Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Networking, Telephony & Internet

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th August 2017, 9:34 PM   #1
BobJustBob Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PERTH, W.A.
Posts: 207
Question I want to KILL my phone!

i currently have a dedicated phone line with telstra. with nbn i won't technically require a dedicated phone line, so unlike before, i now even more (i did consider going naked) question the purpose and point of maintaining a dedicated phone line that costs $324 anually - not counting calls. some people probably already gathered that i must not make many actual phone calls. correct. in fact, whilst i might make 2-5 a month, sometimes less, 99.9% are fluff i make because i can since i have a phone. i can basically live (yes, really) without having a landline now - except for mommy. yes, dearest mumsie can't be cut off. if i kill off my telstra landline (because i'm already rocking internet via nbn fttp ftw - and that's all i want, fucking internet) how will i call mumsie or she me? we yak a couple times per month, sometimes up to or past an hour. so here i am asking people who socialize and shit, because i absolutely don't. what are my options for what i want, which is actually just to be able to dial a local (perth) number and talk to mumsie. she is old and not into internet or mobiles. don't bother, those two options are off the table. she does have, and will until her death, a dedicated phone line. i use skype on a windows pc (for free to other skypers) but know you can buy credit for real money which then allows you to call real phones. at least i think it is so. could that be an alternative? oh sure, as it is, she calls me too, but her not being able to could work too, because instead of me calling her twice per month and she me, the same, i'd just call her all four times. i say four, but it's really about two per month. once she calls and once i call, specific instances notwithstanding.

so apart from mobiles, what options do people have? remember that i pay $324/year for a real dedicated phone line and really only around another $10-20 on top for calls, so if any alternative is even half that, it won't be worth it. i mean if any alternative is around $150 or so, i might as well keep a real phone going which allows me to make any calls anytime i want and all that jazz.

i don't think i'll turn it off, so i suppose if i really think about it, i am refreshing myself with what alternatives there are nowadays, so i know just in case, and so that i have an updated (since the 90's) plan.

i mean i am not in such bad shape that i can't afford to keep a $350ish landline going, shame on me, but it's the mindfuck. for all intent and purposes, i keep a dedicated $324/year phone just for mum, so she can call me and i her. around 24ish calls per year counting incoming/outgoing.

oh and one important question about any of these "software" phones. how do they handle (if at all) instances when you have to "press 1" to continue and such? which nowadays is basically any place you call including dominos. with a real phone, you just press the keypad, and that's that. i assume from a technical perspective that actually sends a tone down the line and la la la... but since software "phones" are fake and you don't use a physical keypad, can they emulate the same result? i don't know, i never ever used "software" phones, but if i was ever to switch, they would have to be able to handle that, lest i could never call a business or most places. like, imagine using a rotary phone nowadays. apart from homes, you'd be stuck at a menu with no way to navigate it.
BobJustBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2017, 9:42 PM   #2
ipv6ready
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: North Sydney
Posts: 914
Default

Just cancel the telstra line lol
__________________
MSI WS63-7RK, 4k workstation laptop
i7-7700hq, Quadro P3000, UP3214Q and UP2414Q

For sale in WTS thread. MSI Z77a-GD80, Cosmos II
ipv6ready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2017, 9:53 PM   #3
Renza
Member
 
Renza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, 5051
Posts: 4,611
Default

cancel the telstra line and convert to VoIP. Hook it up to the same phone you use now using an ATA (adapter) that has the appearance of having a landline, but not the cost associated with it.

Some providers are free, you just pay for the calls you make. Others have a monthly fee of $5 or so. Calls are pretty cheap, my provider is like 5c/call to any landline in Australia. There's some real savings to be had.
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz | AsRock Z77 Professional | 16gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz | Gigabyte GTX580 | Seasonic X750 | Silverstone TJ07 | Crucial M4 256GB | 2x Dell U2011
Canon 5D Mark III | Canon EF 24-70 f/2.8L | Canon EF 17-40 f/4L | Canon EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 | Canon EX-580II | Manfrotto 190 Pro B
Traded over $22,000 on OCAU! - PM for recent traders
Renza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2017, 10:35 PM   #4
Copie
Member
 
Copie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 12,256
Default

TLDR.

Anyways if you dont need a home phone then cancel it, or as above said get a voip connection.

I havent had a home phone in years, always just used my mobile and had naked ADSL2 (and now FTTP NBN)
__________________
My Solar stats
Trump 2016
Make America Great Again!
Copie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2017, 8:07 AM   #5
caspian
Member
 
caspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,210
Default

I fail to see why mobile is not an option. both parties dial a number and talk.

my 70 year old mother quite competently changed over her ADSL2+ with POTS landline to NBN FTTB with VoIP all by herself, including connecting all the hardware and reconfiguring the wifi on her laptop, iPad and wireless printer.

dialling a different number seems well within reasonable expectation, if need be save the thing on a speed dial for her.
__________________

Please do not contact me directly for advice on NBN related issues. Your ISP is your contact point for support. If they can't or more likely won't help you, why are you rewarding them with your business?
caspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2017, 4:09 PM   #6
ir0nhide
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 3,734
Default

port the PSTN to voip and setup a permanent redirect on the voip to your mobile.

Old mum can still call the same FNN from her rotary handset, and you know her number.

Next time try using less words.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoidbergmerc View Post
Tried that once, ended up kicking my self in the nuts, then got athletes foot on my junk. Not win.
Quote:
Originally Posted by randomman View Post
I think you'll find the diggers would prefer he goes in marine uniform.
ir0nhide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 3:12 PM   #7
bcann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NSW
Posts: 4,247
Default

use mynetfone whirlpool special voip offer, $5/year for did (port your number to them) and then 10c untimed for calls apart from mobiles which are 15c/minute. ZERO monthly cost and you get 2 lines.

its the cheapest you will get. oh and you will need an ata, which can be had from ebay for about $30. also setting up QOS makes life easier when mummy's calls go to shit because your watching UHD Porn on your internet connection and she has no bandwidth to talk to someone because your using it all.

https://www.mynetfone.com.au/whirlpool/VoIP/Plans
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by elvis View Post
All I do is hand folks the working gun. Up to them as to whether or not they go hunting to bring home the bacon, or shoot themselves in the foot. I am merely the lowly gunsmith, and nothing more.

Last edited by bcann; 14th August 2017 at 3:14 PM.
bcann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 3:34 PM   #8
cvidler
Member
 
cvidler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canberra
Posts: 10,656
Default

yes, there's no need for a land line any more. And after 18 months of being NBN'd you'll lose it anyway (no choice).

So ditch it now and save the money now.

surely you're fttp provider offers a VoIP service too - you get a regular phone number too, tell mum the new number (it may even be ported so the same number!!!! omg), job done.
__________________
We might eviscerate your arguments, but we won't hurt you. Honest! - Lucifers Mentor
⠠⠵
[#]
cvidler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 4:31 PM   #9
rickbishop
Member
 
rickbishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Petrie, QLD
Posts: 5,317
Default

Cancel the phone line.

Most NBN providers bundle a phone with your internet plan anyway, and very cheap unlimited prepaid mobiles are a thing.
rickbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2017, 1:36 AM   #10
BobJustBob Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PERTH, W.A.
Posts: 207
Default

i am now investigating voip options and will reply with the outcome later...
BobJustBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2017, 5:44 AM   #11
evilasdeath
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4,630
Default

i fail to see why using mobile is a problem? just re program the dialer on her phone most call plans have unlimited calls of some description in them these days to call australian phones, just reprogram the memory button she peobably pushes tp your mobile done
evilasdeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2017, 9:01 PM   #12
BobJustBob Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PERTH, W.A.
Posts: 207
Arrow

it's a GO. that is, i am killing telstra, or to be more precise they are killing themselves -ask me about it-, so i am going voip.

now then, what's the deal with voip phones? does cost of handset = quality? are they all just cheap chinese plastic? is the gigaset 510 any good?

**** deleted some parts as i just realized (yay?) i can use my existing phones with an adapter.. *****

i will -i mean why not- port my existing number and i do wonder, once done who will "own" it? me or the voip provider? i mean if they will, does that mean i won't be able to port again if i move to another voip provider? how's that part work?

i assume if i happen to be downloading stuff at near max download speed and someone calls me on my software phone (that so many of you embrace) the quality will be shit and it will crackle and sound like an international call from the 1970's. i'll have to pause downloads right, kek, so my 2017 tech phone works okay? we call this a negative for the tech, right?

what else should i know about voip tech?

Last edited by BobJustBob; 24th August 2017 at 9:05 PM.
BobJustBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 8:02 AM   #13
caspian
Member
 
caspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,210
Default

you never own your FNN. not ever. it always belongs to the carrier it is assigned to.

you are overthinking and overcomplicating this to silly levels. just port the damn number to VoIP and use it. the NBN has network level QoS enabled precisely so voice quality is not impacted by other use. a lot of very smart people spent a lot of time making it a POTS emulation experience.
__________________

Please do not contact me directly for advice on NBN related issues. Your ISP is your contact point for support. If they can't or more likely won't help you, why are you rewarding them with your business?
caspian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 8:03 AM   #14
CQGLHyperion
Member
 
CQGLHyperion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Rockhampton
Posts: 1,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobJustBob View Post
it's a GO. that is, i am killing telstra, or to be more precise they are killing themselves -ask me about it-, so i am going voip.

now then, what's the deal with voip phones? does cost of handset = quality? are they all just cheap chinese plastic? is the gigaset 510 any good?

**** deleted some parts as i just realized (yay?) i can use my existing phones with an adapter.. *****

i will -i mean why not- port my existing number and i do wonder, once done who will "own" it? me or the voip provider? i mean if they will, does that mean i won't be able to port again if i move to another voip provider? how's that part work?

i assume if i happen to be downloading stuff at near max download speed and someone calls me on my software phone (that so many of you embrace) the quality will be shit and it will crackle and sound like an international call from the 1970's. i'll have to pause downloads right, kek, so my 2017 tech phone works okay? we call this a negative for the tech, right?

what else should i know about voip tech?
Use your existing phone with an ATA. A lot of modems that support VoIP already have one built in but check to make sure.

VoIP quality isn't as bad as it used to be. Use QoS (again something your modem may or may not support) to ensure the VoIP is given the highest priority over other data.

I can only guess at what else you are trying to say as it appears to be incoherent nonsense.....
__________________
BIG RIG: I7-980, P6X58D-E, 6 x 2GB CM3X2G1333C9, HD7970 DCUII TOP, 240GB Evo 840 ssd, 4 x 300GB Velociraptor, Xonar D2X, Lian-Li Red Spider
Trades: Web page coming soon!
CQGLHyperion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2017, 8:35 AM   #15
MR CHILLED
D'oh!
 
MR CHILLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canadia
Posts: 126,558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caspian View Post
my 70 year old mother quite competently changed over her ADSL2+ with POTS landline to NBN FTTB with VoIP all by herself, including connecting all the hardware and reconfiguring the wifi on her laptop, iPad and wireless printer.
Different levels I guess, I certainly know my mum isn't capable of even the most basic technology things....very very old school, when it comes to tech.
__________________
Malcolm Turnbull on the Libs.."we are not run by factions, nor are we run by big business or by deals in back rooms"
MR CHILLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!