Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Storage & Backup

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th May 2017, 11:21 AM   #1
callan Thread Starter
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,261
Default Ain't misbehavin' - No it is. WD RED issue

I bought 2 4TB WD Reds last year as a matched pair for my testbed NAS. (an old Synology DS212+. (RAID1)

The first drive failed 4 months in - mounting sector reallocations. I wiped what I could before it carked it and got it replaced under an RMA. Replacement works fine. I get it: drives fail, got it replaced - all cool. That's why we have RAID.

It's stablemate is now giving me grief - but this is where it gets weird.
Synology DSM was reporting S.M.A.R.T. errors, and then it failed to boot after a minor DSM update. I ended up pulling the second drive and the server booted just fine.
I threw it in a Win7PC and interrogated the S.M.A.R.T. info on the drive. Perfectly clean.
Then I Zeroed out the drive, returned it to the server and rebuilt the mirror.
The mirror came up, but:





Interrogating the S.M.A.R.T. info from within DSM came up clean

Pull it out, whack it in the PC, Zero it out, then interrogate it with passmark's Disckcheckup.

Code:
SMART ATTRIBUTES:
 ID	Description                         	Status    	Value     	Worst     	Threshold 	Raw Value 	TEC                 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  1	Raw Read Error Rate                 	OK        	200       	200       	51        	0         	N/A                 
  3	Spin Up Time                        	OK        	233       	232       	21        	3333      	N/A                 
  4	Start/Stop Count                    	OK        	100       	100       	0         	703       	N/A                 
  5	Reallocated Sector Count            	OK        	200       	200       	140       	0         	N/A                 
  7	Seek Error Rate                     	OK        	100       	253       	0         	0         	N/A                 
  9	Power On Time                       	OK        	85        	85        	0         	11470     	N/A                 
 10	Spin Retry Count                    	OK        	100       	100       	0         	0         	N/A                 
 11	Calibration Retry Count             	OK        	100       	100       	0         	0         	N/A                 
 12	Power Cycle Count                   	OK        	100       	100       	0         	424       	N/A                 
192	Power off Retract Count             	OK        	200       	200       	0         	26        	N/A                 
193	Load Cycle Count                    	OK        	200       	200       	0         	676       	N/A                 
194	Temperature                         	OK        	114       	102       	0         	36 C      	N/A                 
196	Reallocation Event Count            	OK        	200       	200       	0         	0         	N/A                 
197	Current Pending Sector Count        	OK        	200       	200       	0         	0         	N/A                 
198	Uncorrectable Sector Count          	OK        	200       	200       	0         	0         	N/A                 
199	UltraDMA CRC Error Count            	OK        	200       	200       	0         	0         	N/A                 
200	Write Error Count                   	OK        	200       	200       	0         	0         	N/A 
.

Status is reported as OK

WTF is going on here? Would I have an RMA rejected? It's clearly suspect, and theres no point in returning it to the server..

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven

Last edited by callan; 18th May 2017 at 11:24 AM.
callan is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 18th May 2017, 12:26 PM   #2
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 18,036
Default

WD Data Life Guard will test the drive, then if it detects any failure it will auto generate the RMA form for you (afaik).
Why people continue to use third party SMART diagnostic is beyond me as it's been a long time since the manufacturers have been using propriety data values.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 12:57 PM   #3
callan Thread Starter
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrastrife View Post
WD Data Life Guard will test the drive, then if it detects any failure it will auto generate the RMA form for you (afaik).
Why people continue to use third party SMART diagnostic is beyond me as it's been a long time since the manufacturers have been using propriety data values.
WD Data lifeguard says the drive doesn't exist. (No compatible drives found) I tried that first.

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2017, 12:47 PM   #4
callan Thread Starter
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,261
Default

And it gets even weirder. I dropped a SATA3 card in and data lifeguard now finds it happily. And reports that the SMART analysis is "OK".
Run a full SMART test - takes 9.5 hours. FAIL (undefined media errors). Click on OK and it reports "Good" again.

BUT..
When I go to review the test log for the drive based on it's serial number WD Data Lifeguard brings up the fucking logs of the FIRST drive that failed and I tested last year, not the one I just tested (with a completely different serial number

I'm fucking over it. It shouldn't be this hard. this damn drive is haunted.

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2017, 2:37 PM   #5
peter10001
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 147
Default

Try with a livecd from linux.
Xubuntu livecd,
Boot from cd/usb,
then install program "disks", then you can read smart,
and also do a long test of the hard disk.

The test you did, it fail, is not good, there is something wrong, try to do more testing.
If you wipe the disk in the nas, what happens then?
peter10001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2017, 2:43 PM   #6
callan Thread Starter
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,261
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter10001 View Post
Try with a livecd from linux.
Xubuntu livecd,
Boot from cd/usb,
then install program "disks", then you can read smart,
and also do a long test of the hard disk.

The test you did, it fail, is not good, there is something wrong, try to do more testing.
If you wipe the disk in the nas, what happens then?
At this stage it's safe to assume it's fubared - I sure-as-hell can't trust it.

I just want to get enough together to have a successful RMA. That the WD utility is giving me bullshit is getting very annoying.

Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2017, 3:00 PM   #7
peter10001
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 147
Default

Try to get a rapport of the WD utility.
That the WD utility fails is not good.

You could try another pc,
different connectors, power and data.
peter10001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2017, 5:11 PM   #8
pfrcom
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 3114, Melbourne
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by callan View Post
WD Data lifeguard says the drive doesn't exist
Try changing motherboard BIOS to IDE mode (assuming it's currently AHCI)
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2017, 10:55 PM   #9
callan Thread Starter
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,261
Default

Stuff it. SMART stuff still reports fine, but I've just printed this out and RMA'd it. I'm happy to argue the toss.






Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2017, 8:48 PM   #10
rainwulf
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bris.qld.aus
Posts: 3,901
Default

Its because you sign your own stupid posts Callan. Your username is RIGHT THERE.


Im not in a good mood.
__________________
derp
rainwulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2017, 2:05 PM   #11
callan Thread Starter
Member
 
callan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,261
Default

And the RA processed inside a week Good work, Scorptec!
Drive reinstalled, RAID1 re-established.

Umm..


Callan
__________________
Faith-based morality isn't morality at all. It's obedience.

"I don't like this internet thing anymore, can we have the old version back please?" - BlueRaven
callan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2017, 2:20 PM   #12
shredder
Member
 
shredder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dec 1991
Posts: 9,080
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainwulf View Post
Its because you sign your own stupid posts Callan. Your username is RIGHT THERE.


Im not in a good mood.
Don't get smart or he'll bring back the "Ooroo".
shredder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2017, 2:21 PM   #13
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 49,802
Default

always make sure they fail MANUFACTURERS diagnostics, then a couple of whacks on the desk for good measure.
__________________
this is who we are.
power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2017, 4:16 PM   #14
voltare1
Member
 
voltare1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 347
Default

Mechanical disk's are dodgy at best and completely vulnerable the rest of the time.

Especially if they're the newer of the batch.

Wait 3-6 mth before getting them or ensure your backups are current.

Recently the Seagate 1000gb drives have proven failures above regular and it's related to firmware.

Always hold off until others have tested new drive versions.
__________________
---
voltare1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2017, 5:06 PM   #15
Aetherone
Member
 
Aetherone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 8,423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voltare1 View Post
Recently the Seagate 1000gb drives have proven failures above regular and it's related to firmware.
They still makes drives that small? How long has it been since the SG firmware bug?
Aetherone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!