering is even washed out on this keyboard. Not that you can tell from the potato camera.

Here is an equally bad photo of what it looked like originally:
__________________
WTB: Any old SSD (for a HTPC boot drive)
WTB: 440BX Slot 1 board (Retro OC fun)
alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 7:11 AM   #2240
Omarko
Member
 
Omarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kellyville
Posts: 4,113
Default

hey guys, so I got my CF adapter and 4GB card off ebay loaded with goodies. I was plugging it in the A1200 that I bought (see previous links) and I had to apply pressure to get the connector in, not too much but still a fair bit.

now what happens is that I get bad picture, I can barely see the floppy on boot / workbench and applying gentle pressure with a rubber on the chips causes screen to change colors etc ...

I assume some connections had to be impacted when I was putting the CF connector in? Is this fixable? How can I troubleshoot this ?
__________________
i5 6600K, Asrock Z170 Extreme 7+,16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200Mhz , GTX 1080, 256GB Evo 850, 480GB Sandisk Ultra, 960GB Sandisk Extreme, 2x2TB RAID1, Enermax Revolution 1250W, Phanteks Enthoo Primo Ultimate , 40" 4k Philips monitor, Sensei, G19s
Omarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 7:31 AM   #2241
flu!d
Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS
 
flu!d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,589
Default

It really shouldn't have taken that much force to connect the CF>IDE adapter to the IDE header?

How are you connecting the Amiga to your monitor, are you sure what you're seeing isn't just the very poor quality of the composite output? Are you able to provide a photo of what you're seeing?
__________________
Show us yer HTPC!

Dell T5500, Xeon X5675 Hex core @ 3.46Ghz max, 24GB RAM, GTX 670FTW, 60GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD OS drive, 2 x 1TB home/storage drives, Dual Acer V243HQ 1920 x 1080 monitors, Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS and loving it!
flu!d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 9:12 AM   #2242
Omarko
Member
 
Omarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kellyville
Posts: 4,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flu!d View Post
It really shouldn't have taken that much force to connect the CF>IDE adapter to the IDE header?

How are you connecting the Amiga to your monitor, are you sure what you're seeing isn't just the very poor quality of the composite output? Are you able to provide a photo of what you're seeing?
it wasnt that much force but still enough to gently bend the motherboard if that makes sense.

Amiga is connected to TV through a SCART - HDMI converter, it works fine as all my other Amigas are displaying output correctly.

here is a short video of what I mean :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-byr...ature=youtu.be
__________________
i5 6600K, Asrock Z170 Extreme 7+,16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200Mhz , GTX 1080, 256GB Evo 850, 480GB Sandisk Ultra, 960GB Sandisk Extreme, 2x2TB RAID1, Enermax Revolution 1250W, Phanteks Enthoo Primo Ultimate , 40" 4k Philips monitor, Sensei, G19s
Omarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 9:56 AM   #2243
breech Thread Starter
Member
 
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Syd
Posts: 1,759
Default

Flexing the PCB is often recommended for A500 or other through-hole Amigas to fix intermittent problems, but flexing surface mounted components (A1200/A600) leads to these kind of issues. You can keep doing pressure tests to try and isolate the problem more, but you may weaken more connections. It's best to apply pressure before turning on the Amiga because an intermittent connection on a processor may not fall back to working without a power cycle.

It looks like you have some pins that are no longer connecting to the board properly - probably in multiple locations. There are 3 methods to resolder the pads, all are difficult, not for newbies - use a proper soldering station and liquid flux. Good time to replace the capacitors too.

Reflow with soldering iron
Reflow with heat gun/heat bar
Oven reflow - I wouldn't recommend baking Amigas, I've never heard of anyone succeeding.

So unless you have very good soldering skills, give it to someone to repair.

It looks like a memory/video buffer kind of fault by the way.

Last edited by breech; 22nd July 2017 at 9:58 AM.
breech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 10:01 AM   #2244
Omarko
Member
 
Omarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kellyville
Posts: 4,113
Default

yeah I thought that would be the case. The amiga works fine otherwise ...

can you recommend someone who can fix this and what would it cost me?
__________________
i5 6600K, Asrock Z170 Extreme 7+,16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200Mhz , GTX 1080, 256GB Evo 850, 480GB Sandisk Ultra, 960GB Sandisk Extreme, 2x2TB RAID1, Enermax Revolution 1250W, Phanteks Enthoo Primo Ultimate , 40" 4k Philips monitor, Sensei, G19s
Omarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 11:06 AM   #2245
breech Thread Starter
Member
 
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Syd
Posts: 1,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omarko View Post
can you recommend someone who can fix this and what would it cost me?
I'm ok with through hole stuff, but I don't have the gear for SMD. Can anyone help out?

You could put in a repair request in at Amibay
breech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 2:03 PM   #2246
Sektor
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 117
Default

Is the picture still bad with the CF adapter removed? How does the composite picture look?
Sektor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2017, 4:12 PM   #2247
Omarko
Member
 
Omarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kellyville
Posts: 4,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sektor View Post
Is the picture still bad with the CF adapter removed? How does the composite picture look?
yes to first question.

whats a composite picture?
__________________
i5 6600K, Asrock Z170 Extreme 7+,16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200Mhz , GTX 1080, 256GB Evo 850, 480GB Sandisk Ultra, 960GB Sandisk Extreme, 2x2TB RAID1, Enermax Revolution 1250W, Phanteks Enthoo Primo Ultimate , 40" 4k Philips monitor, Sensei, G19s
Omarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:02 AM   #2248
Sektor
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 117
Default

Composite is the output from the yellow RCA jack. Try connecting that to a TV. Have you tested the SCART adapter with anything else? It could be a fault with the Amiga but if composite works then maybe it's an issue with the SCART cable or adapter.

Last edited by Sektor; Yesterday at 12:06 AM.
Sektor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 7:28 PM   #2249
Omarko
Member
 
Omarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kellyville
Posts: 4,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sektor View Post
Composite is the output from the yellow RCA jack. Try connecting that to a TV. Have you tested the SCART adapter with anything else? It could be a fault with the Amiga but if composite works then maybe it's an issue with the SCART cable or adapter.
oh ok, not its not issue with scart cable or adapter as they work fine with other Amigas I have, must be something with the motherboard. Still trying to find someone in AU who can look at this / repair this so if anyone can recommend someone, please let me know !
__________________
i5 6600K, Asrock Z170 Extreme 7+,16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200Mhz , GTX 1080, 256GB Evo 850, 480GB Sandisk Ultra, 960GB Sandisk Extreme, 2x2TB RAID1, Enermax Revolution 1250W, Phanteks Enthoo Primo Ultimate , 40" 4k Philips monitor, Sensei, G19s
Omarko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!