Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Business & Enterprise Computing

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th July 2017, 4:02 PM   #24796
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 15,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by power View Post
also QLD not Coldberra, you are lucky to get an entire office to agree to that temp.

MIIIIINUS 7.
NSanity is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 17th July 2017, 4:17 PM   #24797
DavidRa
Member
 
DavidRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NSW Central Coast
Posts: 2,892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by looktall View Post
someone on technet has described the situation perfectly...
Do you remember when Microsoft had developers who understood that the world didn't end at Seattle's harbour, and some places didn't have 10GbE to the desktop and 1ms latency to US datacenters?

Pepperidge Farm remembers...

So fecking annoying.
__________________
Folding as djr 45,000 Club @ 4,000,000 Points Milestone
Earlier: Folding as djr(at)wamoz(dot)com 20,000 Club @ 250,000 Points Milestone
Blogging at http://www.pdconsec.net/blogs/davidr/
DavidRa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 4:24 PM   #24798
cvidler
Member
 
cvidler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canberra
Posts: 10,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by power View Post
we have a largish office that has pockets of warm and cool so it balances out.

also QLD not Coldberra, you are lucky to get an entire office to agree to that temp.
Currently have the door open because the heating is set to "9th circle of hell", it's 29 degrees inside.
__________________
We might eviscerate your arguments, but we won't hurt you. Honest! - Lucifers Mentor
⠠⠵
[#]
cvidler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 4:26 PM   #24799
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 15,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvidler View Post
Currently have the door open because the heating is set to "9th circle of hell", it's 29 degrees inside.
#russellprecinctinaction
NSanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 4:32 PM   #24800
BoutS
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: International
Posts: 3,717
Default

wow 29degrees.

Go toilet, slap facial cheeks, come back..sit down, feign collapse..mumble something.

Next day blame aircond, say how lucky you were you didnt hit ya head.

Queue 22 degrees.
__________________
esquobar - bf4/wow/*
BoutS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 4:33 PM   #24801
TehCamel
Member
 
TehCamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,872
Default

Client determined they didn't wish to proceed with my NBN proposal (which was, in all liklihood, more cost effective in every way.)

so being a kind soul, was specific about what they needed to do/tell their provider.
namely:
1. disconnect the un-used circuit, not the main circuit
2 reuse the secondary circuit to put the new nbn on
3. test it all out before cutting over
4. dhcp scope exists and is managed by the server, subnet is this.
5 port forwards are required, they are this.
6. before cutting over, if there's a new IP address, we need to adjust DNS MX records first and add a secondary.

So far, end result has been:

1. At least they disconnected the corect circuit
2. I assume they put the nbn connection on this circuit
3. they did not.
4. no, we'll put DHCP on your modem thanks very much. AND we'll use an entirely different subnet.
5. Nah, not necessary. but we WILL enable UPNP
6 no, we won't do this either, so you have no opportunity to adjust the SOA and TTL details before hand
7. What do you mean, we shuldn't enable IPv6 by default, with no firewall? What do you mean, mail is being bounced across the world now because we're prioritising traffic over ipv6?


I mean.. it'd be fine to turn ipv6 on, if it served much purpose, or if the pre-work was done.
all the rest of it, just shaking my head.
TehCamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 4:38 PM   #24802
cvidler
Member
 
cvidler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canberra
Posts: 10,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
#russellprecinctinaction
Nowhere near there, thankfully. done my time there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoutS View Post
wow 29degrees.

Go toilet, slap facial cheeks, come back..sit down, feign collapse..mumble something.

Next day blame aircond, say how lucky you were you didnt hit ya head.

Queue 22 degrees.
Glad you specified.
__________________
We might eviscerate your arguments, but we won't hurt you. Honest! - Lucifers Mentor
⠠⠵
[#]
cvidler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 4:50 PM   #24803
BoutS
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: International
Posts: 3,717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvidler View Post
Nowhere near there, thankfully. done my time there.



Glad you specified.
Cheeks were added after 1 quick proof read.
__________________
esquobar - bf4/wow/*
BoutS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 5:51 PM   #24804
elvis Thread Starter
Old school old fool
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by looktall View Post
trying to work out why a 1703 win10 client is having issues connecting to the wsus server which is now made more difficult due to microsoft changing the way windows update logs are generated.


someone on technet has described the situation perfectly...
Sounds like they've following the Lennart Poettering school of shitty logging formats.

Quote:
Originally Posted by samus View Post
Mandatory winter rant:

Blow Heaters.
Yup, we get folks plugging them into UPS ports (you know, the ones that are red and say "computers only"? Yeah, those ones).

Not to mention folks still can't figure out years later that blowing hot air at the air conditioning thermostat makes it want to blow more cold air. That one has to be explained every few months to the same people, it seems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepito View Post
anyone know where yahoo.com email data is currently stored?
A few sites listed here:
http://www.datacenterknowledge.com/a...w-data-center/

Nebraska, Quincy, New York,

Also within that link, a tonne of stories about Yahoo's security screwups.
__________________
Play old games with me!

Last edited by elvis; 17th July 2017 at 6:03 PM.
elvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 6:12 PM   #24805
7nothing
Member
 
7nothing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidRa View Post
Do you remember when Microsoft had developers who understood that the world didn't end at Seattle's harbour, and some places didn't have 10GbE to the desktop and 1ms latency to US datacenters?

Pepperidge Farm remembers...
Your concerns regarding Microsoft's total lack of awareness to the world outside of USA will be addressed in the Fall Creators Update...

OK... Maybe the one after that.
__________________
blbk. My domain name expired.
7nothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 6:49 PM   #24806
Daemon
Member
 
Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: qld.au
Posts: 4,813
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSanity View Post
MIIIIINUS 7.
After spending years spending a few days a month in Canberra, I don't miss the mornings Worse as a travelling visitor, having to ensure the car is pointed towards the sun in the morning or carrying spare credit cards to clear the windscreen.

It's terrible here in QLD, Brisbane hit 26c again today and was above 20c for most of the day. Dropped to a balmy 18c now that it's nearly 7, any colder and I'll have to put pants on! :P
__________________
Fixing the internet... one cloud at a time.
Daemon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 10:23 PM   #24807
itsmydamnation
Member
 
itsmydamnation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 9,758
Default

So here i am in 2017 @ 2200 hours rebuilding a production TMG array................... only to get a fucking sql express 2008 install error on the 2nd host........

mother fucker!
__________________
OCAU Guitar Players Club #22
xp2500 @2310 210x11 stock hsf |asus a7n8x deluxe | 1024mb ddr400 | X800 445/515
Get a grip adolf, you lost the war, and you can't kill any more jews.
Rhythm in jump. dancing close to you D3 account1 D3 account 2
itsmydamnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 10:55 PM   #24808
Dre_
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 559
Default

Wasn't TMG discontinued like a decade ago?
Dre_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 11:19 PM   #24809
looktall
Working Class Hero
 
looktall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: brabham.wa.au
Posts: 23,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dre_ View Post
Wasn't TMG discontinued like a decade ago?
Since when has that ever mattered.
looktall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 7:48 AM   #24810
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 15,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsmydamnation View Post
So here i am in 2017 @ 2200 hours rebuilding a production TMG array................... only to get a fucking sql express 2008 install error on the 2nd host........

mother fucker!
#russellprecinctinaction
NSanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!